We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Vacation”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We flew to Melia Cayo Santa Maria with Transat Holidays (Canjet Airlines) from 19-26 July, 2009. I have been to Cayo Coco, Holguin x 2 and Varadero so I know the drill so to speak!
We arrived at 23:30 hrs on a Sunday evening. Check in didnt take long and the bell boys were there to drive us to our room with luggage directly upon checking in. Our room was 1917 and was described as a junior suite. Our friends were allocated room 1915 directly opposite us. Unfortunately we had to change our room the next morning because it had a very strong smell of mould. We received room 1916 the next morning and it was fine. No problem whatsoever to change, front desk was very accommodating.

After leaving our luggage in our rooms on the evening we arrived we went to the 24 hour snack bar to grab a quick bite and a cold drink. When we arrived they had a really bad buffet in an island that must have been sitting for many hours and looked absolutely gross!
We asked for a toasted sandwich and were told they didnt have any. At that point after someone else complained they agreed to make mini pizza's. These are always an option at the snack bar (beside the pool) but on this particular evening it was obvious the Chef didnt want to make them. He only agreed to cheese and didnt cook them enough. Although this was not a very good start or first impression it did get a lot better. They just need to be a little more acommodating to the large bus load arriving from Toronto late Sunday evening...... FYI we had pizza later in the week during the day at this same place and it was really great.

Beach is stunning, no vendors to bug you. There was a nice breeze at the beach as it was quite hot. Didnt use bug repellant once but was prepared just in case.

This resort is closing in September for a couple of months to do some renovations to the buffet. They are currently building 2 more restaurants, plans look very nice.
Right now the buffet restaurant is only open for breakfast and supper. The beach restaurant is good for lunch, fish, salads, hamburgers, hotdogs and bbq chicken. The snack bar at the pool side also serves excellent grilled chicken and various pizzas.

There are 2 speciality restaurants and there was no problem trying to go back for a second visit. They have an Italian that was just okay and a Mediteranean - better than the Italian in my opinion - had a nice filet wrapped in bacon.
Buffet was small but good. Great crepes at breakfast and great stir fry.

We are not really into the entertainment but it looked pretty standard from what I could see. Pina Colada's were excellent, made properly in a blender and not in a slush form. Excellent coffee.

Everynight around 6ish the beer man would come around and for a few extra peso's he would give you extra for your fridge. We never had a problem with anything being taken from our room.

We went to the disco on a couple of occasions and it wasnt bad. It depends what crowd you are with and how tired you are from your days events!

We finished up at the pool bar every day and had the pleasure of meeting Ozbiel. He is great. He has a 4 year old daughter so if you are going take him treats for her! He also has small flags up in his bar from around the world. Also, he loves ice cream and appreciates it a lot if you get an ice cream from the snack bar and give it to him.

We purchased VIP lounge passes for 20 pesos for the airport for our return voyage- this was a great idea. You get a comfy lounge with leather couches, spotless bathrooms, air conditioning, drinks, cappucino's, sandwiches and priority boarding.

During the day we would hear the music from Melia Las Dunas and it looked much more lively and we wondered if perhaps we had made the wrong choice as our resort was quiet. When travelling back we heard quite a lot of negative reports on Las Dunas because it was so crowded.

We met some wonderful friends and have some wonderful memories. I would definitely go back again. At this resort it is Adult only. You have the option of quiet time and you also have the option to have drinks and socialize at the pool bar and in the disco if you desire. It will be awesome when the new restaurants open up.

One last tip - if you need a late check out (we had a 2230 return flight and were picked up at 6pm) - go online and apply (free) for a MAS Loyalty Card. You can print out a copy of your card at the end of your application and it will have your name and number on it. This will get you a 4pm check out on your day of departure free of charge. If you dont have this card it will cost you $35 pesos.

We did use the Spa at the resort for massage and pedicure. It was a nice treat and pretty reasonable.



I hope this will help you out. This is the first time I have written a review but have found others very helpful when trying to decide where to go.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank carolinechristie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S M, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 May 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, by the sound of it you had a great time!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope to see you back soon, here at your second home, Melia Cayo Santa María!

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,686
    1,414
    644
    328
    200
See reviews for
906
2,099
155
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We were at the Melia June 26th, and we had a good time. It was extremely humid and that kind of ruined it for us. We were dripping wet at all times, and during the day the heat with the humidity was so intense that it made us feel sick. The resort is beautiful, so is the beach. The food is not the greatest, but at the beach restaurant it was good. Lots of flies, mosquitos we were eaten up alive. Our repellent didn't do the trick but were advised from other travellers to use the cuban repellent which we bought there. The staff were very nice, but if you don't tip right away you don't get service either. We probably won't go back because we like a resort that is right on the beach this one is a ways back. There are three board walks to the beach depending where your room is. It would be best to go this resort in the winter months when it is a little cooler. We met alot of nice people and enjoyed it even though it was too hot. The pool area is beautiful too. There weren't too many people there as it is low season so the beach is yours and so is the pool. No looking for loungers or anything. The buffet is closes at noon. There is a 24 hr restaurant and the beach restaurant. There is a beach bar too.
I've being sick since returning home with an intestinal virus which in reading other reviews some others had this problem too. I am now on anti-biotics because this virus is persistant. So be careful while there in eating the food etc,
All in all it is a nice place but not our style. The place is clean, nice rooms etc, so go give it a try you might like it.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny45692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S M, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 14 May 2016
Dear customer,
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your vacations and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. First of all we would like to apologize for the dissatisfactions you encountered during your stay, we are going to pay close attention to all the negative remarks you have written in order to prevent similar events in the future.
We hope to welcome you and your family in the future to offer you an amazing holiday as expected.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Was there for the week of Jul. 5 - Jul. 12. This is my 4th visit to Cuba and definately the worst. For some reason, most of the people were ignored at the bars and the restaurants. We saw a family of 4 leave the restaurant after sitting for 15mins w/o any service. Bartenders will not know how to make most of the cocktails and will try to avoid you without any tips. If you have a party over 4 please look for another resort, we were told to split up for dinner because they were too lazy to put tables together for us. I mean, for a 4.5star... I've been to 3stars in Cuba with better service. Also, there were no lunch buffet that week... everyone was directed to the beach SNACK bar.....

Entertainment was a joke, I didn't see any of the animation team throughout the whole week other than during the show at nights.

Overall cleaniness was excellent, have to give credit to the maintainence staff. Pretty much the resort was spotless. BUT the service staff sucked. The resort was only half occupied that week yet when we called regarding a plumbing issue in the morning, the repairman came at night...

Activities were quite interesting.. the scooters were broken and none of the cars were available for rent. If you wanted a taxi for a more indepth tours, you would have to speak with the tour rep... who will then try the best to convince you to join his tours.. LOL
If you intend to remain in the resort, other than the facilties, there aren't any activities during the day.

Overall, this resort is way overrated. On top of everything, 3 of 6 party members got a pretty severe gastrointestinal infection when we got back. Not food poisoning but a virus in our intestines.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEK5Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S M, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 7 April 2016
Dear customer,
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your vacations and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. First of all we would like to apologize for the dissatisfactions you encountered during your stay, we are going to pay close attention to all the negative remarks you have written in order to prevent similar events in the future.
We hope to welcome you and your family in the future to offer you an amazing holiday as expected.
Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Cayo Santa Maria is great. To get there you have to drive for an hour or so on a "terraplen", a road built on the ocean basically... with no guardrails or anything like that, so be careful!!
The beach is amazing, as there aren't too many developments yet and hence, not that many people.
The hotel is as good as you can expect for a middle priced all inclusive. Service and food were good. Only con is the groups of british tourists getting drunk every day. Oh, and the mosquitoes!! don't forget to bring Off!! But the beach is great and I'd think better than Puerto Vallarta - even though I've never been there, as I've heard it feels a lot like Cancun.
So hurry before Santa Maria looks the same way!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S M, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 1 May 2016
Dear customer,
Greetings from Melia Cayo Santa María!
Thank you very much for your lovely review, by the sounds of it you had a great time! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future again!

Kind regards,
Asier Baquero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Most of the staff were very friendly & courteous. The room is clean, spacious & nicely decorated. Although it is 90 minutes of travel from the airport, this resort is really good for relaxation because it's isolated. I went deep sea fishing with friendly people that I met & we caught a big mackerel & barracudas. I will definitely go back to this resort again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gamblingfello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S M, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 1 May 2016
Dear customer,
Greetings from Melia Cayo Santa María!
Thank you very much for your lovely review, by the sounds of it you had a great time! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future again!

Kind regards,
Asier Baquero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

what can you say,could not fault anything.staff cheerful&helpfull.we went in may to june &had 15 minutes of rain.only1thing to fault& that was the mozzies.still going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S M, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, by the sound of it you had a great time!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope to see you back soon, here at your second home, Melia Cayo Santa María!

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

This was my second time at the melia and was just as pleased as the first time. Saw some familiar faces again. There are some new hotels further down the beach now, but there was no overcrowding on the beach. The melia is the best beach along the strip and very clean. I will be going back this November for 2 weeks and plan to visit Havanah . I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing serene holiday.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmb606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia S M, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 April 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, by the sound of it you had a great time!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope to see you back soon, here at your second home, Melia Cayo Santa María!

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
4.5 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Memories Santa Maria
Grand Memories Santa Maria
#15 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,022 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,598 reviews
1.4 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Santa Maria 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the 5- star All-Inclusive Meliá Cayo Santa María hotel, especially designed for families, surrounded by beautiful beaches and lush tropical vegetation. This property (358 rooms) offers facilities for incentives groups and a special wedding and honeymoon program. A perfect complement for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Santa Maria Melia
Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Santa Maria Cuba
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing