We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I miss you daylin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Laval, Canada
1 review
“I miss you daylin”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I spent a very good Time in this hotel especially because of the service. Daylin was taking care of us very well. I went to many hotels and i never seen such a good service only because of her. She made sure everything was perfect for us. I will definitly go back to this hotel because of her. The food was great. The beach was nice. The room are really nice. Thank you daylin!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Alex:
It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyondyour expectations. We'll extend your compliments to our staff and most particularly, to Dailyn. Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests' satisfaction.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    446
    192
    66
    34
See reviews for
143
1,973
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had an amazing week at the Buenavista in June. Meant to be rainy season, but we had six days of sun and one of cloud.

The hotel is only four years old and built to an excellent, international standard. It's beautiful. Rooms are big, modern and well equipped - two umbrellas! - with quiet, powerful AC and a good sized bed. There's one quiet pool and one with a bar and the daytime activities hut. At two of the beaches the water is shallow and full of sea life - which may or may not be your thing. The beach with a bar got some nice sized waves most days, which made for more fun dips in the sea.

Activities are pitched at the right tone (yoga in the floating hut was a great start to the day), and the night time entertainment was nice - about twenty minutes per night, and of a high standard. The dancers were great on two nights, and made you remember you were in Cuba.

Don't be expecting a personal butler. They function more like a dedicated concierge and you contact them via reception. They like to leave nice surprises in your room, and seem to care very deeply about any concerns. All in all the staff were really friendly, and each person seemed to do their job with a wry smile, which we loved.

The three bars are good, and you have the run of their stock. Roving waiters will serve you at the poolside and sometimes at the nearest beach, and they come around every half an hour or so - be sure to tip. If they run out of something at one bar (tomato juice, mainly - for your Bloody Mary!), you'll need to walk to another.

The food... is a problem.

Breakfast: some a la carte options and your choice of the four-station buffet. As other reviewers have said, this is open to the flies and the 'cold' stuff is not refrigerated. Smoked salmon for breakfast is nice, but not when it's been sat out at room temperature for a while. The chocolate milkshake had gone off. The milk was warm. There were shells in the scrambled eggs. The croissants were hard and small. The bread for toasting had small spots of mould that made a nice earthy smell when toasted. The a-la carte stuff was OK, though their American pancakes are crepes. There's so much on offer, and none of it was particularly good.

Lunch: served at the breakfast restaurant where you can have either a cold buffet or a different a-la carte offering. I very much liked their grilled salmon with vegetables, but other dishes were mostly tasteless. Towards the end of the week, we began to order from the poolside grill, which is excellent. The nicest BBQ chicken I've had, and stonebaked pizzas, too. And they'll bring it to your sun lounger - that's more like it!

Room service: tried it twice. Both times they forgot things. Lunch was better than breakfast. Left the fruit off the breakfast order, and then sent heaps of cut fruit to our room later that day as a an apology, which, of course, we didn't eat because we were out.

Dinner: you have two restaurants: Caribes and Navigadores. The former is a sort of conventional hotel restaurant, and Navigadores is smaller, warmer and more romantic place. You have to book your dinner by calling reception in the morning, but they cannot confirm the booking and instead ask you to wait for your butler to call back, which often took around ten minutes. You had to do this every day. Maybe they should allow customers to book direct with the restaurants? Or have a booking number?

Caribes restaurant is terrible. It's almost a joke. One night, their main course was three chicken breasts per person, drizzled with blue cheese with two thin potato wedges on the side and nothing else. Mexican night held much promise, but was a disaster on every course: a starter of two nachos per person (see photo) and some processed dips, followed by a very smelly fish dip in a martini glass, and finished up with 'fajitas' consisting of dry chicken in soft taco wraps. You really only could laugh and try and eat what you could. No matter what the menu said, we learned that Caribes would disappoint (though we used other phrases) somehow.

Navigadores is better. Service is faster, the room has a nice, low buzz and is lit like a fancy restaurant. Two of the three meals I had were excellent. Interestingly, I ordered a spiced chicken on the first night and it was plain grilled chicken with rice. My partner ordered the same thing a few nights later and the dish looked completely different, and was more tasty. You wonder what's going on in the kitchen.

It's not as if I have high standards, but some of the food was just bad and inedible - that's the only way to describe it. In the context of an all-inclusive, five-star, expensive hotel where everything else is so spot on, it doesn't make sense. Yes, it's Cuba and they don't have access to many things, but we ate in Havana and enjoyed excellent, accomplished food there, so it can be done.

Aside from the food, it is an excellent hotel. If they can fix whatever problem it is that's affecting the kitchen service, it would be a fully-fledged, five star wonder.

Room Tip: A poolside or ground floor room is greatly preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westlondon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear westlondon1984 :
Receive our most respectful greeting from sunny Cuba.
We heartily appreciate you honest review. We understand some of our services did not exactly meet all your expectations but we thank your giving us the chance to identify these improvement opportunities. We can say that all our staff is really focused in solving any inconveniences that our guests may have had during their stay so that we keep implementing positive changes. Thank you for also pointing out the things you liked about us.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you at Melia Buenavista and serve you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Clearly we love this resort, we have had nothing but great holidays when we stay here. The resort has all the things we love, great rooms, great location, quiet and peaceful, but best of all the staff and service are top notch. We love to snorkel, love the beach and not many places have both that are so nice. We have been to Cuba 15 times, DR, Mexico and Jamaica an additional 15 times. We haven't found somewhere we would rather be. We have been at resorts which may have some specific part which we would rate higher, but overall when we take it as a whole, this is our number one. We like the food and have never had issues with it, is it like home, no, but we're not at home, interestingly we don't have an ocean to snorkel in or a beautiful Cuban beach in Saskatchewan. Personal favorite is BBQ lunch at the main pool. When friends ask where I would recommend, I have no hesitation telling them about this gem. If you want continuous loud music or loud parties, well you won't get that. The entertainment in the evenings is smaller scale, but quality. The musicians are all good and the six piece Cuban band is outstanding. Hats off to the manager who works hard at meeting the guests and finding ways to make a great resort even better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southbound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Southbound09:

We have very much enjoyed reading your review. We heartily appreciate your taking the time to describe your whole experience at Melia Buenavista in details and also, your having praised our staff and facilities in such a touching way. Thank you so much.
You can be sure we will extend your praising words to all our staff, especially the people in charge of the BBQ lunch at the main pool and our manager, so they feel even more motivated to provide some really personalized and professional services. We would be very pleased to host you once more in your home away from home (the one with ocean to snorkel in or a beautiful Cuban beach).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our second Melia Cuban resort and fourth Cuban resort visit in the past five years.

This is a Beautiful resort well maintained. Grounds well manicured.
Rooms well appointed, (no need for adapter plugs if you have 220v items with North American style plugs). bed was comfortable. A/C was quiet and worked well.
The only noise upstairs neighbor wearing noisy high heels, other than that no noise carried over. Room was equipped with a jacuzzi but unfortunately it is only large enough for one.
The resort has three small beaches separated by rocky outcrops. The westernmost one is suitable only for sunbathing and watching the sunset. The other two are good for sunbathing and snorkeling. If you enjoy snorkeling this resort offers an abundance of tropical fish and the occasional manta ray along it beaches.

The food at either of the two a la carte restaurants was a bit of a disappointment (Note this was written by someone who is well accustomed to bland institutional food) while aesthetically pleasing it lacked taste and was poorly prepared.
The management of the resort seems to be aware of this issue. The manager of the resort & the newly appointed head of catering were in the restaurants nightly trying to do damage control.
Examples from my plate are:
-Uncooked Beef. I ordered medium, Note at home I often eat it rare it wasn't cooked enough to be rare. while at supper noticed two other tables also send theirs back, not bad considering only five tables seated at that time.
-Old Tuna, the taste reminded me more of the dock it was landed on than the fish I was eating.
- Overcooked Lobster, cooked to the point where it was nearly impossible to separate it from the shell.
-The 24hr. room service menu was a bit narrow. Pizza, Hamburger & fries, or Hot Dog & fries, Pizza crust seems to be made onsite and was a nice change for me.

Wifi Internet is available in the Lobby, it isn't at lightning speed but it is sufficient for Facebook, Facetime and to check your e-mail. If you have spyware detection it will set off some alarms on android & windows OS's and it is limited to what you can do, don't expect to do your banking while in Cuba. Note Apple users don't seem to get any of these alarms.

Butler service:
You are sharing the butler with many more rooms. The hotel seemed to be about 30% full during our stay and there were two butlers on duty from 0700-2300 hrs. that considered they do a great job. For you to get what you want when want you need to plan things well in advance.
Your Butler takes you dinner reservations which should be completed by 1200 at the latest.
One restaurant has two menus which alternate from night to night, while the other goes through a 7 night cycle. I'm sure this schedule could be given to the guests so they can plan their dining but instead you have to quiz the butler for it which at times can be a frustrating process.

Overall not a bad experience, if the catering was better this rating would easily go to an all round 5.

Room Tip: We prefer ground floor, choose a poolside room, this worked well for us, just step out of the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear travelers:
We very much appreciate your detailed review which points out some interesting matters. I understand your experience was not exactly perfect but you can be certain that all your comments have been taken into consideration. Much to our satisfaction, we have already been able to solve most of the issues mentioned in your review. And we´ll keep making improvements by the day because it is our goal to make sure each customer leaves the place fully satisfied and eager to come back. So thank you for pointing us in the right direction to keep up the work.
We certainly hope you give us the opportunity to serve you once again and provide you an excellent holiday. Thank you so much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, ON
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I dont think theres much to say that I haven't said about this resort already.

You just have to go. Its a beautiful, quiet, relaxed experience with staff that always seem to remember us and go the extra mile.

We're planning our next visit already.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habanero1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Habanero 1976:
We very much appreciate your synthetic and well focused characterization of our touristic product. I believe that your review may certainly help other travelers while choosing a destination that would really suit their needs and expectations. Your nice praising comments constitute some valuable motivation for all our staff to keep on working on providing guests a memorable vacation. Thank you so much! And See you soon once more at MB which is already your second home.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spent a glorious week at the Buenvista. After some dismal experiences with all inclusiveness, this hotel was a dream! The three beaches and the two pools ensured that we never had to fight for a chair! Often we were the only ones on the beach or at the pool.The service was amazing! The pampering by our butlers Alien and David was over the top- champagne in our room every evening, musicians to seranade us, romantic baths ( too bad I went with my sister in law!). I'm so spoiled my husband can hardly stand it! The rooms are spotless and the resort itself beautifully cared for. We had a second floor suite overlooking the snorkel beach. Beautiful view! The gardeners ensure that the beautiful Cuban vegetation is at its best. Pool side service is fantastic! Orestes and his brother are amazing-so welcoming and friendly! I enjoyed the most delicious brick oven pizza ever at the barbecue pit at the pool! The manager is very visible and came by every night to say hello. The two al a carte restaurants are tastefully decorated and because it was low season, they alternated menus. The food was mostly tasty but sometimes over cooked but the professional service made up for anything that the food may have lacked! We were treated to nightly Cuban entertainment nightly at the Lobby Bar. This is definitely a resort I'll return to, this time with my husband!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Linda:
It has felt really good to read your lively and detailed review on your recent vacation at Melia Buenavista. It feels really good to receive such nice comments regarding our resort. We heartily thank your compliments addressed to our facilities and services and most particularly, our staff. They make us all really proud of this, our little piece of the world. You can be sure that your compliments will be paid to each of the workers you mentioned including our manager. We can´t wait to receive you again in our Hotel with your husband this time .We´ll make sure he likes it as much as you did since we are committed to keep on working in the improvement of our services and staff performance. I believe that your review may certainly help other travelers while choosing a destination that would really suit their needs and expectations.
Hoping to welcome you back pretty soon in sunny Cayo Santa María,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Sorry for the low rating. There are really good things about this hotel but they should not be allowed to cloud the issues and someone at Melia really needs to stop being complacent and look beyond the high scores, we wish we had done.

The food is nowhere near the standard you should be able to expect from a large chain such as Melia and their Royal Service hotel in Cayo Santa Maria. The main Breakfast/Lunch Restaurant is unhygienic and the 2 evening restaurants have limited choice and lack consistency in the standard. Room service is inconsistent. This is not a Cuba issue as we had great food in Havana and the sister hotels up the road did not seem to have the same problems.

Breakfast and Lunch are served for 4 hours at a time and food is left uncovered. Flies were over the salads and cold meats/cheeses every time we ventured in. Cold meats were dry and curling at the edges and the cheese was allowed to sweat. Lettuce was brown and limp (don't know where the previous reviewer found his crisp lettuce as we never found it) and the tinned fish looked as though it had been there for days.

The lunch BBQ is OK and the chef did a great job with chicken, burgers, sausage and tacos but catch the bus up to Las Dunas and try their BBQ - All of the above plus shrimps, large variety of fish and regularly replenished fresh covered salads and bread etc. The Caribe did not open for lunch when we were there presumably due to lack of numbers which is fair enough but surely the guests at the Buenavista deserve and have paid for the same variety.

For the evening there is a choice of two restaurants. One is a fixed menu selection and the other changes each night with only choice of two for the main course. On our last night both restaurants served the same menu selection. We opted for room service pizza. Great room service breakfast one morning but the following day the food was cold and items were missing.

The flies have been mentioned on previous reviews and the problem has not been fixed. The Quality Assurance Manager told us the lunch/breakfast restaurant is A L Carte not buffet but if you have different food stations where people help themselves this is a buffet. Why not just cover the food? We were told that they are aware they have a problem trying to meets the standards of Europeans, so was this our problem?

Regular guests seem to not notice or even make excuses for the problems at this hotel because yes it is nice being known by your first name and remembered from your last visit but If you have saved for a long time for a one off special occasion holiday the food here is a big disappointment. We were at the Buenavista from 25 May - 1 June the same time as a previous reviewer and you would think we were at different hotels.

The service and most of the staff at the Buenavista are excellent (special mention to Javier our Butler for all his efforts). The rooms are clean and spacious, the location is great and the management are very good at listening (maybe so nice that guests are reluctant to complain) but please don't be fooled by the ratings if you are looking for something special and the full package - you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2010HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Gerente at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear 2010happytraveller:
You cannot picture how sorry we are for not being able to meet your expectations while under our care. As I understand, all your dissatisfactions are related to the food issue. Be certain that we keep working really hard in this area with the sole aim of providing our guests with a fully Royal Service experience. It was a real pleasure to meet you personally and receive your comments, right on spot. Complaints always help us focus on those aspects that need more attention. We only regret not having been able to make you feel better in spite of our good will gestures we and devoted attention. I would only add that all reviews posted by our guests convey nothing but their feelings and experiences. We understand each person is a world, the same way each hotel has its particular charm. Not judging any of our reviewers, we take the best of each comment as a valuable tool to improve our performance. Thank you so much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
6.0 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,025 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,908 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,002 reviews
233.1 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Property: Melia Buenavista
Address: Punta Madruguilla, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Buenavista 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing