We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE EVER”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Recently i visited the Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.
I soonest you walk through the door it is like stepping in to paradise.
The sophistication of this resort is by far the best i have seen in Cuba.
The rooms and ground are impeccable.The beach is beautiful.
The food and service is amazing.If you are looking for rest and relaxation this is the place.
All meals are A La Cart, beautifully prepared and served in style.
The director Mr Miguel Del Fraile runs this resort wonderfully, congratulations.
Thank You Mr Mohamad Fawzi for selecting a great team.
D B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DannyBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarD530, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Danny,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you had a nice experience with us and you said that this is the "best place ever".

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director General I General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 3,181 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Dec 4th to Dec 17th 2013

We've been to Mexico 17 times, but this was our first time ever to Cuba.
We had heard a lot of complaints from people about the food in Cuba, and also
that the hotels in Cuba were not as nice as in Mexico. This turned out to be one
of our more memorable trips, we were greeted upon arrival with tropical drinks and
wash clothes, our butler Alex introduced himself to us and gave us an introduction
to the facilities, we had 2 butlers, Alex and Anna, and they were both great !
they would check in with us daily to make sure everything was going well for us and check if there was anything we needed.
We stayed in one of the detached Cabana's which was really nice,
because it was quiet and close to the pool and main lobby. The staff at the Royalton were always friendly and pleasant.
I don't understand some of the complaints on here about petty little things, after all..this is
Cuba, not the French Riviera ! We found the food to be very good, a little repetitive sometimes...but then again, your on vacation, and it was no different in Mexican hotels !
The beaches in Cuba were spectacular ! nicer than most we've seen in the Mayan.
Had a chance to meet the hotel manager Miguel as well, very nice man, always making sure the guests were looked after.
We will definitely be going back !
Mike & Tracey

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review Royalton Cayo Santa Maria. We always love to hear what guests have to say after a visit, and it sounds like you had a perfectly relaxing time here in Cuba. In just a few sentences, you managed to capture the essence of our resort, particularly with the line, “It is a place to relax; be pampered, and do as you please.” We could not have said it better.

I think you’ll find that with each subsequent return to Royalton, it will feel a little more like home. As we learn more about our guests, we are able to more effectively customize their experiences.

We’d love to have another opportunity to put a smile on your face. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to facilitate a return visit.



Miguel del Fraile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was our second time in Cuba, first time 5 star.

We had some issues with housekeeping which we brought to the attention of our butler, Ariel, who took care of it immediately - however these issues should not have been overlooked in the first place at a 5 star resort. Ariel was sure to stay on top of it from then on, which we truly appreciated.

While the a la carte restaurants were a nice change to the usual all inclusive buffet, some variety would be nice. It's a treat to have lobster every night, but if it's overcooked and not prepared properly and you don't eat certain meats, there's not much else you can enjoy for dinner. Also, some variety for lunch would be nice - when the Sunset is busy, the food is not prepared as well as other times of the day. The barbecue by the pool was honestly the highlight of our day - everything was tasty and delicious. It would also be helpful if the menus listed all the ingredients used in the dish - this way there are no communication problems with people who have food sensitivities.

That being said, the service we received at the Royalton is the best we have encountered anywhere. We've traveled to several destinations, and the Cuban people are by far the friendliest and most warm. The staff at Royalton are what makes it a wonderful resort to stay at. From our butler to the front desk to the bellboys to the entertainment staff to the bartenders to the lifeguards to the waiters - everyone was welcoming, happy and truly focused on providing the best guest experience possible, and it made all the difference for our vacation.

The staff went out of their way specifically for us. Due to certain food sensitivities, Ariel and the staff at the Sunset made sure to make special arrangements for us ahead of our reservation one night so that we could enjoy our dinner - a soup was made specially for us, and it was such a pleasant and appreciated surprise. We have never encountered this kind of dedication or accommodation anywhere.

The resort itself is beautiful. The common areas are immaculate and well kept and a wonderful place for relaxing. The lobby was beautiful, and the best place to have a coffee or drink - higher up than the rest of the resort, you always caught a beautiful breeze and an amazing view. The resort is small and accessible, everything is a short walk away and there is always room at the beach and by the pool.


The Royalton is not perfect, but it sure is close. Our stay at the Royalton has definitely ruined all other "all inclusive" resorts for us - the caliber of service, the hotel and the atmosphere is amazing. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had an oceanview room in #5. While the view was stunning, we didn't spend much time in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LinditaJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your honest feedback. We know how important perfection is when you’re traveling for vacation. I would like to personally apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your time with us. These lapses aren’t typical of Royalton, and it’s unfortunate that they did not colored your impression of the resort as a 5 star one.
I can promise you that your next experience will be more in line with our high standards. And I hope there is a next time, because at the end of the day, it sounds like you had a nice and positive visit.
Every future visit will feel a little more like home, with personalized touches everywhere you look. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do at this time, or if I can help plan a return trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Miguel del Fraile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

First of all - it was amazing to be part of the 1st anniversary celebrations! Well done and congratuations.

The staff at this resort are outstanding. Thanks to Noelvis for looking after us on our arrival - this is a wonderful way to check in and be greeted! Both Noelvis and Mario couldn't do enough to look after anything we needed.

The entire team, from housekeeping, bars and restaurants, beach and entertainment work very hard and are what makes visiting your resort an outstanding experience. The quality of food was excellent - particularly the seafood choices. Eduardo - Thanks for the excellent martinis.

Our only concern - was the hardness of the bed. Perhaps an extra topper could be added please.

Can't wait to return! Feliz Navidad to all at the Royalton y prospero ano!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank flamingo_Liz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Guest;

It’s so wonderful to hear from you. Words cannot express how grateful we are to have had the opportunity to host you. It was truly an honor to make your vacations memorable.

It sounds like you experienced a few of our very best offerings. In everything we do, our goal is to create one-of-a-kind experiences. As you found, our staff is absolutely essential in this process, and folks like Noelvis, Mario and Eduardo are really what makes the wheels turn here on property. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to everyone.

I hope you have a chance to return someday, whether for a holiday, anniversary, or even just for a spontaneous getaway. Until then, we will be here anticipating your arrival and preparing to treat you to another signature Royal vacation.

Miguel Del Fraile,
Director General,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had an incredible week at the Royalton (Dec 7 - 14, 2013). Our main objective for this vacation was to relax and we got our moneys worth!! We were first greeted by the friendly staff at the reception, which was by the way, the easiest and shortest check-in I ever experienced. We were then escorted to our room by the very nice and courteous Mario, one of the Royalton's butlers. We had the chance to see him often on the site and he was always so friendly and helpful...thanks Mario! To be honest, all of the staff were just amazing...butlers (Thank you Mario and Ariel), maids, restaurant and bar servers (A very special thank you to Yuller at the Royalton cafe), reception staff....everyone says hello to you....they are always smilling, give great service and are very helpful. I've been to many resorts however this is the very best staff I've encountered. Kudos to Arthuro and his employees!!

The room was comfortable, clean and always had a full fridge (water, softdrinks, beer). The beach is just beautiful and never crowded and no need to get up at 6:00 am to get a palapa, there are more than enough for everyone. The are also 2 nice pools which are never overcrowded.

The food was very nice. Having the opportunity to eat in different restaurants (not buffets) in the evening was very pleasant. My only suggestion would be to have an additional place to eat for lunch. The Sunset snack bar is good however by having another place to eat lunch would give the guests more variety.

Overall, our stay at the Royalton was absolutely a joy and we will definitely be back.

Natalie and Marie (Montreal, Canada)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Talie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We’re humbled by your kind words, and cannot thank you enough for taking the time to provide such a detailed account of your stay.

Our goal is to provide the very best for our guests from check-in to checkout, and, as you noted, those efforts include an attention to detail that’s second to none. From our landscaping to our interior décor, you’ll find one-of-a-kind features wherever you go on property. Additionally, we place an emphasis on hiring the most qualified, professional staff, and we believe that’s reflected in the quality of service in every facet of your stay.

If there’s anything we can do to help facilitate a future visit, please don’t hesitate to let me know. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Miguel del Fraile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have been to many resorts but had never travelled to Cuba, so this was a first for us. We had no expectations of Cuba nor of the Royalton and wanted the hotel to tell us what there was through the experience of being there. Therefore, what is written is what we experienced in our time there.
The rooms were more than adequate with no wasted space yet allowing for easy movement throughout the room by two people. The amenities such as bar fridges, cable television, ablutions and sitting facilities were more than adequate for the two of us.
The staff at the hotel was brilliant. They were courteous, warm, helpful and informative. Nothing seemed to be trouble to them and all things were done with a genuine smile. The dress of all was distinguishing and all were excellently groomed.
The check in process was painless since we were escorted to our room and check in was completed on the bus. The bus ride to the resort was very informative and we learned a bit about Cuba.
Our butler was Lionel, and I have to say the care and concern to make sure everything was perfect seemed like his devotion. The gentleman was always around and anticipated all of our needs. Our dinner reservations for the week were already set but we were always allowed to make adjustments as desired.
Drialise one of the waitressess' friendliness and willingness to engage in conversation was delightful. She speaks several languages and I was surprised when she started speaking to me in Italian. We had a delightful conversation and it brought back memories of Italy.
Dayana at the Eggcelence was a breath of fresh air and I looked forward to her friendly hug each morning.
Management -Again top notch to guests and the interaction I saw with their staff was very respectful. They always had a we can do that attitude and I felt they really meant it when they said, let us know what we can do to make your stay more enjoyable. Miguel was very professional and came to the rescue when we could not reach home through the internet.
While we were there wi-fi cards were in the process of becoming available. At that time there were anticipated shortly.
Food : Because of being a close friend with the ocean , you can find variety of seafood here. The only thing I would add is that at lunch it would be nice to have more than one place to dine as it becomes quite repetitive. Rumour has that this may be possible in the future.
The beach - The beautiful white sand gives you a feeling being in a place of peace and serenity. It is great for walking as the beach has a long stretch and you can walk for quite a distance. The water is crystal clear when there are no waves and sailing is great. I have to mention Dejeremy who was very helpful on the catamaran rides.
All in all, I have to say that we had a wonderful stay at the Royalton and have already booked once again in the month of February. Words can not express what an exceptionally beautiful and serene setting this lovely gem has.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank nunzia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Nunzia24 ,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your visit to our Royalton. We were all so pleased to see that you enjoyed the resort and enjoyed so many of the extra touches and surprises that we love to provide. I have taken special note of your comments regarding our staff members, and have passed along your compliments to each. Thank you for taking the time to recognize their special efforts.

I was pleased to see that you were already booked your next visit! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Miguel Del Fraile,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have just spent 8 days at the Royalton and have been thoroughly spoilt. From the check in to the way our butler organised the evening meals, the experience was exceptional. We found all of the staff to be friendly,smiling and interested in our well being without over intrusive. The meals were very good and the lunchtime BBQ's were great, we also enjoyed the fresh coconuts especially with a tot of rum from the pool bar.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Setter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts on your recent stay. We’re so happy to have been a part of your vacation. Our accommodations and service are certainly in a class of their own, and our BBQ at the pool is definitely a favorite among our guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you back the next time you’re ready for a Cuban getaway.

Miguel del Fraile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
0.5 mi away
Grand Memories Santa Maria
Grand Memories Santa Maria
#15 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
255 reviews
84.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
140.9 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel
Blau Varadero Hotel
#3 of 64 in Varadero
7,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,377 reviews
4.1 mi away
Valentin Perla Blanca
Valentin Perla Blanca
#11 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Sant...
#5 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Address: 05200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Number of rooms: 122

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing