We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cozy corner in Tapalpa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Casona de Manzano
Ranked #1 of 13 Tapalpa B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A cozy corner in Tapalpa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Tapalpa is a town that reminds you instantly the old Mexico. With its stone pavement streets, narrow alleys and the huge church in the center of the town.
To keep this charm during your vacations in this beautiful town there is nothing better than the Hostal Casona de Manzano.
The building used to be the house of the Manzano family. After being restored under the supervision of the INAH (Nation Institute of Anthropology and History by its Spanish acronym) the house acquired its old beauty.
The hostel has 9 gorgeous suites, equipped with an ecological chimney for the cold mornings. It is located very near to downtown, so you just need to walk a few blocks to enjoy Tapalpa's food and hospitality.
All of the spaces resemble the old hacienda the hostel was, inviting you to sit and relax, have little silence time by yourself.
The food is also great. Breakfasts are cooked at the moment, so everything is fresh and hot when served. They have chilaquiles, gorditas, champurrado, tamales, orange juice, coffee, fruit with honey, everything is just delicious. Now if you just want to try something different, you just go out and walk to downtown where you can find more typical restaurants.
It is a very recommendable place, you will find it quite and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed there only for a night but the room was great, spacious, with a chimney and filled with details as if staying in an hacienda.
Staff was gracious and very attentive.
Wonderful stay, next stay in Tapalpa we will definitely come back!

Room Tip: ask for a room with view to the street, they are not noisy as it is a small town not so many cars an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gisele_madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This little inn (don't let the "hostal" in its name scare you) was a great haven for us on our first visit to Tapalpa. The service was excellent - the staff are very friendly and offered us local drinks when we arrived - from start to finish. The place is very rustic - wooden furniture and roof, windows and doors.

Our bed was extremely comfortable, with a high-quality mattress and high thread-count sheets. Our room had a fireplace, which they will light for you after 8:00pm. I can't remember the last time I fell asleep to a fire, and we did two nights in a row!

The bathroom is spacious - our room didn't have a bathtub, but the shower had reliable hot water.

A modest breakfast is included in the room rate - fruit, coffee and sweet baked goods - or you can order a hot breakfast. We didn't try the hot breakfast as we were out to look for the local "borrego al pastor" or roasted lamb and we knew it would be a heavy meal (we opted for El Rustico, 2 kms out of Tapalpa on the way to San Gabriel).

Just a warning if you are a light sleeper, there is noise from the street if your room is facing that direction (ours was) - perhaps it is possible to ask for a quieter room in the future.

Wifi was free, and although there was no parking, it is free to park on the street.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room away from the street if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huixquilucan, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Excellent location, just a couple of blocks from the main plaza, very clean rooms, good service.

I've had better chilaquiles elsewhere, but since food wasn't the highlight in town I will not complain.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mjmarcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tapalpa
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#3 of 5 in Tapalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Sacra
Luna Sacra
#2 of 5 in Tapalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Real
Hotel Fuerte Real
#1 of 4 in Ciudad Guzman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
La Casa De Los Patios Hotel and Spa
3.9 mi away
Hotel Tapalpa Country Club
0.0 mi away
Tapalpa De Mis Amores
Tapalpa De Mis Amores
#3 of 13 in Tapalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casona de Manzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casona de Manzano

Property: Hostal Casona de Manzano
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 84, Tapalpa 49340, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Tapalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tapalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal Casona de Manzano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casona de Manzano is the perfect cozy spot to retreat from all the adventures that are available to you in Tapalpa. With its 3 foot thick adobe walls, wide pine plank floors and huge original wooden beams supporting the wooden ceilings, you will also find a little bit of paradise inside, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Casona de Manzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing