We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - unless you need Internet in your room”
Review of La Casa De Maty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa De Maty
Ranked #2 of 13 Tapalpa B&B and Inns
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good - unless you need Internet in your room”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Let me get my gripe out of the way. When I asked if the WiFi worked and worked to the rooms, I was assured yes it did. When I pointed out that it didn't work in my room, I was told "Yes it does." That's what knocked the rating from Very Good to Average. As the saying goes, please don't p** on my leg and tell me it's raining. The Internet doesn't work to all the rooms. Period.

Good things: The room was big, the bed was comfortable. It was very quiet when I was there. If you don't want light when you sleep, it's easy to shut it out. Thus I got a great and much needed good night's sleep.

The bathroom is big. Hot water was plentiful and they have a rain shower head.

The location is superb - it's right on the main plaza - and the construction of the hotel (rustic stone work) is beautiful.

Someone commented on the low ceilings and "cave like" feel. Yes, it's true. It felt like being in cabin. There is a window you can open in the bathroom and big one you can open in the room, so fresh air is plentiful. Yay!

The rooms come with a fireplace and complimentary firewood.

Front desk is Spanish only, no English at all which is problematic. They don't make much of an effort to meet you half way. They just repeat the same Spanish over and over muy rapido.

If you are fluent in Spanish (good enough is not good enough here) and don't use Internet, it's a great place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tivolicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times now. It certainly is a great location right across the main plaza and church. Everything is a short walk away. The hotel has several types of rooms, but the nice doubles with king beds are on the ground floor. It is a bit cave like, but there is a nice rear window that opens to gardens. It has always been immaculately clean, with comfortable beds,modern tile baths, and a fireplace. The price has been right too. On the second and third floors the rooms are more family style, meaning multiple beds. There are various patios, sitting areas and gardens to enjoy. There is a restaurant upstairs, overlooking the plaza. The restaurant caters to the general public, Being a Magic Pueblo, there is lots of Mexican tourism on the weekend in Tapalpa. The hotel fills up on the weekends but it is very easy to get a room during the week..

Room Tip: Note that the king bed doubles are only on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I had read about the hotel so when we arrived I thought it was worth a try. My husband thought I was a genius to know about such a place but I was less thrilled. The room was fine but it was on the ground floor and I had a feeling of a cave like setting. The fireplace in the room was great, and we asked for it to be lit one night just for the experience and it was great even though we had to leave the window open because it was still pretty warm out. The ceiling was a tad low and so I kept thinking that to be on the second floor might seem more fresh and open. The hotel itself is in a prime location and it was absolutely great to wander out and be right in the square but the hotel did not have an operational restaurant or bar - it may have been that we were there in early March but it left me feeling that we were paying for a room that should have had these ordinary amenities. I think in the end, I just felt a bit abandoned in this great space with no interaction re food or drink. That doesn't mean you couldn't walk on the front entrance and find these things, but the space within the hotel suggests that there should be so much more on offer. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern and lots of hot water - there was just something missing on the dates we were there.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the second floor just to avoid a cave like feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Very comfortable, beautiful patio, cozy rooms, with fireplace, very comfortable beds, nice pieces of art, one of the best in town, great location right in front of the main plaza.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patzcuaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Casa de Maty was a lovley, charming and completely unique hotel. Although in a historic tiled roofed adobe building, the immaculate rooms were deluxe with down comforters, fireplaces and glass tiled bathrooms. Shuttered wooden windows open on to a view that is reminiscent of Tuscany. The staff was everything you could wish for in gracious hospitality. Moreover, the design and decoration of the entire place was a perfect expression of the best of Mexico design. The only thing that was slightly lacking was that cookies (no rolls or bread) were served for breakfast along with juice, fruit and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tapalpa
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#2 of 5 in Tapalpa
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Sacra
Luna Sacra
#3 of 5 in Tapalpa
34 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Real
Hotel Fuerte Real
#1 of 4 in Ciudad Guzman
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casona de Manzano
Hostal Casona de Manzano
#1 of 13 in Tapalpa
42 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Tapalpa Country Club
0.1 mi away
Posada Mi Pueblito Hostal
Posada Mi Pueblito Hostal
#4 of 13 in Tapalpa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Maty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Maty

Property: La Casa De Maty
Address: 69 Matamoros, Tapalpa, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Tapalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tapalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa De Maty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing