We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Second Visit”
Review of Melia Buenavista

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spend 2 weeks in April with friends on our second visit to The Melia Buenavista and it was just as amazing as the impression it left with us the first time around.
From the beautiful and comfortable suites to the amazing beaches, this is truly the perfect spot if you want to relax and unwind in a peaceful and tranquil environment with great drinks, good food and fantastic musicians.
If you are looking for a party resort, or Las Vegas style buffets and restaurants then best to look elsewhere.

First and foremost a big thank you to the Hotel manager Jaume Margarit and his beautiful wife Julia, he is the Melia Buenavista’s greatest asset and works endlessly to make sure each and every guest has the greatest vacation experience possible, talking with Jaume and Julia is like having a chat with old friends, we wish you both continued success and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks to all the resorts staff who work so hard to make sure that all our needs are met and who remembered us by name from our first visit.

To our favourite butlers Gerardo and Adel who took such great care of us and for all the special treats left in our room each day, to Lester, Yani, Leo and Mario at the piano bar, to Blaydiel , Maibel, Dayana, Louis, Mary, Lenna ,Yunior, and Ruby for their superb service in the restaurants ,Osmany and Orestes in the pool bar, our friend Armando always working hard in the gardens, the cleaning staff who do a fantastic job everyday keeping everything spotless, to dear and sweet Yami at the concierge desk, and to all the other staff whom we may have forgotten ,thank you for making our vacation so special.

We have seen many beautiful spots and resorts in the Caribbean, but we look forward the most to returning to Buenavista, see you all soon for visit number three.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and everything is just a short walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2PMBC_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear 2PMBC_travellers,
We really appreciate your having taken the time to post this review describing in details all our facilities, services and staff. We feel very proud to acknowledge you show so enthusiastic about vacationing at our premises and we heartily hope this will not be your last visit. I will extent your compliments to my wife and our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
It will always be a great pleasure to welcome you back at Meliá Buenavista, so, we hope you honor us with a third visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 2,692 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Location of the resort is just fabulous, hotel is lovely, clean, modern and staff is friendly, helpful and great. Quiet adults only resort, no fuss, and very nice guests which for us, leaving the kids behind, was very important. Butlers were just amazing! Food is a bit bland and not very varied (Cuba in General not being a "food destination"), but tasty and generous, and cocktails very much make up for it! Three beaches are all breathtaking, although water gets a bit shallow in the afternoon, still beautiful! Entairtainment could have been a bit better, but they just don't have the experience of other worldwide 5* resorts, so have that in mind at all times. Cigar rolling in the evening and daytime bike show were fun. Discreet, in stunning surroundings and very very relaxing it did feel completely 5* to us! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vera76m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear vera76m,
We heartily thank your taking the time to post such a detailed review on your recent experience at our premises. You have been honest, matter of fact, sensitive and also a great writer. Our potential travelers will certainly benefit from all your comments and recommendations and we very much appreciate the good advertisement you are so spontaneously making for us.
Thanks again for your contribution and be certain that it will always be a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A friend and I recently spent a week at Melia Buenavista and had a wonderful, relaxing holiday. The resort is beautiful, the food was great, and the level of service from the staff was definately worth the 5 stars which this resort carries. I loved every minute of my holiday and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear TerriMac2014,
We are so proud to know guests may get such a good impression of our resort! It feels really nice to receive such nice compliments! We are certain that future travelers will benefit from your experience when choosing their next relaxing hide-away. Thank you so much for sharing your ideas with them.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Thank you to Melia Buenavista staff for such a memorable vacation. What a beautiful place to relax and enjoy yourself. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. A special thank you to our butlers Micael and Alien for making our stay so comfortable.
I was very impressed with the management of this small resort. The manager was professional and always present. He introduced himself to the guests and made sure that we are happy with all of the arrangements. He made us feel very welcomed.
This was our fourth time in Cuba and now our new favourite resort.
This was our first time to travel without our kids and we are so glad to have picked Melia Buenavista. We came back relaxed and looking younger and refreshed :)
The food was not that bad. We did have lobster four of the nights and it was good. The music bands were unbelievable! but I do wish they played music at the beach bar and the pool bar. Didn't particularly like the "elevator, spa" music at the pool bar, didn't feel like I was in Cuba.
Overall if you are looking for a place to relax, this is the place.
Thank you, thank you Melia Buenavista , we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kidsloveCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear KidsloveCuba,
We heartily appreciate your synthetic comment on our resort. It feels good to know you have enjoyed our services as much as our unique natural setting, two aspects we feel so proud of. Thank you so much for your mention about our employees, actually they are our best assets and be sure we are going to share your review with all of them specially with your butlers. It would be a great pleasure to have you, once again as our guests in your new favourite resort to enjoy some really special vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

the Melia Buenavista is the nicest resort we have ever been to ... after travelling to many Caribbean countries and resorts, we returned to Melia Buenavista for back to back two week vacations for many reasons ... the staff are very accommodating and friendly ... so nice ... our butler Joel made each day stress free by ensuring all was well with our rooms and nightly dinner reservations at the a la carte restaurants ... Mario, Lester and Yani in the bar and Osmany and Orestes at the pool bar made all of our drinks including lovely cappuccinos every morning ... Louis, Mary and Lenna made each meal special with outstanding service ... the hotel manager Jaume made each guest feel special with his daily chats ... and last but not lease - Armando the Gardener - VERY SPECIAL guy - warm heart / great friend ... took a minute each day to have a quick chat ... NICE

Room Tip: very quiet, classy resort with great food, coffee and wine - Awesome staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Scott S,
We are so proud to have inspired this touching review you have recently posted! It is really a pleasure to be recognized for our personalized service and professionalism and those are precisely the aspects of our staff performance we work the hardest at. We will extent your compliments to our employees, definitely our strongest point, so they keep motivated to provide their usual friendly and professional service.
Thank you so much for having shared your experience with the rest of the traveler community and be sure we will always be really happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Melia Buenavista is the perfect place to relax in more intimate comfort. This smaller property with 104 rooms provides friendly, personal service in a choice location of Cayo Santa Maria. You won't find yourself among noisy crowds of people.
The three beach areas often feel like your own private beaches, until a smiling barman strolls along to see if you would like something to drink! The staff is professional and caring and exudes a genuine warmth that you don't experience at a larger resort. Your assigned butlers will arrange your meals and address any other requests.
The rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped. The property is very attractive and well-maintained. The common areas offer sophisticated minimalism against a stunning natural beach backdrop. There is never a shortage of fresh towels or selected beverages in your mini-bar. Bubble baths and a bottle of chilled bubbly will often await you when you return to your room after a day at he beach or on tour.
You can maintain your workout regime in the small, yet nicely equipped gym, and enjoy professional spa services afterwards.
The musicians and other local entertainers provide high level entertainment in an intimate outdoor setting around the lobby bar and main pool....under the stars and moon and breezy palm trees.....or on the beach at sunset.
The location is romantic for two and just as appealing to a solo traveler in search of a more secluded and safe beach destination.
Guests at the Buenavista are free to visit the other Melia area hotels on the cayo for meals, the beach and entertainment, by means of a complimentary shuttle service or a local taxi for mimimum cost. There are also two outdoor shopping markets for local goods situated nearby, and the domestic airport at adjoining cayo Las Brujas can wisk you off to Havana for additional shopping and sightseeing, if you so desire.
I would return to this property in a heartbeat! The hotel manager is very "hands on" and wants nothing more than to please his guests and have them long to return. He is doing a fine job! Book now and plan to relax among " friends" on one of the most beautiful islands on earth! Thank you everyone and keep up the good work. I miss your smiles, already.....

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room on the property but prefer the second floor beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Paula Cape Breton Island, Canada,
Receive our most respectful greetings from sunny Cayo Santa María.
We would like to thank you for this nice review expressing in details how it felt to stay at our resort and experience our natural environment, personalized service and human warmth.
We are certain that other vacationers will find your comments very useful while choosing their next holiday destination.
Thank you for sponsoring so highly our hotel by saying: “ Book now and plan to relax among " friends" on one of the most beautiful islands on earth! “
We really hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Room = excellent, very large, bed is comfortable, mini bar always full
Exterior shower = more than excellent - we loved it so much
Resort size = excellent (only 105 rooms, so never crowded)
3 beaches = excellent (play in the waves on beach #1, snorkel on beach #2 and take a walk to explore nature on beach #3)
Pools = excellent, clean, great size... but we prefer the beach.
Possibility to go to other Melia Hotels of the island = excellent
Obligation to reserve in the Buenavista restaurants = ok because your concierge does it for you, but seriously, if I do not reserve you won't let me eat? There is no buffet restaurant so... it seems a little unnecessary to reserve...
Concierge = We were very happy with Belkis and Aylin, they were very helpful and attentive to us.
Animation in the restaurant = Excellent. The little singer was very talented with his voice WOW!
Shows = Ok. But we didn't see much of them.

The food = problem. From one day to another, it is unstable. We ate lobster the first night. It was «hard» (too cooked?) but the taste was good. On the other nights, we got from good plates to ok/disapointing plates. For the lunch, with buffet choices or à la carte, it was helping us to find something ok. Breakfast was ok when we were ordering eggs or omelette to our taste. In the buffet, eggs were like a yellow pool... not tasty at all. I asked for crepes one morning and they were good.

In short, I think so many comments in the past months/years have been made about the food in this resort... it's more than time to do something about that. For a 5* with royal service, remember that: everytime somebody eats in one of the restaurants, he should think that this is royal food.

I hope hotel management will be able to fix this. Everybody is so kind and everything there is so perfect. Fixing the food issue will bring this resort to paradise level!

Would like to go back. Would like to eat better next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missysabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Missysabella,
We heartily thank your taking the time to write such detailed review on your experience at Melia Buenavista. We are sure a lot of travelers will, as well, appreciate it.
We feel honored by your kind compliments which make us feel much rewarded.
We have been working on some of our not -so- strong points (as mentioned in your comments) with the sole aim of being better prepared to meet our guests’ needs.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
137.7 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
83 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
137.1 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
6,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,277 reviews
137.3 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Valentin Perla Blanca
Valentin Perla Blanca
#9 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Address: Punta Madruguilla, 52610, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: £198 - £602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Buenavista 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing