We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient motel”
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This motel overlooked the charming harbour and was close to laundry, groceries, ice cream and souvenirs. Boat tours of the lake, its islands, and wrecks of sunk ships, diving, snorkeling were all within walking distance. Even without A/C the rooms were very comfortable with fresh air from open windows and the ceiling fan. There was never outside or inside noise to disturb us during our week's stay. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. It is old and lacks sufficient plugs for high tech. clients; Wifi access was excellent. The room and bathroom were very clean. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglasretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about your time in Tobermory. Reviews like yours help us improve our customer service. While there are sufficient outlets to accommodate the necessities you are correct, we do not carter to those with gadget lust. It is, however, our hope that you have come to this secluded, non-industrialized area to get away from the hustle and bustle of high tech and to get outside, slow down, and enjoy the wondrous beauty that surrounds us here on the Bruce Peninsula. Come, unplug and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I booked in this place very late in peak season and the lady that I spoke with her she was very helpful. Though she said that the motel is full she did tried her best to provide us 2 rooms.
Amazing place loved it. We were 7 people including kids and loved the rooms that were provided to us. The staff was nice and very helpful. Everything is in the motel like fridge, microwave which are an important factor. The showers are renovated and u feel the warm and cozy when taking shower. Hardly u find Motels as good as this is. I love to come back again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ronna786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Blue Bay Motel lived up to our expectations. The room had a view of the harbour (providing you stood at an angle at the window in the room or on the 'porch' outside the room).
The bathroom reno was very nicely done but only highlighted the shabbiness of the rest of the room.
Reception was very quick and efficient and helpful regarding maps, etc.

Room Tip: Ask from room #1 as it has the best lower view of the bay. (not sure about the second floor rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annie3855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay. We were in room 14 and it was super clean. The staff were very friendly and professional. The bathroom was fully renovated and really nice. No AC but the evenings were so cool we were fine. Big ceiling fan plus a window fan in the room. The motel is close to everything as it's right on the main drag. Could use some new carpet in the room and some paint to modernize the wooden panelling but that's just a small suggestion. Recommend the second floor as you get a view of the Tub Harbour.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank TylerS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make sure every guest's experience here in Tobermory is a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel was nice. Management was polite & very accommodating. Rooms were old, but clean. Would be nice if they had breakfast facilities. But otherwise, we had a nice stay.
I would stay & recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rocketcpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We enjoyed our first stay here. Staff was the greatest. When our car battely ran down, they spontaneously offered their help, even though it was a busy part of morning. We revalidated that congenial staff couldn't be replaced in nice and cozy accomodations. Easy-access to both the National Park and the shopping street.

Room Tip: Second floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massage727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your vacation. It is always our pleasure to help out in whatever way we can; our helping hands extend past check out time. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We recently stayed at the blue bay Motel. We stayed for two nights and absoluty loved our room. We had a large King size bed that was so comfy. Our room got cleaned everyday and they did an awsome job on making sure the room was spotless everything is walking distance on the Bay which was conveient when we went for drinks and dinner.
The only thing we were disappointed in was there snack machine. We got two bags of chips, peanuts and a chocolate bar. The chips and peanuts were expired from atleast 6 months ago.
Overall, I would definatly stay here again in the future and will recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie6312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
0.4 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range: £43 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing