We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearest thing to Heaven”
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The Bluebay is a clean, pleasant and comfortable abode which I visit once or twice a year. It is convenient for walking to meals, the staff are most pleasant, the scenery terrific and the country nearby has so much to offer. Singing Sands, Cyprus Lake, Emmett Lake, Halfway Log Dump, Larkwhistle garden, Cabot Head, the Bruce Trail, Flowerpot Island and more are all so close.
My family and I have enjoyed the Bluebay so many times in the past, and the feeling never ebbs. Excellent. Far better than nearby estabishments I've been to, when the Bluebay was booked up.

Room Tip: I like the second floor facing the harbour, but all rooms are very good. The view is better especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at this great motel on the weekend of June 22 to June 24 and we enjoyed the experience. The check-in was quick and the girl at the front dest was very helpful.
The room was on the second floor with a lovely view of the harbour. The two queen beds were very comfortable. The room was spotless! The motel is also in a good location in town as it is right in the center of the activities of shops and the harbour. Most everything in town was within easy walking distance for me. There was a book in the room that detailed all of the local attractions and restaurants. This was very helpful for us.

Room Tip: The second floor gives a great view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitchenerJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at the Blue Bay for the "first weekend of summer" celebrations in Tobermory and had a wonderful time. We'd booked the 1st floor corner room with a deck, which was great to sit outside and watch the world go by. The room was spotless and I loved the effort that had gone into the in-room guide to the area, it was really personal and the recommendations were very useful for us, as first-timers to the area. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this and hopefully one day we'll be back to sit on the deck and watch the sunsets.

Room Tip: If you want something special, go for one of the luxury rooms with a deck - we had the first floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

By far the best place in Tobermory. Simple, at times a little noisy in the early morning when the divers go out , but who cares, I am on vacation. It is beautifully maintained and always friendly and welcoming after a long drive. And of course those lovely views. I have been staying at the Blue Bay for years and I don't want to be anywhere else.

Room Tip: Second floor, towards the end looking towards the ferry dock
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank migratoryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

we spent just a night there and we found the blue bay as the best choice there. we found very smart the locker for late arrival. The room we had is very cozy. Price paid in mid-season worth what you get. recommended overall.

Room Tip: ask for the ground level rooms to take advantage of the "front door" parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sim0n_0n_the_r0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My Husband and I first stayed at the Blue Bay Motel in Tobermory 25 years ago by chance touring around Ontario on our Honeymoon. Over the years have returned and stayed five different times with our three kids and then just recently to celebrate our 25th together. Great place to stay. Very clean, tidy, comfortable, friendly helpful staff, lovely view, lots of parking and close to all Shops, Restaurants and Activities Little Tub Harbor and Tobermory has to offer. Love that there is a fridge and tea & coffee in every room. Our last room we picked there had a fireplace, king bed and therapeutic deep bathtub. It was actually the first room we stayed in on our Honeymoon and wanted to stay in it again for our 25th but since had been totally renovated, redecorated and had beautiful handmade pine furniture it in. In our previous stays with our children, there is lots of rooms available with two double beds and we were able to get a extra fold-down cot with no problem for all of us to stay together comfortably. Extra pillows and towels were no problem either. Will continue to keep coming back only to the Blue Bay and I would highly recommend it to all to stay there.

Room Tip: The two front room have the best view possible and a more roomier private patio or balcony sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhondala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

For the price we couldn't believe how good this was . The location was great and the rooms clean and comfortable.
The only downside was the new shower flooring which was pebbled and very uncomfortable underfoot. Needed to put towel and rubber mat down.
Would have liked to stay longer than 1 night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
0.7 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range: £43 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing