We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...if you are a 'foreigner'!”
Review of Slightly Chilled

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Slightly Chilled
Ranked #1 of 13 Nallathanniya B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...if you are a 'foreigner'!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great location, only 700 metres from the base of Adam's Peak climb and with picture postcard views of the mountain from the balcony. For < USD 70 and with dinner and breakfast provided, this guest house is good value for money on the face of it, but there are some areas the owners should address if they are to make this a more pleasant experience for guests of all races.
Being a Lankan born Australian, I made my reservation on-line. Upon alighting from the vehicle, I was approached by a staff member (short, stocky young guy). He was there to take the bags, but on noticing my Sri lankan appearance, promptly told me that the hotel only accepted 'foreigners' and walked back without the bags. Here I was thinking that Sri Lanka had gained independance 66 years ago and colour discrimination was a thing of the past! Alarmed at this attitude, I approached the manager (bearded guy), who was very courteous, polite and accommodating. Clearly, there is no 'foreigner only' policy, but the staff need to be better trained to handle locals as well as the 'foreigners' who book on-line and not judge people by their appearance, as I'm technically a foreigner anyway with an Australian passport. The rooms were spacious, but the bathrooms need to be improved. The bathroom mat was extremely dirty and there are no shower curtains meaning that water gets splashed all over the bathroom floor, making it wet, dirty and damp. The hot water unit is there for appearance only and does not provide hot water. The solitary bathroom window hadn't been cleaned for ages and there were cobwebs and dead insects hanging from the window curtain. Towel racks and soap holders were broken. I felt bed bugs crawling all over my legs when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    233
    102
    30
    15
See reviews for
44
277
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to tackle Adams peak. Perfectly situated for this. Room was ok. No hot water for shower, despite following instructions posted on the door. Sheets had a few stains on them. Also had a hole in the fly screen so had a few critters to deal with as we slept! Food was exceptional and included in the price. However for $60 we felt it was overpriced. Staff very helpful but the the taxi we took from there was horrific! We were going from Dalhousie to ella but the driver had no idea where we were going and ended up adding over 2 hours to the journey!
There are cheaper accommodation which are suitable, especially if you are getting up in the middle of the night to climb!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aidasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It was a really nice guesthouse and perfectly located to reach the Adams Peak. Dinner was a buffet and good. Our room had a balkony, but only cold water for showering - but we may have done somehting wrong :)

Minus: Our room was directly under the dining room, it was very loud when we were trying to fall asleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed there for our climb to adams Peak. Rooms are clean with a balcony and a nice view on a garden and the peak.
Dinner was very good and included in the room price.
Breakfast was waiting for us when we came back for the peak.
Staff is vey nice
They also have good accommodations fro drivers

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a familyroom with two big beds, perfect for 2 adults and 2 children. The room had a balcony with fantastic view of Adam's peak. Hot water in the shower. The food was very good and tasty. The breakfast served was eggs, pancakes, fresh juice, bread and tea/coffee and for dinner it was a buffee with a lot to choose between. We came back from Adam's peak 11am and the breakfast was waiting for us.
The owners and the staff were very kindly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I really liked this place - mainly due to the attitude of the staff and manager. The rooms were ok, the first one we were in smelt a bit damp but the manager promptly moved us without grumble. The food was really excellent - we had a great dinner and one of the best breakfasts we had in Sri Lanka. The restaurant has an amazing view of the mountain which is hard to believe you have just climbed when you are looking at it over breakfast. They didn't take payment for the tea we had the afternoon of arrival even though I offered, which was a nice touch. Looking around this definitely looked like the smartest option in town, I would say one night is enough here though as Dalhousie is very much set up for climbing Adam's Peak and when that is done there are nicer villages to move onto in the hill country.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Wish I had stayed on for an extra day at this place. The views of Adam's Peak from the dining room are simply stunning. The area is surrounded by tea plantations making for beautiful walks and there's a lovely church on the way from Hatton station to the guest house. The food was outstanding - there were salads for those wanting healthy food as well as more substantial choices for those wanting a heartier meal. The stairs leading to the rooms are rather steep which can be exhausting after a couple of hours out walking the hills. Only regret: didn't have enough time to spend on the balcony off my room as it was a beautiful, tranquil setting. Would go back for more of the same!

Room Tip: Maybe take rooms on the higher floors so that you minimise your climb to the dining room or to go ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susealex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nallathanniya
0.2 mi away
Green View Guest Inn
Green View Guest Inn
#3 of 13 in Nallathanniya
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
White House
White House
#6 of 13 in Nallathanniya
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punsisi Rest House
Punsisi Rest House
#2 of 4 in Maskeliya
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wathsala Inn
Wathsala Inn
#7 of 13 in Nallathanniya
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green House Adam's Peak
Green House Adam's Peak
#10 of 13 in Nallathanniya
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daddy's Guest Home
Daddy's Guest Home
#5 of 13 in Nallathanniya
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slightly Chilled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slightly Chilled

Property: Slightly Chilled
Address: Adam's Peak, Dalhousie, Nallathanniya 22070, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nallathanniya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nallathanniya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Slightly Chilled 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and let your soul truly unwind in the Slightly Chilled Guest House (formerly Yellow House). Gayantha and Nirasha will make a great memory of your trip to Sri Lanka. Great service, great rooms and great Sri Lankan hospitality! Adam's Peak should be part of your trip in Sri Lanka! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Slightly Chilled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slightly Chilled Hotel Dalhousie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing