We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever”
Review of Melia Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had the best time ever. We spent the most amazing week there. We went from January 25-February 1 2014. We stay in the most fabulous room that let us view the sunset from our room balcony. The food was excellent but the service was even better. Our butler made our stay unforgettable by surprising us very day with something romantic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexsandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Alexsandre,
It has been a great pleasure to receive your lively review describing your recent stay at Melia Buenavista as ‘your best vacation ever”. We feel honored to acknowledge your experience has been so memorable.
Thank you for all your compliments and also, for the good advertisement they mean for our resort.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back and provide you another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    468
    194
    68
    34
See reviews for
151
2,058
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing and tranquil vacation then Melia Buenavista is THE spot! The service is absolutely amazing - you are never left waiting for any length of time and all requests are fulfilled promptly and happily. It really does provide "Royal Service", and the staff, right from the front desk all the way up to your personal Butler, ensure that you are taken care of every single day of your vacation! It is situated on an incredible piece of land, is beautifully scenic, and has three seperate beaches. Each beach offers a completely different experience too - the sand and water are different at all three - something I've never experienced at a resort before - quite extraordinary!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRGBJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest:
It has been a real pleasure to receive such a nice comment. It is very rewarding to acknowledge that you consider our resort as an “Absolute Tranquil Paradise”. We hope you honor us with a second opportunity to serve you and provide you another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in room 1421 January 14-21. We had a mix of weather - some hot sunny calm days and some windy cloudy days. Luckily, the rain arrived at night, so we could spend our time outdoors during the day. We arrived in the evening and arragements were immediately made for us to have supper at our earliest convenience.

Room
Our room was on the second floor and was located beside the pool bar, overlooking the snorkelling beach. We had a great view of the ocean and beach. Our room had the 220 volt plug-ins as well as one 110 plug-in. It was nice having 1 plug in that didn't require a converter. The air conditioner was very effective and we found that we ended up frequently turning it off as the room would get too cold. It was nice staying in a room that did not need a key for the air-conditioning as many hotels now require.

The room came with conditioning shampoo, lotion, soap, shower gel, bath salts, etc in a nice little bag. There is a blow dryer and a magnifying mirror by the sink. Flat screen TV, stocked mini fridge, coffee maker, glasses and ice container. There is a pillow menu, however we were happy with the pillows that were already on the bed.

We had a room with a king size bed. Linens and pillows were good and there was an additional blanket and pillows in the closet. We were a little disappointed in the bed. On the side by the balcony, the springs were slightly sticking up, so if you got into the bed the wrong way, you would get poked. The bed also had a horrible squeak on that same side, so every time you moved, the bed would make a noise. We did bring this to the attention of our butler, and he did ask if it was the bed or the box spring, but it never did get fixed. I didn't really expect it to be resolved, as the beds are big and probably not easily replaced.

Starting from the front of the room, there is a balcony with 2 chairs, a table and a bench overlooking the ocean. Inside, there is a sitting room section beside the balcony. A comfortable chair, sofa, table and the mini fridge area. The next section is the king size bed, TV, desk area followed by a section that contains the sink, spa tub, closet and toilet area. The closet is a walk-in with shelves, safe and hangers. There is also an iron and ironing board along with umbrellas and the safe in the closet. They also provide a beach bag with 2 towels - perfect for carrying your sunscreen, books, etc. The toilet is located in a separate room with a bidet. The final section is the outside shower.

The resort offers 2 butlers, a day time housekeeper and 2 evening turndown maids with your room. All restaurant reservations must be made through your butler. We had Alien and Michael who alternated days. Alien was very friendly and made a point of checking how we were when ever he saw us. We never even met or spoke to the other butler, so I can't comment on his service as he did not provide any. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the towel art that was left on our bed each day along with the chocolates at night.

Pool
There are 2 pools in the resort. One that is the quiet pool that has rooms overlooking the pool area and then the activity/bar pool that plays subdued music during the day. As soon as we arrived at the pool, we were greeted with a wave and a smile and the chair pads were brought out and set up for us. There are also daybeds that were comfortable, with pillows and some shade from the sun. The resort wasn't overly busy, and it was nice that you didn't have to try and reserve a chair in the early morning. The pool area was clean and well maintained. There were plenty of towels and it was easy to change out for a dry towel during the day.

There were some activities in the pool, and the animation staff were friendly. We were given a list of events by the pool for the week and the staff were good for setting them up. Several times during our stay, sugar cane was juiced and we were offered a glass over ice. It was an interesting flavour and let's just leave it at that. There is a BBQ by the pool for lunch, but we found the restaurant was happy to deliver pizza, fries, sandwiches, etc to us by the pool.

Grounds and Beach
The grounds keeping staff clearly do a good job with the plant life. Several times we watched the plants being trimmed by the staff.
There was an issue with no-see-ums in the early morning and late evening. I was bitten several times, whereas my husband didn't get a single bite. We did pack bug spray and ended up spraying the backside and edges of my towel to keep them away. Luckily I do not have a severe reaction to the bites - mind you, I get the same bites at home. I would recommend taking bug spray in case you are one of the chosen few that taste good.
The grounds were easy to negotiate and there are boardwalks out to the beaches. My only suggestion is that all boardwalks should have railings to assist anyone that has mobility issues.

There are 3 beaches - sunset, snorkelling and swimming. We visited all 3 during our stay. The sunset beach has a boardwalk out to a gazebo in the water. The water was shallow and we could see small fish and crabs. This is also where they have a sunset ceremony. At the end of a cloudy and blustery day, we went down to the beach at sunset and were serenaded by the amazing Sax player. We were the only ones on the beach, so he kindly played for an audience of 2. We listened to him play later that week in the restaurant and once again enjoyed his talent!
The snorkelling beach was great. I could stand thigh deep in the water and fish would come and check me out. We also went deeper and my spouse snorkelled around the middle rock. I was not so brave as there were waves slapping against the rock face. We stayed during a storm and when the tide came in, the waves crashed powerfully against the outcropping rocks. When the tide goes out, if you examine the rock face, you can see fossils from sea creatures and fish in little pools of water.
The swimming beach was wonderful. Again we saw lots of fish that would swim up to us. We took out some bread and got some very close looks at them. The water is warm and wonderful on calm days. On windy days, the red flags flew and the lifeguards made sure we respected their judgement on the water safety. They did a great job.
There is a beach bar where your drink choices are a little bit more limited, but the staff were friendly.
The sand is soft and the water was very clear. The beach chairs are piled on the beach and the lifeguard is quick to help you get your chair set up. There were no beach vendors, so the beach is very quiet and relaxing.

Bars
There are 3 bars - one by the swimming beach, at the pool and one off the lobby.
Bartenders were friendly and good at remembering your favourite drinks. They have a drink menu at the pool bar, so that gave us more ideas on what to try. They were also happy to blend what ever concoction we wanted and remembered how to mix it. Kahlua, Chocolate Liquor, Milk and Ice in a blender - wonderful!
They offer pool service, so it was nice having your drink brought to you. They also use large plastic mugs, glasses, etc that were a nice size.
At the beach bar they use the small plastic cups, so bring a bubba keg if you want to have a cold drink on hand at all times. They also offer beach service, however we did not use it.
The bar off the lobby uses glassware and also offers the best coffee. They have a patio outside where you can smoke and there is no smoking inside, which is great. The bar is small and it can be a bit of a crush when everyone wants to listen to the entertainment, but it is a friendly crush. They also offer snacks in the evening on left side of the bar.

Spa
There is a spa on site that offers massage, etc. however we did not use it. It is located in front of the tennis courts on the way to the sunset beach.

Evening Entertainment
If they hold the water ballet during your stay, make sure you take it in. Clearly these entertainers are talented to be able to dive into such a shallow pool and choreograph a routine to music. The bar had either piano playing, guitar playing or singers. We enjoyed our evenings listening to some of the local talent and watching some breakdancing.

Shuttle Bus
There is a bus that runs between the 3 Melia properties and also stops at the Las Dunas Market. The driver has limited English, but was super friendly and on the way back from an evening at Melia Santa Maria, he stopped the bus before the resort to move a big crab off the road. He let us take pictures before he moved it on to the side of the road where it wouldn't get hit. The bus has set times it operates and we found it ran on time.

Restaurants
There are 3 restaurants on the property and a poolside BBQ. You also have access to the Melia Santa Maria and Melia Las Dunas properties. We ate at the Japanese restaurant at the Santa Maria and it was good - not Japanese food, but still good. Your butler can make your reservations. You also have access to the buffets on both properties and you do not require a reservation.
All of the supper restaurants require a reservation. If you can't find your butler, just dial 700 on your phone and your reservation will be made.

Los Marinos
This restaurant is beside the boardwalk to the swimming beach. Breakfast and lunch was served and on the day before we left, they opened for seafood supper. We only had breakfast and it was a disappointment. They offer a small selection of buffet item and a menu for fresh cooked eggs, etc. The restaurant is enclosed, but there is an option for dining on the patio as well. There were flies in the building, so you had to brush them away to choose your breads, meats or cheeses. It kind of gives you an icky feeling first thing in the morning. The same goes for the fresh fruit area. We ended up opting for room service and that was a much better choice.
We did not have a chance to try the seafood set menu at the restaurant, as it was only open the night before we left. We only found out about it when we were speaking to a couple that arrived the night before. Their butler made them a reservation when they arrived. That night, they said it was fabulous. Our butler told us before we left that the hotel was at a low capacity so only 2 restaurants were open during the supper hours.

Los Navegantes
This is a small restaurant with an entrance just down from the pool area that offers a set menu. It is only open for supper. After eating here once, we decided we didn't need to return. My spouse had lobster and he said it was very good. I had stuffed chicken that was ok. The starters and desserts weren't great and nothing on the menu really appealed to us.

Los Caribes
This restaurant is located off the right hand side of the lobby. They also have doors that face the pool, however they are only open during the lunch hour, so at supper, the access is through the lobby area. It is open for lunch and supper. They have nightly musicians who play while you dine. They also have a different menu each night. We found the Cuban nights and Italian night were the best. The Mexican night was a huge disappointment. We sat in Lester's section several times and found he was an excellent server. The other servers were also good, but Lester is special.
At lunch, you can dine in, or have your food delivered to the pool. Some guests would order at the bar, but we would just pop in and tell them what we wanted and point to where we were sitting. We really liked the cheese pizza - just remember to ask to have it cut for you before they bring it.

There is also a BBQ set up for lunch each afternoon. Buns with chicken, pork, sausages, hamburgers, whole fish, etc are available. We found the pork and chicken to be excellent.

Lobby & Registration
We received excellent service on check-in and check-out. There is a small store beside the lobby with cigars and souvenirs. You can also exchange your money at the front desk and obtain complimentary cards for wifi and the internet. They have 2 stand alone computers available for guest use. The internet is very slow and we found wifi was faster than the computers, however sometimes it was hard to log on. When the time on our card would expire, we could just get a new card. We tried not to use the wifi service too much, as the whole point of going on vacation is to get away. The manager made a point of checking with us twice during our stay to make sure we were satisfied. He also gave us his business card and told us to contact him directly if we had any special requests should we decide to return to the resort in the future. That level of personal contact makes for a wonderful stay as it clearly is carried through to the other staff.

We enjoyed our stay and would be more than willing to stay again. We tipped all levels of staff and to be honest, it did not seem to matter in terms of service. We received good service from all staff except for the one butler that we never met.

Based on our previous travel experiences, we do have a few minor suggestions to the management:

Rooms
- Fix the bed frame/mattress so the bed doesn't squeak every time you move.

Grounds
- Having a handrail on all of the board-walks to the beach would be helpful for clients with mobility issues.

Restaurants
- Provide timely information on when closed restaurants are opened for dinner. We understand that it does not make sense to open a 3rd restaurant when the resort is not at capacity, but it would have been nice to have known when it opened.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Can_Cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guests,
We have very much enjoyed reading your review. We heartily appreciate your taking the time to describe your whole experience at Melia Buenavista in details and also, your having praised our staff and facilities in such a touching way. Thank you so much.
You can be sure we will extend your praising words to all our staff, especially your butlers Alien and Michael, so they feel even more motivated to provide some really personalized and professional services. We heartily hope you visit us pretty soon. We have introduced some positive changes we would like you to try. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Fabulous end to the day, sparkling wine, sunset in all it's glory and a very friendly sax player.
Our room, which felt like an apartment, looked out over the sea and was always peaceful and quiet.
We were glad to be a little bit out of the way although there was never a feeling of being overcrowded. In fact sometimes we wondered where everyone was?
So glad we were at The Buenavista and not the other Melia resorts nearby which seemed much busier and crowded. Did enjoy the Japanese restaurant though which was recommended by our Butler.
First experience of an all inclusive. Couldn't believe at first that all the drink was 'free' but there are only so many mojitos you can drink in a day. Found the food a little 'boring' and sometimes the quality was less than we would have expected. Perhaps this is the case with holidays of this type or could it be Cuba?
Had to learn about tipping. Didn't realise some people, (the Canadians?) tip all the time whereas us Brits were inclined to tip at the end of our stay. Took me a while to work out why I sometimes had to wait a while for a drink or a sandwich but really can't blame the staff. I would do exactly the same!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, you may have to pay more. If you want privacy, ask to be away from the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkiedopolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Arkiedopolus,
We really appreciate your having taken the time to write this review of our facilities, services and staff. We feel very proud to acknowledge you feel so enthusiastic about our sunset, one of the most beautiful in the whole Caribbean. We heartily hope this will not be your last visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I just got back from a relaxing one week stay at Melia Buenavista from 18-25 January, 2014. The resort is located on an island Santa Maria about 110 km from Santa Clara airport (1h 45 min by tourist bus). There is a 48 km causeway linking the island to main island. It is a beautiful, quiet resort (only 105 rooms) with friendly staff, excellent service and three lovely beaches. During our stay it was cooler and windy, so waves were big most of the time and therefore it was difficult to go snorkelling off the beach, even though the water was warmer than in the two unheated swimming pools. The weather was still 40-50 degrees C warmer than at home in Ottawa. Edel introduced us well to the resort upon our mid afternoon arrival and him and Gerardo took great care of our needs during our entire stay. Each night, there was a live music performance in the bar and one of the restaurants. As someone already said, this is not a party resort but we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, talking to the other guests who came all the way from UK, France, Germany, Austria, Argentina, Spain and Canada. Our room was very spacious and nicely furnished. I also loved the private outdoor shower. There was a unlimited, mostly reliable Wi-Fi service in the lobby with no additional cost to MB guests. The two desktop internet terminals were very slow so I only used the Wi-Fi. The restaurant food was average and often served lukewarm, but it has improved significantly halfway through, after Melia Buenavista's General Manager Jaumar started asking guests about food and their other impressions on MB. This was our second stay at Melia's Royal Service resort after the one in Holguin. It was our third trip to Cuba.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VP_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guests:
We have been delighted to receive your review. It feels very rewarding to acknowledge, through your words, that you found exactly what you needed while staying at Melia Buenavista. We will extend your comments to our staff (specially your butlers Edel and Gerardo) since they would certainly be very motivated by your praising words.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Meliá Buenavista for another relaxing vacation in your next 4th trip to Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My sister flew over from Scotland and we decided to leave husbands, children, pets and work behind and take off for 4 days 21-25th Jan, leaving from a very chilly Toronto.

A small, quiet well-appointed resort, with different beaches as thoroughly described in previous reviews. The guys on the beach were great at setting us up promptly and sweetly and bringing us fresh coconuts etc! Of course, the sparking wine and sax player on the beach at sunset was great.

Yes there are bugs at dusk (the infamous "no-see-ums" other people have commented on), as there are all over Cuba and the Caribbean. Generally if you're in the tropics, you should bring bug repellant. My feeling is that to complain about them is like not wearing sunscreen and complaining that you got sunburn: they go with the warm temps!

We had a premium, ocean view room which was just lovely, with lots of extra touches, such as slippers; umbrellas (which we didn't need, thankfully); toiletries and so on. And we enjoyed that while we were dining, they'd come in to tidy up our suite. I find it amusing that people comment on the firmness of the beds - one person's uncomfortable firm mattress is another person's optimally supportive mattress. But, for the record, we found the bed very comfortable. I travel with my own down pillow, but this was the first resort I've been at in the Caribbean where their pillows were really lovely - and if I hadn't liked them, they have a pillow menu!

We ate at various restaurants (as booked for us by our butlers) and we were impressed by the fare. I typically avoid beef when down south, as I'm a bit of a steak snob, but I broke my rule and had the beef carpaccio as a starter one night and it was delicious! The wines we had were good (much better than anywhere else I have been in my previous 10 trips to Cuba), especially a Chilean white I had at the Cuban restaurant. The lobster and the soups and the salads were all delicious. For breakfast, we had the buffet (as opposed to ordering from the menu) but as we favoured the soft, fresh, delicious breads, as well as fruit and cheeses, I can't comment on the food on the hot plates.

The lobby bar entertainment was subdued and pleasant every night but the table service was a bit hit and miss (especially if you were sitting outside), but when we felt ignored, we'd circumvent this by going up to the bar to order and asking them to deliver the drinks to our table. Othertimes, however, it was perfect.

This is not a party resort. VERY quiet and laid back. An older crowd (we were there to celebrate my up coming 50th and while there were a few people younger than us, most were our age and older) No noisy cabaret shows. No wild activities round the pool. No discos. No locals touting wares on the beach. Casual dress (even for dinner) and generally a secluded, quiet, relaxing place to kick back and enjoy!

Ahhhh…..lovely!

And my next review will be in March when we travel with a few other families and lots of kids and scuba diving and catamaran trips….and I'm sure there'll be a little part of me pining for the Buenavista sax player & the sparkling wine on the beach at sunset!

Room Tip: We upgraded to premium, ocean view (244) but think all the rooms seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Louise,
We heartily thank your taking the time to write such detailed review on your experience at Melia Buenavista in your 11th trip to Cuba. We are sure a lot of travelers will, as well, appreciate it.
We feel honored by your kind compliments which make us feel much rewarded.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I just got back from spending a very relaxing and wonderful week at the MB. Although the weather was a little off it was still better than -25 Celsius. We stayed at this resort from Jan 17 to the 24th.

If you are looking for a party resort the MB is not the place for you. However if you are looking for a place to chill out and spend time relaxing the MB is for you. No booming base music or frenzied activities here. From the background music at the main pool, the daily animation activities and to the nightly entertainers everything is geared for chilling out.

The resort itself is very nice, The rooms are the most spacious we ever stayed in a resort. Loved the outdoor shower. Bed was very comfortable for me however my wife would of liked to have it less firm. They have a pillow menu to find that right pillow. The landscaping is nice with a few more years to mature. We found the resort very clean and tidy.

The highlight of this resort is the amazing staff. If you make a little effort to get to know them by the end of your stay you will be treated like family. We had three butlers for our week. All of them were great however David is the butler that we spent most time with. He was great making sure we were happy or needed anything. Ask and they will do their best to meet your requests (of course within reason). All of the waiters and bartenders that served us were great.
However the ones that stood out were Lester, Diana, Julio, and Luis. We also enjoyed talking to the gardeners Armando & William and the mini bar attendant Laurenzo. The manager always made a point to talk to all of the guests and check up on how are things.

The unique thing about the MB are the three beaches. Each unique in their character and location. With the weather we had (cool,windy and cloudy) this certainly was a blessing. Depending on the wind you could get away the wind and enjoy some sun. The quiet beach on the west was great for the famous MB champagne sunset viewing. The small north beach is great for snorkling, if the weather cooperates. The main east sandy beach goes on for kilometers. Unfortunately for us, because of the cool wind, we did not get to enjoy this beach as much as we would of like to.

We are not pool people and rather be on the beach. Did not spend much time around the pools. They had one bar/pool and one quiet pool. They both seemed nice.

Because of it's small size one did not have to worry about finding chairs or a place with shade. There was plenty around.

The food was ok but not great for a 5 star. If they could rectify this aspect it would be one hell of a resort worth the 5 star rating. However one has to keep in mind you are in Cuba and you have to work with what you got. It is amazing how they can pull it off with the challenges of getting consistent and quality food products.

The bars were well stocked with brand & local liquors. The wines served with diner and lunch was limited to a few selection however you soon found out the ones that were better. There was one red we did not like and we always asked for the others. The whites were all decent.

Another slight negative aspect of this resort is that it sits in an isolated area of a sensitive ecological zone. There is vegetation surrounding the resort and an ideal breading ground for biting "no-see-ums" insects. Bring insect repellents and wear long pants & long sleeved shirts early in morning and at dusk. The funny thing about these insects they seem to prefer certain people. I got ravaged by them while my wife hardly got bitten. Not sure what the resort can do about these insects since they are situated in a sensitive ecological zone. Evan with all the bites it did not deter from our holiday.

This was our 3rd visit to Cuba and by far the best resort we stayed in this country. We would certainly return to this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms near the west quiet beach are more likely to have more bitting "no-see-ums" insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guests:
Thank you so much for your review describing your experience at Meliá Buenavista and describing us as ‘the best resort”.
It feels really good to receive such nice comments regarding our resort.
We are committed to keep on working in the improvement of our gastronomic offer as you suggest and I am sure your next vacation with us will be even more pleasant.
Hoping to be able to serve you again in the near future in your 4th visit to Cuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
6.0 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,183 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,022 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,273 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iberostar Ensenachos
Iberostar Ensenachos
#1 of 1 in Cayo Ensenachos
5,286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Property: Melia Buenavista
Address: Punta Madruguilla, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Buenavista 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing