We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tobermory Princess Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty disappointed”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had a bad experience in this hotel.
1. The room (205) is no window and only has a small door to balcony. The worst is the balcony door is facing a wall. The room is very dark actually.
2 . The chairs and the table in the balcony were very dirty.
3. The Wireless internet connection dropped frequently.
4. Poor breakfast (comes with room). What they called continential breakfast is cereal, toast, and coffee, so disappointed.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank goFreeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    71
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
41
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This was our annual trip to Tobermory staying at the Princess Hotel. The hotel is family run and they care about our comfort from our early breakfast request to a packed lunch to an excellent white fish dinner. The hotel is in a great location overlooking Little Tub Harbour and very convenient to all that Tobermory and area has to offer. We come looking for orchids and other flowers and are never disappointed in either the hotel or the flowers.
We will be back!

Room Tip: ask for a front room -overlooks the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orchidseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We booked two rooms at the Tobermory Princess Hotel in early July before we read the reviews on tripadvisor. We were concerned because some of the reviews were less than flattering and we were concerned that our two friends from Budapest Hungary would be disappointed.

As it turned out, they were not disappointed and neither were we. The hotel and rooms were very clean and comfortable. Perhaps the management read some of the reviews here and spruced the hotel up.

We ate supper in the hotel restaurant one night and the food was pretty good and the portions were large. There were enough Greek dishes on the menu to suggest that the restaurant, and perhaps the hotel, is Greek-Canadian. For breakfast we opted for "special" which was more than reasonably priced and very well done. No complaints whatsoever.

We will definitely return to the Princess but next time we will book our room early so that we can get a room on the third floor because the views would be so much nicer.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor for the best view of Little Tub harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at the Tobermory Princess Hotel in June of this year. The hotel was average, average priced and average rated. (dated though, they need to do some refreshing with their accomodations) We had an interesting dining experience the second evening of our stay. My wife had ordered a Fallafel (sp) plate...it was horrible. The waitress cordially removed the unwanted appetizer and graciously apologized for our experience. Her welcoming smile and lovely demeanour is one of the reasons we will return to Tobermory and possibly the Princess Hotel. As we watched during our dining experience she was helpful and cheerful to the younger staff who were obviously learning the talent of waiting tables. We do not know her name, but would like to thank her for her wonderful serving style. The only way to describe her would be she has very curly blondish hair. She is an asset to the Princess Hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cntrytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

For a basic hotel, this is the one. The room is clean and comfortable. The reception staff are efficient and helpful. This hotel is a very historic hotel but has been totally renovated. We stayed in the older section but you would never know it. The room is very modern and has ample space even for 3 adults. The continental breakfast is a not very exciting but it's adequate.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Not good we did not have a pleasant experience mabey we expected more for the money

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tobermory hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Compared to the Blue Bay Motel at which we stayed the previous night for the same price, this hotel needs to be updated and the "reception" needs to have someone reorganize it. The "reception" is very crowded with clothing items and VHS movies. The hallway to the elevators looks like a service area. They had the boxes with the A/Cs stacked up in front of the elevators, making it difficult to navigate, especially if you have luggage. The room was spacious, and looked clean yet a little old looking; it had an old small TV and no fridge. I didn't like the carpet, it had stains and I prefer wood floors that can be better cleaned. Location is excellent and our room had a nice balcony with a view. The restaurant was okay, staff was friendly and it stayed open later than other restaurants in town.

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruixita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.7 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobermory Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobermory Princess Hotel

Property: Tobermory Princess Hotel
Address: 34 Warner Bay Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tobermory Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tobermory Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tobermory Princess Hotel Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing