We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Las Dunas(Cayo Santa Maria)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Buenavista(Cayo Santa Maria)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Ensenachos(Cayo Ensenachos)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Memories Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,829)
Filter reviews
2,829 results
Traveller rating
799
1,004
519
312
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
1,004
519
312
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barpizza restaurantla picuafishpastasanta mariathe busnude beachbeach restaurantsome tlcbeautiful beachbest pizzaother resortssmaller resortceiling fanguest servicesquiet resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 2,829 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I just got back from my 2nd trip to SOL, May31st.
It was the same personable, beautiful, awesome place as it was in February.
Bonus this time, was that I was a repeat guest and they were more than generous with the perks I received!!
Reading the last couple reviews, I wasn't sure we were at the same place!! Yes..it is older and needs some work, but that does not interfere with your stay there. The rooms are clean and the staff are fantastic! Malvia in customer service is quick to fix things that are bothering you and she does it with understanding and a smile! Yoel at the pool bar FINDS whatever it is you would like, Osmany is fast to make you smile and cook you a great burger and Ernesto makes a great cup of cappuccino in the mornings! The staff at the lobby bar are equally as friendly!
I was always able to find food I liked in the buffet and I really am a picky eater.
They fog the place a couple times a day and try to keep the bugs away!! Air conditioner worked great both times there.
I will return to the Sol and I suggest you give it a try.
They can't please everyone BUT THEY REALLY TRY TO!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Director General at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimada SBSweetie,

Para todo nuestro equipo de trabajo del hotel Sol Cayo Santa María es un gusto saber que disfrutó de unas maravillosas vacaciones y que recomienda a otros viajeros visitar Sol Cayo Santa María, sobre todo por haberse sentido muy bien atendidos por todo nuestro equipo de trabajo en un entorno paradisiaco, también le comunico que sus comentarios serán trasmitido a todo nuestro equipo de trabajo en especial a Malvia,Yoel y Osmany que lograron con su labor profecional a que sus vacaciones fueran un sueño realizable.
Comentarios como los que usted nos envía son los que nos motivan como equipo diariamente a mejorar la calidad de servicio que ofrecemos.

Les esperamos prontamente en nuestro hotel( por 3ra vez) y por favor no dude en contactarnos en una futura estancia con nosotros.


Siempre a su disposición,

Lati Naimi
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is my third visit to this resort, and frankly, I don`t think I will return unless there`s a big price drop, and the manager starts walking around the resort and checking up on services. Guests, shouldn`t be doing his work!!!
First, here`s what`s right with this place.... the staff, especially the ladies in Customer Service, are what keep people coming back. Staff recognize returning guests, and the hotel sponsors a `returning guests`` dinner to show their appreciation. The 5000`s section of rooms is quiet, near the beach and on the second floor, `bug-free`. I understand that the drinks are quite good (I don`t drink myself).
Unfortunately, this hotel has a long way to go to make the long bus ride from the airport, worth the bother, given the other hotels on this island, have better food and services. I spent my time next door at the Melia Cayo Santa Maria. I loved their gardens and roomier pool area. The beach resto was great too. At the Sol, the beach food was greasy, with no desserts. The pizza resto at the Sol was okay, but the menu was very limited.
At the Sol, as with every time I`ve been there, I had to go after managers, staff, PR ladies etc...anyone to get necessary repairs done. My AC needed fixing, my fan needed tightening, the lights on the path to the room were out, the beach area near the boat area had no shower and the small garden hose needed to be reached by climbing on loose planks to get to it. It took this hotel one year to replace a light bulb on the path to the my room! The main dining room has been rid of the flying, pooping birds, and the decor has been modernized. The food however, has gone downhill, and only one cake was served the entire 2 weeks that I was there. The pasta dishes were awful. Unbelievable given the head chef was from Pisa, Italy! The best spaghetti was at the pizza resto. It was delicious...especially with the plain tomato sauce.
TheIR beach was wonderful, but had no service in this low season.
Air Canada Rouge flight gave no meals or snacks, and there was no free entertainment if you don`t have your own tablet. To rent one was, $10, and people complained that the picture was poor, and the movies old. Transat and Sunwing offer meals.
Unless price is a major factor, spend a little more anD choose another hotel. I went with Air Canada for the points, but don`t recommend it otherwise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kits0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Director General at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear kits0u

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us on Trip Advisor which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regarding your comments we are very sorry to hear that we could not fulfil your expectations regarding our services and facilities, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning our hotel, services and facilities has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our surveys.
We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the matters the proper attention.
We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Bahia Principe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best wishes,

Lati Naimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I don't quite know what I was thinking of or expecting when I booked this part of our trip, but as soon as we arrived I realised that I should have expected exactly what we found.
We were disappointed to find that the a la carte restaurants required advance booking and that there were no tables available during our 2 night stay. Consequently we dined throughout at the buffet, which was ... ok. The meat and fish grills were slow because customers ahead of us in the queue were placing orders for their large parties. This meant that we mostly ate separately - one eating their food whilst it was still warm and the other was still queuing.
There was no escape from children, although these were pretty well-behaved.
Table staff were helpful and courteous, as were the hot-chefs. The selection of salads was good.
All that said, in our 10 day tour, this was the only resort where I got sick with a Cuban tummy, which was very disappointing.

Los Flamencos bar took us a day to find, and the food there was, although more limited, much better than in the main buffet (and only available for lunch). The staff there were lovely, smiling, helpful and efficient. It was also a welcome oasis away from the noise of the central pool area where it is impossible to get a quiet drink without loud music, loud hailers and "activities" (notable by the absence of participants). On our second evening we discovered the piano bar, again a welcome respite from endless banging pop. The talented ladies there played cello and flute, and need not have included popular classics to make their act so pleasant and restful.

As far as we could tell there was nowhere on site where the evening entertainment could be avoided. There was nothing the matter with it - we just did not go half way round the world to watch a tribute to the hits of Broadway, and it would be so good to have an alternative for guests who would enjoy something quieter.

The room was clean and comfortable, the resort on the whole was OK. I'd rather not have had the tummy-bug!

Room Tip: Never mind the room, choose Los Flamencos for your lunch and a haven away from the buffet!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan_and_BeckyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Director General at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review of your stay in our Trip Advisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service we put a great interest in our clients comments as their perceptions are the most important to us as this is the only way to know what specific points we must focus our attention.
Please be sure that we work as hard as possible and we aim at delivering always the best possible experience to all of our dear guests.
Our hotel is involved in a renovation process that will give us our structural conditions back and i assure you our future clients may feel more comfortable.
Once again please accept our apologies for these inconveniences and we look forward welcoming you in the near future to enjoy our new changes.

Best regards

Lati Naimi
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort from may 12th to may 19th and so far did not find a reason to make me go back other than 3 or 4 excellent employees.yoel at the pool bar is the best barman in the resort.his drinks are always poured in a very professional way and always courteous.my wife had the best pina coladas made by him and he was always super friendly along with the cook working with him on his shifts.
The gift from the cook to my daughter on our first day there was very special and will be sherished forever.
As a parent of a special needs child I was trully amazed by the waitresses at the buffet were we had all of our meals.they were excellent and always very helpfull with the needs of my daughter.seeing them cry hugging and kissing my daughter when we went to say goodbye was very special.thank you so much.
Apart from this handfull of trully amazing and hard working poeple it was just bad.
Our room was in a central point of the resort on the 1st floor as requested wich was great but all the other requirements for my daughter needs were mixed up with the other couple staying with us for example the shower with the bench instead ot the bathtub.but we managed and never complained about it.we did complained however about the bugs crawling in the room the lack of towels for the 3 of us and the safe not working after the first night to the reception....waste of time they did not had a clue....second night went to see Rosa at costumer service and we solved the towel and bug problem.that was a big improvement the safe was never fixed wich was minor.
The sheets were never changed for the whole week the bathtub never clean the waste baskets never emptied and the huge cockroach trapped in the water glass in the bathroom was left there the whole week!!!!! Still we never complained.we knew we were not staying at the savoy but come on guys...a roach???? Really????
On the 3rd day the air conditioning broke down.when we came back from the beach went to see Rosa at guest service and by the time we came back from dinner it was running again only to brake down over night again.never new if it was fixed (didn't think so) or if it went back running after fooling around with the thermostat.
Went back the next morning to guest service and told rosa about it.went the the beach all day.it was not an exceptionally hot day.we came back to shower before dinner and the air conditioning was running faintly when we got back to sleep after dinner and show it was a lot more humid but we figure we would manage.WRONG!!!! It stopped working in about two o'clock in the morning I had to get up and go to the reception and let them know that we could not stay in that room for the night and that they would have to change rooms so the bellboy took us to a another room which had stairs to wich i had to carry my disabled daughter and dropped us in the driveway and left. turns out that room at no power at all !!!!by the time I came out to see if the bellboy was still there he had left !!!I had to leave my family in the dark room alone and go back to the reception walking .when I got back to the reception there I am trying to explain to the receptionist what happent and she called the bellboy which was sleeping behind the counter in the reception and he's trying to let me know how to work the power back in the room I lost my temper and he had to take me back and do it himself we spend the night over in that room. the next morning went to see Rosa a my wife was less than pleased and let her know that.the next day the air conditioning was fixed and we ended up staying in the original room the rest of the week..from that day on it was pue disappointment suddenly the resort got filled up by poeple coming from God knows where that starting to trash the place like unbelievable these people would leave food in the swimming pool glasses all over it was just a mess.we even seen a girl vomiting on her feet and then go wash them in the swimming pool that is how disgusting that place got the be.we try to find out what was going on and we were told that he was the national weekend and that people were just getting in for next to nothing.for the management that could be great but for the rest of the guests that was the starting of a nightmare.
Poor management!!!!! Planning on going back to cuba but never to this resort

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fernando c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Director General at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear fernando c,

We have read your comments regarding your stay in our hotel Sol Cayo Santa Maria.
First of all, I would like to offer my most sincere apologies if we couldn´t satisfy all your expectations. Our intention is always to improve our services, so your comments help us in this purpose.
Let me tell you we have analysed your comments in a meeting with all our manager and persons involved, take measures with people involved and prepare a strong supervision schedule to check all those aspects every time so those problems never happen again. i also want to thank you for all the good comments about most of our workers i assure you that we will discussed with them.
I would be much honored to invite you once again to Sol Cayo Santa Maria showing you keep on trusting in our Hotel and in our Company. I would very much appreciate that you will contact me in advance to tell me the date of your next booking.
Reiterating our apologies, we hope continue counting on your loyalty as a customer of our hotel and our company.

Best Regards

Lati Naimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week (May 5-12) with my sisters at Sol Cayo Santa Maria (5 of us in total). Our group of 5 quickly became 6 as we befriended "Stan" who is a regular guest at Sol and became our guide, companion and photographer! Though a couple of us had visited Cuba before, the Sol was a wonderful choice for our "group" holiday: small, intimate, friendly and blessed with a beautiful beach and amazing staff.As others have commented, the property is showing its age and is in need of some maintenance to the pools and plumbing in the rooms, as well as in need of new beds. However, for anyone looking for a restful holiday, unencumbered by noisy activities or crowds or vendors and if you are not bothered by the inconvenience of a possible maintenance problem, this is the right place. The food choice at the buffet, lunch restaurants and the 2 a la carte restaurants is more than adequate. The entertainment is informal and fun and the lobby bar makes the best cappuccinos ever. The staff is clearly dedicated to good service and we feel that we made friends with several of them. Four of the five of us were celebrating recent birthdays and we ended up with a birthday cake on two nights which was a personal touch we did not expect. The weather was hot the first week of May but very windy which meant we could not do any of the water activities. However, we were able to spend all day, every day on the beach. The nude beach is a comfortable spot for naturalists as well as non participants. As access to the island is restricted, there were no vendors on the beach and we felt very safe. We don't have many suggestions except to perhaps play more Cuban music. we would definitely return!

Room Tip: We asked for rooms near the beach and that is what we got; very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lati N, Director General at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear BandB09 ,

On behalf of Hotel Management and all the staff working at Sol Cayo Santa María, we thank you for publication on Tripadvisor about your experience in our hotel.

We are very happy to acknowledge that your experience was amazing and unforgettable due to our facilities and excellent service. In Sol Cayo Santa María we want our valuable costumers to enjoy memorable holidays.

We invite you to visit us once again so you can enjoy our facilities and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your return.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Lati Naimi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews