We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - can't wait to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing - can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We just got back from The Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria and my husband and I had an absolutely amazing time! I have never been to Cuba and was worried about the quality of the hotel/food etc, and I was pleasantly surprised! We went to check out the neighbouring hotels (Memories and Husa) and we couldn't wait to get back to The Royalton! We kept saying how lucky we were to have booked this place and how disappointed we would have been at any other place! It is a true 5 star!

If you're looking for a peaceful, calm and restful place, this is for you! The hotel just opened in December. It runs very smoothly and has modern decor and it's very clean. Very elegant and classy. The pools are very nice. The Royalton offers restaurant meals rather than buffet meals (your butler ~ yes you're assigned a butler, believe it or not, will book all your restaurant reservations). They offer a "turn down" service every night and leave two chocolates on your pillow. The food is good, but the only complaint that I can make is that sometimes it wasn't hot (i.e. the bacon at breakfast). Loved our nightly cappuccinos in the Royalton Cafe, while the pianist played before going to our dinner reservation! While at one of the restaurants once, I asked for something, and the server replied, "Anything is possible". WOW, now that's what I call great service! The staff is wonderful and all are very friendly and kind!

As a guest of the Royalton, you're able to use any of the facilities/restaurants offered at the Memories resorts (5 min walk or a short ride on their golf cart). We enjoyed the Mediterranean Restaurant and the Italian Restaurant located at the Memories Resort (your butler will make reservations for you) - Do not waste your time on any of the buffets offered there...nothing is as good as the food offered at the Royalton a la carte (Sunset Grill, Senses or Eggsellence).

The beach is beautiful...white sand, turquoise water. Lounge chairs were plentiful. Shade or sun spots available.

Bus ride there and back to the airport was very efficient and with new air conditioned buses.

This was our first time away without the kids and I'm happy to say it was a big success! Thank you Royalton for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cate4Mississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear guests:

Thank you so much for the generous comments! And for the pictures! We are so happy to see more and more pictures of our guests posted on the site, it always reminds us of how beautiful our hotel is!

We are so happy that you enjoyed our new little gem! Thank you for mentioning the Memories hotels right next door to us as they are of course exclusively included for all of our Royalton guests so they can enjoy any kind of vacation they wish to. Fun or relaxed, we offer everything for every desire! And the answer you received is right: At Royalton, everything is possible!

Our clients are our first and foremost priority and so is their happiness. We are very proud to have been able to achieve this with you!

Thank you very much once again for your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Royalton very soon, or to Memories with the kids! Either way, it will be a pleasure to pamper you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,301
    468
    165
    39
    14
See reviews for
203
2,246
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

We went to the Royalton Dec 16 to 23rd and had a amazing time there. We've been to many other 5star resorts in Mexico, Dominican and Jamaica but this stood out by far as our most favorite. The staff and service is incredible. It is a nice change to be served in a restaurant by those who are professionally trained to do so. What a big difference from the rude unkept servers in Toronto!
The resort is well kept. Our room was immaculate. We turned off the ac. And left our balcony door wide open to let the fresh air in.
The beech was the most clear and calm we've seen of all the places we've been. Water is clean and perfect to take a dip in. We spent many days lounging on the beech or playing volleyball with some of the guests and resort entertainers. Our only recommendation would be to get a ping pong table. The resort next door, which you have unlimited access to has one but it's a bit of a walk.
We didn't expect much of the food given that Cuba has a bad rep for it but again we were blown away. It was the best. All meals were a la carte with a different menu every night. Fresh, tasty, and nice presentation. I would like to see a menu with Cuban dishes that we could try.
Bar service was excellent and quick.
Entertainment was superb. We had a show every night with extremely talented dancers and singers who were professionally trained. No Mickey mouse stuff here. It's the real deal. Entertainment in the restaurants was very classy. One night we had a 3 person guitar band playing wonderful tunes. When we went back to our room and turned on the tele it was playing their music video! Royalton truly gets the best of the best.
If you are looking for a low key place that focuses on relaxation and and provides that personal touch of added service and attention to detail this is the place for you. We will definitely be coming back soon. Thank you Royalton!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
45 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear guests:

Wow! Thank you for noticing the little details! Our music bands are famous all over Cuba, it is true! Including the guitar trio (even we were amazed at seeing them on TV!) and the vocalists that are directly from Havana to come and entertain our guests, only the best of the best for you dear clients!

Oh, and we do have a Cuban menu! We serve it every Wednesday night, we wonder if this was maybe the day you travelled so that is why you weren’t able to taste it as it is so yummy! You will just have to come back so we can prepare it special for you!

Your comments were very interesting to read. All of the comments we receive are read and analyzed by all the departments who are honestly overjoyed with all the beautiful comments we have been receiving. They give us so much more energy to keep doing what we are doing and making it even better!

Thank you very much for your generosity. We hopefully will have the chance to welcome you back to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your own little paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My Wife and I Stayed at the Royalton Dec 30th-Jan 6th

WOW, is all I have to say. Our bus just left Memories resort dropping off all the people heading there to start their vacation and sitting back now, I am glad we never booked there. 2300 people compared to the Royalton that only had a little over 100 guests at the time. That place was a zoo. We arrived at the Royalton to be greeted by several hosts. They whisked us in and sat us down on the couches giving us wet towels, fruit, and a drinks. They told us to relax and they would take care of everything. 5 minutes later we were in the golf cart heading to our room. The property isn't huge so its very easy to get around. Once there the two workers showed us our room and where everything was. We were very impressed from the start. We grabbed a few beers from the fridge and headed over to the 24hr snack bar for some food and more drinks. We hung out at this bar mostly cause we loved the two bartenders Yorki and Felix. They made that bar a great time every night. The food here and at all the other 2 restaurants were great. I recommend the Royalton burger. Huge thick beef, toppings with an egg and bacon on top. I think I ate one almost ever day. Haha. The 2 menus at Senses and Eggcellance offer a menu one night and have a different one the next night and repeats back to the first menu the 3rd night. So when booking dinners with your Butler, be sure to book the same restaurant 2 nights in a row to get the different menus. Your butlers book everything for you. Dinners, tours, spa's or whatever other needs you may have. Another nice thing is Breakfast is served till noon. Great for late risers like us. We did the 24hr room service the first morning. It was a little slow (about an hr) but still great food. Love the Lobster.

When headed to the beach there is a guy there who finds you beach chairs and dusts off the sand for you. Plenty of chairs there, so no need to play the towel games. They also come around with fruit and drink orders too. Day beds around the pools you need to get up early if you plan on hanging out on one. They seem to go pretty quick. We love the beach so it wasn't a problem for us.
At night around 7:30 they come and remake your bed in case you had a afternoon nap.

The entertainment is good at night. Saturday nights they do a show in the big pool that you don't want to miss. The other nights they have different bands playing in the lobby. One night we ate at the Italian restaurant (Very good) in the market village (a 2 min walk from the lobby) There are 7-8 restaurants a Disco and venders selling all the Cuban souvenirs. It's not the same venders all the time, so if you see something you like, buy it then cause they may not be back for another week. A Bank and Cigar shop (La Casa De Habano) are there as well. The cigar shop can be really busy at times and they close for lunch for an hour when ever they want, but at least you know you're getting real cigars from a government run store, than some fake banana leaves from a guy off the beach. Though I never got bothered on the beach like you get in Varadero. They only let one person in the humidor at a time to pick out what you want, so heres where there could be lineups because of that. We stopped at Memories resort on the way back to check it out. We grabbed one drink and got the hell out of there. It was like McDonalds playland with kids everywhere and thousands of people. I know it's Christmas break, but we almost tripped over a few kids just heading to the pool bar. Good luck finding the parents to those little rug rats. LOL

Everywhere you go everyone asks you if everything is OK and want to help you with anything to make your stay better. We really never had that before, so it's great to see a resort that has happy workers. This is not a huge party resort, but there are always people in the two 24hr bars hanging out all hours having a great time. Ask Yorki at the snack bar to make you some of his great drinks like the Harry Potter of the Hulk. Our last night we were going to behave and go to bed early cause we had to get up at 5:30am. That never happened because we had to hang out with Yorki one more time till 2am. Best bartender there by far.


Things we loved about Royalton

Bottled beer served in frosted glasses
No Buffet
Adults only
Great beach
Great service
Premium alcohol


Things we missed (But doesn't change our views of the place)

Omelette, pasta and pizza stations (Found @ Buffets)
Just nice to mix things up every once in a while.

If I had to think of one thing this place could use it would be DO NOT DISTURB signs for the doors. Nothing worse then you party late and want to sleep in or you're getting frisky with the wife and the Maid, Butler, fridge stocker or the turndown service is knockn on the door. Be sure to use the dead bolt on the door. LOL

Now go book your trip before it sells out.
Hope you enjoy your stay,
Cheers

Room Tip: Ask for no salt in the Omelettes. Cooks tend to be a little heavy handed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
68 Thank jeeper4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear guests:

What a wonderful review! It was a delight to read about your vacation with us! We remember you well and Yorki says hello! Your comments are important to us! We need to know every little thought you have about our new little gem so we can always work on making it better and better every day!

About the no disturb sign on your door, it was always in your room! For your information and our future clients’, it is the plastic object that is placed in the little square beside the entrance door. It is put there to keep the electricity running in our room. Should you want to use it, you place it where you would put your room key to open the door, and simply place your room key in the little square to keep electricity running! We are very sorry the information wasn’t clear and will make sure that it for everyone as of now!

It is true that the Memories hotels is a different product than the Royalton, and that is what makes us so interesting! You can relax in your tranquil and zen hotel and take advantage of the busy and family oriented Memories Paraiso and Azul where there are more a la carte restaurants and buffets, and different beautiful dancing shows every night of the week! You get a 3 for 1 when you stay with us at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria! That is why we have hotels of different categories in our destinations, so you can take advantage of all the different facets of them all!

Thank you dear clients, from the bottom of our hearts for your beautiful, beautiful review! We are very proud to read your comments!

We truly hope to welcome you once again to your best stay ever favorite hotel, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

5 Stars for sure (based on Cuba standards).
We arrive Dec 25, 2012 and left Jan 1, 2013.
Rooms are spacious, clean and overlook the gardens or the ocean.
No buffet food, sit down meals, excellent wine choices, excellent service. One of us was a vegetarian and the staff accommodated as best they could.
Beach is perfect, white sand, turquoise water.
Butler service, 24 hour room service, 24 hour bar and 24 hour snack...all you need to do is relax...all cares are taking care of.
Adult only, no screaming kids!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
48 Thank JamiemToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear guests:

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for mentioning our vegetarian menu! We forgot to mention that we prepared one especially for our vegetarian guest!

Here at Royalton we live for our client's happiness and always ensure that they get all that they need, not matter what it is! We are recognized for our customer service and will continue to be, as on top of having a wonderful setting, we believe that the service has to be equally beautiful, if not more!

Thank you so very much for visiting us and posting such beautiful comments.

We sincerely hope to welcome you once again to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your relaxing paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drummondville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Who said heaven didn't exist! Congratulations to Royalton for getting as close as it can be! We decided to try it out for 5 night stay as since we know it was opening, we did'nt want to have a bad surprise! The bad surprise was having reserved for such little time! The hotel is perfect! From reception to the beach and all around, the gardens, although still growing are beautiful. The hotel is small with about 100 rooms only, which is perfect for us who do not like huge resorts that need a train to get you to the beach and back! The beach is gorgeous, one of the most beautiful waters I have ever seen! And the fact that is adults only make for such a quiet setting. Animators are there to make sure we don't get bored though, with activities such as walks on the beach, Spanish lessons, stretching and domino playing! Staff and management are super active and run like busy bees making sure everything is working just right! We hope to have the chance to go back again for a longer vacation and hopefully the prices won't rise before too long so. The Royalton will be amazing in a year's time. The hotel has tremendous potential as the new heaven on earth!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
47 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear guests:

We love the tittle of your comment! And the last line! Heaven on earth!!! We are so happy to have left such an impression on you! Wow, what a comment! What a shame that you could only be with us for 5 nights!

Of course we are still working on the last little details which are getting better and better every day! We are happy to report that as of tonight we are starting with 7 brand new menus including a Canadian one which is so yummy!

We seem to notice vegetation this week is radiant, the grass has gotten greener and flowers are growing from everywhere. And that beach! It is spotless, the water sparkles and service is included!!

Thank you so much once again for sharing your comments, they are important to us and we appreciate it so much!

You just have to come back to stay longer at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your new heaven on earth! (We sure like the sound of that!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Although not many reviews had been posted for the Royalton at the time we booked from December 22-29, we couldn't have been happier for choosing this resort for our first trip to Cuba. Staff were very friendly and attentive, hotel room was excellent and the beach amazing! If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, this is the place! Couldn't have asked for more. We would recommend this resort to anyone and we hope to be back to visit again one day!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Andrea1967_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear guests:

Wow, we get a 5-star review from a 15 review contributor! Wow! What more could we ask for?? This is the perfect Christmas/New Year's gift for Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, thank you so very much!!

We love it! Short and sweet and to the point! It is our goal to make you feel like a princess every day and it will happen every time you come and visit us, whether with your other pricess gal pals or with prince charming!

We so appreciate you taking the time to put down your opinion of our new little gem, especially coming from you who has so much travel experience.

We will be waiting for your, whether we are popular or not, and we will pamper you just as much as the first time you came to fairy land Royalton Cayo Santa Maria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe Claire, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We were at Royalton from Dec 15-22, a little Paradise vaca before Christmas and we were absolutely amazed at how well the hotel is running after such little time open! They told us that the day we left had been their 3rd week anniversary and the place runs like it’s been open for years! The beach is truly magical, the water runs from 3 to 4 shades of color and there is lots of shade! Service of beach chairs and drinks is available on the beach and it is cleaned every morning. The food is amazing and what we liked was that there is actually no buffet! An all-inclusive resort with a la cartes only! What joy! There is a small buffet for breakfast with fresh fruit, bread, meats and cheese and you order the rest with the waiters. The hotel is very modern, beautifully decorated; those chandeliers at the Senses restaurants are magical! The service is excellent, from our butlers to the restaurants and bars, although sometimes there is a bit of a language barrier; everybody is so attentive to your needs that it is very easy to communicate! We are definitely going to come back next year and try to get the same awesome oceanview room we reserved.

Thank you Royalton! See you all very soon!

Room Tip: Wow What a place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
51 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear guests:

Thank you for your magical comments! We are truly dedicated to making your holiday the best you have ever had and more!

Our customers reviews are very important to us! We read each and every one of them as they are our key to always improve and give you the best service you deserve!

As for the language barrier, we have to remember that Cuba is a Spanish country, but do they ever learn fast! English is coming by so rapidly! Some clients decided that they would take Spanish lessons as they got home! The caring of our workers goes a long way above the communication barrier so rest assured that not a little detail will be overlooked!

Thank you once again for your wonderful comments! We look forward to welcoming you to your own little Spanish paradise, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
2.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,436 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Address: 05200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton Cayo Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, TravelUp and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing