We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find in a jewel of a setting”
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My dad and stepmother have been coming to the Blue Bay for a few years now, and we joined them recently for our first trip to Tobermory. What a wonderful place! Innkeeper Kelly is bustling and full of energy, but very friendly and welcoming. She's created a very comfortable place to base yourself for your Bruce Peninsula visit. The rooms looked even better than they did in the pictures on the motel's website, and I really liked the shower floor of river rocks and the high-pressure showerhead. I liked how everything was very eco-conscious and recycling was encouraged, and it was great to have a fridge for our purchases at the LCBO next door. We loved hanging out on our balcony with a cider and one of the Blue Bay's books or board games from their lending library. The sunsets were gorgeous, and the only drawback was the mosquitoes which arrived promptly at dusk! (Next time we'll bring a citronella candle.) Wi-Fi signals were strong, too. We enjoyed watching the ferry Chi-Cheemaun depart and arrive, and you can't beat the location right on the beautiful Little Tub Harbour, walking distance to everything. In short, we can't recommend the Blue Bay enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidiot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I spent one night visiting Tobermory. I wasn't sure what to expect from the Blue Bay Motel however we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean, the washroom was beautiful and looked newly renovated. We took the advice from past guests and requested a room on the top floor which worked out well (no loud footsteps). The customer service was very good as the inn keeper was extremely kind and helpful. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a nice clean room in Tobermory.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradford Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Tobermory is a quiet village of a few hundred people between Labour Day and mid-June, which teems with people in the summer. The surrounding area is beautiful and still very natural, with bays and lakes, woods, and the Niagara escarpment. Two national parks, one of them marine, are within moderate walking distance or an easy bike ride. The centre of town, which faces the harbour, features retail stores that mainly cater to tourists; the commercial architecture ranges from nondescript to faux quaint. The Blue Bay motel is in this retail area, between the government liquor store and an okay coffee house. (There is no Tim Horton’s in town! Canadians expect one everywhere.) The Blue Bay doesn’t have great curb appeal – it’s a big dull parking lot whose upper portion is defined on three sides by the motel, in two storeys. Some landscaping, or some horticultural accents, might give the Blue Bay a more welcoming look. But past first impressions, our experience was positive. The staff was friendly, readily available, and eager to please. (There aren't lots of services though -- no restaurants, room service, breakfast room, pool, fitness, etc.) Near the office were umbrellas and bicycles you could borrow, and a microwave and ice machine. The buildings look to be a few decades old, but the rooms appear to have been renovated a little more recently and are well maintained. We appreciated that this WASN'T a chain motel built according to a standard formula with cookie-cutter rooms. We had two rooms and these were individually designed. One living area had nice hardwood flooring, the other a utility grade carpet. One bathroom had a stone floor and the other tile. Wall decor was different too. Each had windows on the parking lot side, with different views of the harbour (and parking lot), and also a window on the quieter nether side. The bathrooms were very functional; and both had quite large sinks, which was a welcome touch. The mirrors were apparently installed by somewhat short people. Small bar fridges were included. Beds were comfortable. We stayed in early June, still off-season, and both the motel and the town were very quiet; we’re given to understand that this changes during high season. Prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Last September we took a motorcycle trip to Tobermory for a couple of days and stayed at the Blue Bay Motel (Room 5). The Blue Bay is motorcycle friendly and we are recommending it to our friends. We cannot say enough about the service we received. Steve was on duty the couple of days we were there and was more than friendly, and helpful. The room was very clean and the decor warm and welcoming. We relaxed sitting outside on the patio set provided with the view of Little Tub Harbour. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Tobermory is a beautiful place to stay for a few days R&R. We look forward to staying at the Blue Bay in 2014 and enjoying their hospitality once again.
Bryan & Sheryl Elliston
Date of Stay: September 10 and 11, 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ellistonba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Clean room, friendly staff, in the midst of the tourist scene and nice views. Also enjoy the wood oven thin crust pizza from the adjoining pizzeria and something sweet from the sweet shop located in an adjacent property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were off on an adventure and we weren't absolutely sure where we were going to land. By sheer luck we stopped at Blue Bay Motel and were charmed instantly by Kelli, the innkeeper. The motel room provided a nice respite from the hours of travelling to visit the Bruce Pennisula. Not only is the view of little tub gorgeous, but there are many charming shops and restaurants within close proximity. The room was spotless and well equipped with refrigerator and coffee machine. Down in the lobby area a microwave was available for all to use. I absolutely loved the room's decor especially the grouted stones in the shower basin. We had a good night sleep and were able to begin our hiking at the National Park early the next day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First of all, let me start off with the amazing service we received from Blue Bay right from the start. They didn't have any rooms available for Friday-Saturday nights available to have 2 consecutive nights. But through e-mail communication, they responded within LESS than 24 hours + they gave us options in terms of what very little vacancies they had left! We ended up having to switch from one room the first time to another room the next, but it allowed us to experience different rooms at Blue Bay especially when every room is unique and different! We had a room on both the second floor and the downstairs floor, and I couldn't event tell you which one I liked better.

The top floor had better view in terms of the tub out in the balcony, but we barely even did that. The bottom floor is convenient because the parking area is right outside of our room so we were able to keep the non-essentials in the car!

They also had free bikes to use for guests in case you just want to go out for a bike ride. (Highly recommend). The staff were all very friendly, the rooms were clean, the amenities were all pretty up to date as well. My boyfriend and I were thinking of coming back to Blue Bay on a yearly basis because of the amazing experience!

Room Tip: Every floor is unique and has it's merits. Look on their website to look at photos if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank empss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
0.7 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range: £43 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing