We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I needed for a good trip in the sun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am not very savvy with cruises or beach resorts, so bare with my review, but given this was a first, I can say with honesty it was really great and met all my expectations.

The beach was great quality, something I made excellent use of! The villas weren't bad either; they had no bugs of any kind and were well kept. The food met my requirements, but more seasoned travelers tell me it can be better in other places.

The resort was close to a local tourist town that had a lot of kitschy nicknacks to buy.

The alcohol was in good quality and in plentiful supply.

Most importantly though, the staff was wonderful, accommodating, friendly, and warm.

The trip to the resort also benefited from a bus ride through local towns which was actually quite a nice treat.

I recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Fivetimesthethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest

We very much appreciate your synthetic and well focused characterization of our touristic product. I believe that your review may certainly help other travelers while choosing a destination that would really suit their needs and expectations. Your nice praising comments constitute some valuable motivation for all our staff to keep on working on providing guests a memorable vacation. Thank you so much!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 4,356 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have just come back from a 1 week stay at Melia CSM with my boyfriend and would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday and warm welcome to the lovely country of Cuba.

Before going on my holiday, I had read nothing but praise for the staff at this hotel and have to say I was not disappointed. Upon arrival, we were greeted with drinks and a very friendly porter took us to our hotel room on a buggy, giving us a tour of the hotel on our way. All staff were extremely vigilant and efficient with food and drink, filling up your glass as soon as you emptied it. All of the staff treat the customers with a personal touch, remembering tiny details you may have told them, and bringing your favourite drinks without even being asked. Truly personal and genuine service which I am very grateful for.

Our room was excellent for its location, but was perhaps lacking in other areas. Was a little bit dirtier than we had hoped for, with sheets sometimes rust-stained and marks in the bath. However, it was a large room right on the poolside and about a 3-5 minute walk form the simply breathtaking beach.

The activities available on the beach were excellent, and at no extra cost. We were able to take out pedallos, kayaks and go windsurfing. Also, sailing boats are available and staff are more than willing to take you out for a short trip which is so much fun when the waves are choppy.

We also took advantage of the spa facilities, which were fabulous and very reasonably priced (for English customers, anyway). Pool facilities are great, with a kid friendly zero-entry pool and separate adult pool. Ozzy at the swim up bar was very friendly and attentive, bringing drinks and pizzas over to us on the sunbeds (thanks ozzy!).

One of very few complaints would be that the wifi is very temperamental and, although it was cheap (4.50 pesos an hr) cut out after 10 mins. I was told I could file for a refund but was never given my money back. However I realise that wifi in a country like Cuba isnt going to be like we would find in England and that this is part of the territory. Just a word of warning for anyone thinking of getting the wifi :)

A big thank you to all the staff at Melia CSM, we hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear friend from England:
It has been a pleasure to acknowledge, through your review, that you have had a pleasant stay at Melia CSM. It looks like you have not only relaxed but also had some real fun. We heartily appreciate your ideas regarding the services received from our restaurants and we will pass on your comments to the staff and keep on working in the improvement of their performance. Regarding what you said about the room conditions, corrective measures will be taken for such inconveniences not happening again.
It will be very nice to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned home from our first visit to Cuba and Melia Cayo Santa Maria .Have to say the most outstanding thing for us was the staff here .They are always happy to help and go out of there way to do so .As we didn't speak Spanish it was great to know we weren't a bother to them and helped us where and when they could. The rooms were lovely and our chamber maid was excellent and left us a lovely towel display every day also flowers and a lovely letter when we left .Although we didn't try any of the restaurants we were quite happy with the buffet lounge.There was plenty to choose from for breakfast and evening meal .We aren't fussy eaters so were happy with the choice and it was cooked well.For lunch we used the barbecue restaurant near to the beach .This was great .You could have the barbecued meat or fish ,calamari ,chips ,salad etc. As for the beach well what can you say to something so perfect .Never spent so much time in the sea ,it was like a warm bath and sand was so soft too. There is plenty to do if you want to join in but if you want a relaxing break as we did you couldn't ask for more . Many thanks again to our great " waterman" who was always smiling and kept us stocked up and again to our chamber maid for the lovely letter that made me cry. Also to Arel who spoke perfect English and we think a credit to this hotel .A very mature and respectful young man .The catamaran trip is well worth doing too .The hotel wasn't full while we there as it was low season but the entertainment was still ok too .yes mosquito's are a pain but it's something you have to get over just take plenty of repellent . Over all a great stay for us .

Room Tip: Rooms nearest to beach are much more quiet and first floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Dave E

Thank you so much for your review. We heartily appreciate your sharing with other travelers your experience at Melia Buenavista and making such positive comments on our services and staff. Feedback from our guests is crucial in the process of orienting our efforts towards excellence so; we will share your review with all our staff so they keep motivated to provide their usual warm and professional service.
We hope you honor us with a second opportunity to serve you and provide you another memorable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just returned from our vacation at Melia Cayo Santa Maria. Our Family enjoyed to stay at this resort. We enjoyed the beautiful beach and great food, you definitly have to try the French restorant. The entertainment is exceptional - almost every night we went to watch amazing performances and choreography, as well as magic shows. We loved the rooms, the pool activities and live music in the bar and restaurants at night. And we greatly appreciate the friendliness and enthusiasm of the entertainment team of this 9 people.
Orlando, Junior, Arel, Lazaro, Dayke, Yuniel, Ernesto, Denis, and David they are AMAZING! This Hotel have a great customer service. Thank you for make my vacation so Special ! we'll come again.

Room Tip: Any room is good, they are super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gisela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guests:
Thank you so much for reviewing your experience at Meliá Cayo Santa Maria.
It feels really good to receive such nice comments regarding our resort.
We are committed to keep on working in the improvement of our services and staff performance, Most of our clients keep a very good opinion about our entertainment team; they really do a great job. I am sure your next vacation with us will be even more pleasant.
Hoping to be able to serve you again in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ok so lets start with the negatives Cuba has had a very long embargo and some of the food was not top notch but i sort of expected that, that said its by no means terrible either and because there are a number of places to go and eat its not a huge problem. Thats it ! Now the positives of which there are many. Our party of six went in what was the off season and supposedly the rainy season, we were obviously very lucky because a couple of short thunder storms aside we had glorious sunshine averaging 35deg. Now the reviews on trip advisor all praise the beach and quite right too. In fact it is better than you can describe, but i will try. It is the bluest, clearest warmest softest sanded beach there is,it is jaw droppingly nice and in our case almost empty to. A real wow. The rooms are not five star but very nice , a bit musty smelling at first but this is due to the constant humidity around not cleaning which was great air con fine too. On the subject of room service , the chalet staff ( men as well as women) were fantastic, towel art well stocked mini bar and more. We went out one evening and came back to find our room festooned with flowers and chocolates with a note saying we wish you sweet dreams, now thats the extra mile! Also birthday cards were seen up in our room and sparkling wine was then produced for the evening, again above the call of duty!The drinks at the resort were all very good in fact the best i have had on an all inclusive resort. The margaritas especially good and i consider myself a bit of a snob with that drink! Again if get to know the bar staff and the waiting staff, which is easy because they are so nice and you will wait for nothing, i cannot praise the staff enough, look after them melia they are an asset.The grounds are lovely with great wildlife including the best looking lizards around. Cats are all over the place but are not a problem if you do not like them as they find the ones who do! Did the cat trip and its good value so all in all very very good. well done to all , very good memories of the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emlyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Emoframs

We heartily thank your taking the time to write such detailed review on your experience at Melia Buenavista. We are sure a lot of travelers will, as well, appreciate it.
We feel honored by your kind compliments which make us feel much rewarded.
We have been working on some of our not -so- strong points (as mentioned in your comments) with the sole aim of being better prepared to meet our guests’ needs. Regarding the food I´d like you to know that during your stay we brought all our Head Office´s Executive Chefs in order to correct all the issues that may cause dissatisfaction and also to implement some new procedures and services. In the end I may say that we have achieved some noticeable improvements, and we are still planning some more changes. For instance, we have got to present more than 100 items to choose from every day at our restaurants and we are about to start introducing some special theme nights with dishes from different etnias such as Oriental, Mexican, Italian, Spanish, Cuban, etc..
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The resort isn't too big, but it has everything you need for a relaxing beach vacation. The beach is just stunning, the rooms are big and clean. The minibar is included, which was a plus. The restaurants you need to book in advance are very good (we likend the italian). On the beach you can use cayacs, pedolinos ... everything that doesn't have an engine.
Oh, the bad thing are mosquitos! Mosquitos cubanes cabrones as my friend named them :) They are very actice in the morning and in the evening so don't forget a liter of repelent - but that is not the hotels fault.
If I could, I would go back right now. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear simona d
It has been a great pleasure to receive your lively review describing your recent stay at Melia Cayo Santa María. We feel honored to acknowledge your experience was so memorable. We also thank all your kind words referring to our facilities and services but, most of all, praising our staff. Concerning your complaint about mosquitoes, we would like you to know that they are a particular characteristic from our own natural environment. We do fumigate this area but we are not allowed to use those chemical that could damage our flora and fauna. So, we always advice clients to bring their repellent and spray.
We hope you visit us again in the near future to enjoy another special vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was worth the 90 drive from the airport. I went in the low season for one week from June 13th thru 20th with my 2 adult children. The resort was half full therefore there were no line ups for drinks, no getting up early to put your towel on a palapa it was just great! Lovely well kept grounds. Great rooms, very spacious (ones overlooking the pool are the best). A/C worked really well. Flat screen TV with good movie channels. Little bar fridge refilled daily with water, soda and beer. Room very clean! It is such a small resort that everywhere is within a short walking distance. The beautiful beach and the beach restaurant are a couple of minutes walk from the rooms. Food was okay for me. The beach restaurant served fresh fish, chicken, peppers, sausages every day. You could never go hungry. Very friendly staff. Spent a lot of time at the beach as it was much cooler there with the lovely breeze. The beach bar is a minute walk or there is also beach service. The water was awesome. Wavy but not dangerous which made it a lot more fun to play in. Lovely sand. If you like to walk the beach is quite long. In low season this is the place to have a family reunion. I have to mention that the mosquitos can be bad (not on the beach) so if you spray yourself before leaving your room in the morning and again throughout the day you will be okay but don't forget your spray. Only watched one night of entertainment which was very good (I was in bed too early). I will certainly return to this resort!

Myself and my daughter had the opportunity to have dinner at the adult only hotel called the BuenaVista. This hotel is about a 5 minute car ride and it is lovely. The service was impeccable. The food was delicious. We were served about 5 different dishes and a dessert. The table was cleared each time before another dish was served. Had a drink in the bar - great ambiance.

Thank you everyone at Melia Cayo Santa Maria for a great vacation!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Working030

We have been delighted with your review. It feels really good to acknowledge what your feeling has been in relation to all our facilities, our natural scenery, and our staff performance. We very much appreciate your having taken the time to share your experience to such extent. The rest of the traveler community must have certainly benefited from the first-hand information you have provided them. For me it was a pleasure to meet you during your stay and for sure you will be very welcome in your next visit.
We heartily hope you visit us pretty soon. We have introduced some positive changes we would like you to try. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
4.5 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,670 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,087 reviews
1.4 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Santa Maria

Address: Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: £111 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cayo Santa Maria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the 5- star All-Inclusive Meliá Cayo Santa María hotel, especially designed for families, surrounded by beautiful beaches and lush tropical vegetation. This property (358 rooms) offers facilities for incentives groups and a special wedding and honeymoon program. A perfect complement for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Santa Maria Melia
Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Santa Maria Cuba
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing