We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Relaxing Stay Best Beach In The Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver , Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Royal Relaxing Stay Best Beach In The Area”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Royalton Dec 11 To Dec 24 2013
Best beach I have seen and the Hotel is on the best spot in the area .
Great service from our Butler's Anna and Alex , they make sure you have all you need, Extra water in the room ,Dinner reservations ,massage appointment's in the little town right next door .
The Food was good for Cuba and Senses was our favorite one , Eggscellence was good for breakfast but a little bright for dinner perhaps they should dim the lights at Dinner .
The BBQ Grill by the Lower Pool was great for lunch time ,Chicken ,Lobster ,Beef ,Fish , Salmon and some nice Rice as a side dish .
Staff was great Yorkis at the Sunset Grill open 24 Hours was the best Bartender so fast and works extremely hard and is such a funny guy . Franco and Lily are great too as the activities team and always smiling. Alex and Andy in the Lobby bar is good as well and the rest that worked in there .
Even the Director Miguel and Assistant Arturo were around to ask questions and make sure all the guests needs were taken care of Can't remember all there names .
The upper pool is great the infinity pool views are superb of the ocean and nice and quite to relax for an afternoon after a great morning beach walk .
The gardeners worked very hard and were always happy and making coconut drinks for you .
The catamaran in front of the Royalton was a great ride Jeremy is a very good sailor and a very nice guy who loves his job Tipped him after every ride.
We had a great maid in Jany and she kept our room very clean hence the tips and gifts we left each day . We had an Ocean view room in block 7 .
Some things they need to work on as its hit and miss day to day .
Towels not fresh every day as in none available , Room towels not always changed
Service at Breakfast in Eggscellence was either fast of Slow depending on the time and amount of people they had to serve , but its Cuba and relax and enjoy the ocean view from the outside eating area at Eggscellence
Steak Knifes might help at Senses when ordering the Beef Tenderloin.
This was my 4 Trip to Cuba and the first to Cayo Santa Maria the others were to Varadero.
I prefer the beach here by far .....
The only draw back is the 48 Km drive on the causeway so you can,t get out to explore that easily , We did do the all day catamaran with dolphins and lunch it was good.
A trip to Santa Clara was interesting. We went to the Che Guevara monument and memorial site that was interesting . Stopping at Remedios and Caibarien to see the culture was great . The workers have to bus in every day from 1 hour to 2 hours each way and work 12 hour shifts its not any easy task . To see how they live its hard and they need tips daily as they depend on these to survive just for the basics.
Jorkie the bartender works 16 hour shifts along with 4 hours of bus travel to and from as he lives in Santa Clara and works every other day !!!!!


Access to memories is included and we walked over there a few times to have a beer but never ate there as it was Buffets and very busy with 1400 Rooms . The Sports bar served the wine in a plastic cup on one night . That's why its way cheaper to stay over there .
A big Hello to all the workers at the Royalton and Happy New Years .
Best Wishes to all your Family members as well !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Terry And Cindy
Vancouver BC Canada

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gerberaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarD530, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Terry and Cindy,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,302
    470
    165
    39
    14
See reviews for
203
2,248
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Vacation at The Royalton from November 29 to December 5, 2013. Traveled with spouse, fourth time to Cuba and we consider this to be the best resort of the four we stayed at. Great resort and could not ask for better weather. Beach clear water, with white sand just breathe taking. Chairs were always available no need to go down early and reserve chairs.

Food was good, lobster, salmon, chicken, calamari etc. What we found was sometimes
the food was too well done even when you requested it to be cooked a certain way.
Loved that this resort did not offer buffet, just order what you like and you tend not to over eat. Sometimes the mixes for your drinks were not available so we had to substitute.

Special thanks to Romelia who was always there to help us with our front desk request (great smile), Raudel (Manager at the Sunset Restaurant) who always came to our table to ensure everything was ok. Our butlers Frank and Yoldy checked in with us daily and made inquiries about our daily activities and requests. Yoldy I still have your poem, thank you.

We were fortunate to be at the 1st Anniversay Party of the Resort on December 1 2013, it was such a great event. For the VIP Pool Dinner we were invited to have dinner by the pool with other couples (2 per table) very romantic. Our server Reydel was polite and very accommodating. (Has a good sense of humor) A very special touch to our holiday

Thanks to the Management Team and staff who were always approachable and for making our stay a pleasant one.


Brampton
Canada

Room Tip: Block 11 is close to the large pool, BBQ, snack bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BlueJays111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarD530, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

Thank you for said that we are the best hotel that you have visited in Cuba, and it is very nice to see that you were celebarting with us our first anniversay.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

A big thank you to all the Royalton staff for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable! It is the exceptional Royalton staff that make this resort five stars!

Miguel and Arturo - We have never been to a resort where we met the Director and Assistant Director! You are both so personable and accommodating! You run an amazing resort! Please share these comments with your staff.
Janet and Orestes - Our butlers! You looked after all of our needs including getting us extra water when we needed it and we were most thankful for Janet when she made sure that we were still able to have our dinner at Eggscellent when our Havana tour arrived back late!
Liset - our maid extraordinaire! Amazing towel art! We wish you and your family the best!
Alex, Andy, and Yulie - some of the many outstanding bartenders at the Royalton! Alex, thank you for the Spanish lessons! And thank you all for all the many laughs we had! We enjoyed every moment! And we loved your exceptional drinks!
Dania, Reybel and the many exceptional servers - Thank you for your personal and personable service! Reybel, the special lobster dinner, Miami Vice and champagne at Sunset made for an evening we will never forget! Dania! What an amazing last night we had with you as our server at Senses! Definitely a memory we will keep for a lifetime! You are so talented and so smart! Alex honestly has serious competition when it comes to the fire show! You are such a lovely person - inside and out!
Franco and Lily - you are so good at your job! Franco, thank you for the Spanish lessons! I look forward to more in the future! Lily, I sure hope you receive your pictures from Colin!
All the friendly pool and beach servers - thank you for doing such a good job - and the great pizza!
All the chefs and everyone else in the Royalton Family - without all of you, Royalton would not be the resort it is!
SALUT ROYALTON STAFF ! ! Merry Christmas and we hope that all your dreams come true in the New Year !

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 409. It was very quiet and had a decent view of the ocean. We could not see an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julia_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarD530, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Julia Doug,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

What a beautiful review of your recent stay with us!! We thank you and we are very happy reaidng that you had "so comfortable and enjoyable stay". It was a real pleasure meeting you and all our staff will be waitig for you with a BIG smile.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Recently i visited the Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.
I soonest you walk through the door it is like stepping in to paradise.
The sophistication of this resort is by far the best i have seen in Cuba.
The rooms and ground are impeccable.The beach is beautiful.
The food and service is amazing.If you are looking for rest and relaxation this is the place.
All meals are A La Cart, beautifully prepared and served in style.
The director Mr Miguel Del Fraile runs this resort wonderfully, congratulations.
Thank You Mr Mohamad Fawzi for selecting a great team.
D B.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DannyBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmarD530, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Danny,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you had a nice experience with us and you said that this is the "best place ever".

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Dec 4th to Dec 17th 2013

We've been to Mexico 17 times, but this was our first time ever to Cuba.
We had heard a lot of complaints from people about the food in Cuba, and also
that the hotels in Cuba were not as nice as in Mexico. This turned out to be one
of our more memorable trips, we were greeted upon arrival with tropical drinks and
wash clothes, our butler Alex introduced himself to us and gave us an introduction
to the facilities, we had 2 butlers, Alex and Anna, and they were both great !
they would check in with us daily to make sure everything was going well for us and check if there was anything we needed.
We stayed in one of the detached Cabana's which was really nice,
because it was quiet and close to the pool and main lobby. The staff at the Royalton were always friendly and pleasant.
I don't understand some of the complaints on here about petty little things, after all..this is
Cuba, not the French Riviera ! We found the food to be very good, a little repetitive sometimes...but then again, your on vacation, and it was no different in Mexican hotels !
The beaches in Cuba were spectacular ! nicer than most we've seen in the Mayan.
Had a chance to meet the hotel manager Miguel as well, very nice man, always making sure the guests were looked after.
We will definitely be going back !
Mike & Tracey

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review Royalton Cayo Santa Maria. We always love to hear what guests have to say after a visit, and it sounds like you had a perfectly relaxing time here in Cuba. In just a few sentences, you managed to capture the essence of our resort, particularly with the line, “It is a place to relax; be pampered, and do as you please.” We could not have said it better.

I think you’ll find that with each subsequent return to Royalton, it will feel a little more like home. As we learn more about our guests, we are able to more effectively customize their experiences.

We’d love to have another opportunity to put a smile on your face. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to facilitate a return visit.



Miguel del Fraile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was our second time in Cuba, first time 5 star.

We had some issues with housekeeping which we brought to the attention of our butler, Ariel, who took care of it immediately - however these issues should not have been overlooked in the first place at a 5 star resort. Ariel was sure to stay on top of it from then on, which we truly appreciated.

While the a la carte restaurants were a nice change to the usual all inclusive buffet, some variety would be nice. It's a treat to have lobster every night, but if it's overcooked and not prepared properly and you don't eat certain meats, there's not much else you can enjoy for dinner. Also, some variety for lunch would be nice - when the Sunset is busy, the food is not prepared as well as other times of the day. The barbecue by the pool was honestly the highlight of our day - everything was tasty and delicious. It would also be helpful if the menus listed all the ingredients used in the dish - this way there are no communication problems with people who have food sensitivities.

That being said, the service we received at the Royalton is the best we have encountered anywhere. We've traveled to several destinations, and the Cuban people are by far the friendliest and most warm. The staff at Royalton are what makes it a wonderful resort to stay at. From our butler to the front desk to the bellboys to the entertainment staff to the bartenders to the lifeguards to the waiters - everyone was welcoming, happy and truly focused on providing the best guest experience possible, and it made all the difference for our vacation.

The staff went out of their way specifically for us. Due to certain food sensitivities, Ariel and the staff at the Sunset made sure to make special arrangements for us ahead of our reservation one night so that we could enjoy our dinner - a soup was made specially for us, and it was such a pleasant and appreciated surprise. We have never encountered this kind of dedication or accommodation anywhere.

The resort itself is beautiful. The common areas are immaculate and well kept and a wonderful place for relaxing. The lobby was beautiful, and the best place to have a coffee or drink - higher up than the rest of the resort, you always caught a beautiful breeze and an amazing view. The resort is small and accessible, everything is a short walk away and there is always room at the beach and by the pool.


The Royalton is not perfect, but it sure is close. Our stay at the Royalton has definitely ruined all other "all inclusive" resorts for us - the caliber of service, the hotel and the atmosphere is amazing. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had an oceanview room in #5. While the view was stunning, we didn't spend much time in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LinditaJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your honest feedback. We know how important perfection is when you’re traveling for vacation. I would like to personally apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your time with us. These lapses aren’t typical of Royalton, and it’s unfortunate that they did not colored your impression of the resort as a 5 star one.
I can promise you that your next experience will be more in line with our high standards. And I hope there is a next time, because at the end of the day, it sounds like you had a nice and positive visit.
Every future visit will feel a little more like home, with personalized touches everywhere you look. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do at this time, or if I can help plan a return trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Miguel del Fraile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

First of all - it was amazing to be part of the 1st anniversary celebrations! Well done and congratuations.

The staff at this resort are outstanding. Thanks to Noelvis for looking after us on our arrival - this is a wonderful way to check in and be greeted! Both Noelvis and Mario couldn't do enough to look after anything we needed.

The entire team, from housekeeping, bars and restaurants, beach and entertainment work very hard and are what makes visiting your resort an outstanding experience. The quality of food was excellent - particularly the seafood choices. Eduardo - Thanks for the excellent martinis.

Our only concern - was the hardness of the bed. Perhaps an extra topper could be added please.

Can't wait to return! Feliz Navidad to all at the Royalton y prospero ano!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank flamingo_Liz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest;

It’s so wonderful to hear from you. Words cannot express how grateful we are to have had the opportunity to host you. It was truly an honor to make your vacations memorable.

It sounds like you experienced a few of our very best offerings. In everything we do, our goal is to create one-of-a-kind experiences. As you found, our staff is absolutely essential in this process, and folks like Noelvis, Mario and Eduardo are really what makes the wheels turn here on property. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to everyone.

I hope you have a chance to return someday, whether for a holiday, anniversary, or even just for a spontaneous getaway. Until then, we will be here anticipating your arrival and preparing to treat you to another signature Royal vacation.

Miguel Del Fraile,
Director General,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
2.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Address: 05200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton Cayo Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing