We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got home”
Review of Grandview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Keswick, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just got home”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Heather in the office is very helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant has delicious. We met the nicest sweetest server. Her name was Roxanne, and she makes a mean martini. She was great server and shared her passion in creating glass work. Walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 alittle to close to office and the ice machine. The newer rooms are higher up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbieSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    49
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
27
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room was small but manageable. We checked the sheets when we arrived and we were a little uneasy seeing a few stains on the sheets and pillows. We did not use one of our pillows due to the stains but the rest of the linens we suspect the stains to be “clean” but stained onto the sheets.
The bathroom is very tiny, especially the shower. You cannot move your arms in the shower without touching the sides of the shower and knocking everything in the shower to the floor. And forget about shaving your legs or washing long hair in an easy and comfortable manner. And don’t forget to bring your own hairdryer because they do not provide you one and there is no place in town to buy one.
The toilet in the bathroom is part of the septic system and so the toilet paper they provide and the only one allowed to be used in their toilet is 1 ply, which is very uncomfortable to use if you are staying there for a few days or more. And the pressure from the toilet is so low if you use the bathroom for “business” you have to be very careful with the amount that you flush at a time.
Additionally, there are no hooks provided on the walls to hang wet clothes, and only place to hang your clothes would be in front of the air conditioner which blocks air flow.
The price of this motel is very expensive for the quality and service you receive. When we checked in the plastic over the office lamp was covered with dead bugs, which is quite disturbing to view while checking in. Also, when I asked the receptionist if she had a copy of the attractions map on top of the desk instead of making a copy for us she just gave us a local newspaper instead. If our room were half the price I would highly recommend it. But for the money we paid I do not feel it was worth it.
The good thing about this motel was that it was very close to town and made walking to town a very convenient location. We will not stay here again if we want to shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Billy Talent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tobermory hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

On a two night stay we enjoyed this nice comfortable room within walking distance to several attractions. Very clean with a great bed and linens. We had a very good sleep and would certainly stay here again. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the local attractions and schedules.
We certainly enjoyed the view of the Canada Day fireworks from our room.

CWGjr

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay there. The bed was super comfortable and the housekeeping service was great. Free coffee in the morning is always a perk. The shower in the bathroom was pretty tiny, but can't complain for the price. Overall, really enjoyed our stay and may come again when we visit Tobermory sometime in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J0nWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was one of the nicest hotel/motels we had stayed at on our vaction, given the price. Our room was clean and recently remodeled. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was awesome too. Nice view from the decks. We were not able to eat there, so I can't comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and it was very nice. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and the rooms were clean. Rates were reasonable considering it was festival weekend. We took full use of the deck just outside our room as we were a large group. Location was beautiful overlooking the lake. Short 10 minute walk to town which was perfect. Really enjoyed my stay and would go back again for sure.

Room Tip: If you want to go here in the summer you need to book now. It is a seasonal lcoation and very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location was perfect. Breathtaking view of the sunset over the water from the dining area!
It's just a few minutes walk or drive to the harbour, shopping and hiking trails. The room was very clean, spacious and the staff was very friendly. They had a coffee machine, and ice in the main office that we always had access to. There was wi-fi in the rooms. The walls were a little thin but luckily we didn't have rowdy neighbours - we could just hear their television in the morning. :)
Check-in time was after 3 pm, but we arrived earlier than we thought (around 12 pm). Early check-in, was not possible but they did accommodate late check-ins, as long as we gave notice,
(9 pm or later) which was helpful.
Overall, no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeksfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.8 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview

Property: Grandview
Address: Earl Street | PO Box 35, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Tobermory
Grandview Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing