We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Cuba!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Heaven in Cuba!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Following 8 days travelling round the hustle and bustle of beautiful Cuba, this was the perfect rest place.

From the moment you arrive, with a great welcoming drink, the Royalton oozes quality and refinement.

The layout and styling of the Royaton are first class and obviously something that they take great care of. Every building, pool and public area are well maintained and spotless. A haven to relax into.

Our room was one of the standard ones, in a normal build complex and was perfect. Everything worked and was well stocked. Room cleaning and service was again, first class.

There are a range of activities that happen every day and we quickly got into a routine of Yoga, beach volleyball and Spanish lessons. Special mention here has to go to Frank and the volleyball coach as they offer great and friendly service and really go the extra mile to ensure that guests are having a good time. Frank surely is destined for great things here at the Royalton. The yoga classes were taken by both Frank and Lilly and were excellent.

The beach area of the resort is also perfect and well run by the team at the beach bar. All of the bar staff and the chef are a credit to the Royalton and the food and drinks were all perfectly presented.

If you are thinking of visiting this area of Cuba, please do not consider anywhere else. This was our first time at an all inclusive resort and it was perfect. From the very visible manager all the way through to the cleaning staff, this was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richnkirst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts by Blue Diamond hotel and resorts, and thank you for choosing our hotel in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

It is fantastic to see how you enjoyed your stay with us calling our hotel: "Heaven in Cuba" and being a "Top contributor" for tripadvisor.com Thank you so much!!

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,301
    470
    165
    39
    14
See reviews for
203
2,248
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife Donna and I returned recently from our first ever trip to Cuba. Typically we are Dominican Republic travelers, and were a wee hesitant to actually go to Cuba due to the usual complaints...namely the food, and lower quality accommodations. The Royalton blew those preconceived notions out of the water! The resort itself is quite small, but well laid out. Walking everywhere is definitely not a chore, and it's so picturesque. The bungalows were well appointed, and located to give optimal ocean views, or garden views, depending on the floor you were on. It offers two pools - a multilevel infinity pool right by the lobby, and a larger pool near Sunset restaurant - both are beautiful and the perfect temp. Donna and I tried each pool, but preferred the incredible beach..I've never seen anything like it. White sand, the consistency of flour..and turquoise water...almost bath-tub warm...crazy. Hands down, the nicest we've ever been too. The staff are really top-notch..and genuinely take pride in their work..doing it to the best of their abilities..and ALWAYS with a smile. Most speak some level of English, and are very patient with my rather pathetic attempts at anything Spanish. A few staffers deserve mention, and special recognition in my opinion - Yorgi (Sunset's best bartender and comedian..always willing to make us a new 'Yorgi Special'....Yuri and Sandy...the beach bar's talented mixologists. Yuri can make a killer Mojito...and became a good friend too. Osvaldo - all around great guy..even though this 26 yr old tried to convince us he was 43 for some reason.. :) Roland and Franco..two more guys that made our stay great. I'd love to ask the management to make special mention of our appreciation to all of them, from BUNGALOW 6! The food and service in most restaurants was superb...but Eggselence and Sunset both stand out in my opinion. Senses is the hot ticket, but didnt really deliver on either food or service - it was just okay.

Having traveled a bit..I can honestly say that a truly great resort vacation, is made great, by three things: The resort itself, the staff there, and the friendships you make. Based on those three things, this is the best vacation Donna and I have ever had...truly. Everything I've already mention notwithstanding...we made some lifelong friendships, within our first 10 minutes at the resort. James and Shauna, Ryan and Amanda, who together with us made the core of Bungalow 6, as well as Lane and Kendra..changed our lives in a way. Lane and Kendra are getting married at the Royalton next May, and we're all returning (hopefully!) to celebrate with them...along with a few pool parties this summer. Ironically..most of us live pretty close to each other..lol. I appreciate that not everyone has had that type of experience, but the Royalton just may be the place for it to happen. The resort's size lends itself to new friendships.

We cannot wait to return next May. I hope you'll take my advice, and do not hesitate to book a vacation at this beautiful resort!

Room Tip: Bungalow #6 - We were in 609 - offers a great ocean view. Its considered a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Darren H,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you had an amazing vacay at the Royalton Cayo santa Maria. Thank you for share with us the names of the workers who looked after you during your stay and make your stay unforgetable.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Royalton from May 25th until June 1st. We were not disappointed the second time around. A lot of the staff remebered who we were, which felt nice and was very welcoming. We didn't get the same butler as last time who was Noelvis but he sure remembered who we were and he went out of his way to assist us in any way, he even surprised us with a bubble bath with flowers in it. Next time we go back, we'll definitely be requesting him again. All the entertainment staff (especially Frank) are awesome. Our main Yuliet was so sweet. She even left us a little gift with a note the day we were leaving. Very nice touch. Management is always present asking how everything is and if you need anything. There's no words to say how nice it was to be back at the Royalton. We have found our paradise and will back for a third time very soon!! Thank you to all the staff who work so hard everyday!

See you all soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradise1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for trsut in our company Royalton luxury resorts and thank you for choosing our hotel in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading than in your second stay with us you had "another amazing trip in Royalton Cayo Santa Maria" Thank you!!

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Fantastic relaxing week away from everything & everyone!
If you HAVE to have internet it was ~ 6CUC for 1hour. But you could spend 15min of that getting connected - try early morning or late in evening.
Adults only - ranged from 30 to 70yrs
Only 120 rooms so you got to know people in the pool and by the bar to chat with.
2 pool areas - one for quiet and one for the more boisterous if wanted. You are NOT dragged into pool games and silliness - the intent of this resort is to relax.
Both pools have a fully stocked bar with excellent service - waiter service if wished for.
Beach - glorious!!! Comfy loungers with palm frond umbrella's. Beach bar and waiter service if wished for. BBQ at lunch was great - both at pool and on beach.
Entertainment team - Lianny & Frank - great team, offering salsa lessons, spanish lessons, books to read and games if you want them. We would go back to Royalton just to see Lianny, we fell in love with her enthusiasm and fun.
Butler service is nice - Lester was an absolute gem! Would request him again. Booked all our dinner reservations and changed as requested, even to an adjoining hotel. He also arranged for a taxi service to take us and another couple for the day into Santa Clara and surrounding towns. On our last night he prepared a bubble bath with hibiscus flowers and a bottle of wine - as a surprise after a day by the pool . Thank you - again!! He was always there offering his services but was never intrusive at all. Our other butler Anna was harder to find.
Sunset bar is open 24/7 for food and drinks as well as room service. Bar staff were great especially Jorge, Yorkie and Yillian (?sp)
Maid service was also great - thank you Diamy for the lovely towel and flower art arrangements. Our room was always lovely and clean.

Negatives:
Food - repetitive menues. But this is Cuba and not everything is available all the time. All cooked fresh for you and well presented.
90min to 2hr drive on an A/C bus from airport to resort - be aware of this before you book - if you suffer motion sickness - take some Gravol !
Do NOT go in May or June - this is the rainy season - tho usually at night so doesn't affect your day time but the mosquitos are brutal and severely restrict evening activity to indoors. Repellent doesn't seem to work either, and Royalton does not spray the resort in a chemical repellent.

Tips - hospitality staff are appallingly paid by our N American standards, they survive on our tips, please be generous. Expect to drop $200 in a week. Unlike other countries - they do NOT expect it but are very grateful for it.
Suggest you take gifts with you. If you have kids with clothes/shoes they have outgrown - take them with you. Beauty supplies, perfume/aftershave and tampons are very expensive so take if you can. Even the free samples you get from drug stores.
They have no access to US toys such as Disney, so if you have anything extra your kids dont "need" or want please give them away, the staff are do happy to receive.
Remember the grounds crew & security who work all day in the boiling heat to keep the resort attractive and safe - cash or clothes such as a T shirt you don't wear anymore, or even promo shirts you have piled up someplace from work :-)

Enjoy

Room Tip: Avoid Bungalow 9 - not clean at all. And have heard this from a few people. Cabana's are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ruth T,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We have read carefully all your suggestions about the food and we will work in order to improve our services and quality.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Royalton from May 17th - 24th, 2014, to celebrate my "milestone" birthday (May 23rd), as well as my brother in law's birthday, the day before.
What can I say, other than FANTASTIC work from ALL. This resort really does go the extra mile to make your stay (and your special day), the best it can be.
An exceptional THANK YOU to our Butler (Bungalow 1) - Noelvis who arranged all the "surprises" throughout the week for both of us, from room doors being decorated, to the popping of Sparkling Wine in the restaurants, to just being there when we needed him.
My best friend and her husband surprised me on the Monday (May19th), and the lady at the front desk was exceptional in getting their room in the same bungalow as us. Thank you so much!
A special Shout Out has to go out to our server in "Senses" (both nights) for the "Flaming Birthday Cake" show. She was amazing (sorry I don't remember her name - blonde hair and always smiling)
This resort was fantastic! The people (everyone) were very friendly, and always willing to help! The grounds are kept beautifully manicured, and the beaches were second to none ( A1) and every night the Entertainment was something to look forward to.
We definitely want to say a hello to: Daimay (by the pool), Alberto (Eggselence/Sunset Grill) (Steve says HI) and all the servers in the Cafe Royalton - You made our time at the Royalton exeptional and we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms in Bungalow 1 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfanzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you had a perfect "Milestone birthday" in our hotel and you liked our attentions for such an important day.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went with a party of 11 people celebrating our friends 25th anniversary. What a beautiful resort! We loved the bungalow concept! The gardens and flowers were gorgeous. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. A big thank you to Noelvis and our maid in bungalow 2. Lily and Randy and Frank went out of their way to make sure we were entertained. The food was great and the service in all 3 Ala carte restaurants was superb. Our butler Noelvis made sure our friends had a very special anniversary, decorations and a flower bath and flowers on the bed. They also had special songs sang for them. It was everything they hoped for and more. What made this trip for me was how comfortable our room was. The bed and pillows were heavenly. They did run out of a few things but this didn't ruin anything for us. The coffee in the piano bar was to die for. Overall we had a wonderful holiday. Did I mention the beach was breath taking! The service on the beach was a bonus! We will definitely recommend this resort and hopefully return as soon as we can. Thank you for making our holiday one to remember! Tammy and Al Parsonson, Ajax, Ontario

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Tammy G,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you had an "Amazing Cuban holiday" and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommend us and thank you for give us the names of the workers who made your stay wonderful.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We travelled on our honeymoon to the Royalton on May 24th-May 31st. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation! The resort is beautiful, the grounds are immaculate, the beach is gorgeous, the staff is outstanding...! There were a couple of small hiccups along the way...but it wasn't anything that would ruin our experience or vacation. This resort is a hidden gem. And, we cannot wait to go back!

Sunwing & Transfers:
We booked with Sunwing who changed our flight schedule about 3 times, was 1.5 hrs. late on departure to SNU, but 1.5hrs early getting back into YYZ? I personally don’t find that the customer service of Sunwing in Canada very helpful or friendly. However, the rep in destination was great. He had lots of information, and was readily available to answer whatever questions you had.

The bus ride is 90+ minutes, but the lovely tour guide gave us a ton of information about Cuba & the area. She also doubled as a Bartender…selling beer for 2 CDN or 2 CUC (don’t worry, there was a bathroom on the bus). The bus ride back, same 90+ minutes. No beer. Also, it is worth the 25 CUC for the VIP lounge at the airport, unlimited drinks & fresh made sandwiches!

Hotel:
Upon our arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a cool towel & a mimosa. The butlers came around & took our passports while we chatted with the other Canadians who arrived with us. The butlers returned approx. 15 minutes later with our passports, and handed us a welcome package with our keys, a map, and a few other items. We were then taken as a group to our various bungalows. The resort is not very big, so you can walk from the beach to the main lobby in less than 10 minutes.

The gardens are beautiful, the gardeners work hard every day to make sure the property stays clean & well-manicured. All the staff were very gracious & polite. They will always greet you with a smile & a Hola, no matter where they were or what they were working on.

Beach:
The beach is stunning, it is like walking on flour…there are no shells, rocks or seaweed when walking into the water. The ocean is crystal clear, and you can go out quite far before it becomes too deep to touch. We did some snorkelling from the beach, saw a few fish, some jelly fish (no tentacles), and a star fish. The beach was always clean, there were a ton of palapas & chairs.

Julio is the "hobie cat" driver, he will pull up on the beach every morning & take you out for a 20 minute ride. It's included in the all-inclusive package, but we sill gave a small tip for the trip.

Pools:
There were lots of chairs & cabana’s. The cabana’s were mostly taken first thing in the morning, but later in the afternoon there were always a few open. This didn’t bother us, as we are more beach people. Yes, there are a few tiles missing in the lower pool, but they are up where the lounge chairs are situated, so not really a big deal. The 2 times we were in the pool, I found them refreshing, and clean. The upper pool is not as busy, and the water is a little cooler.

Rooms:
We stayed in Bungalow 6, it is very central. Close to the beach, lower pool & snack bar. The rooms are exactly as pictured on the website. Clean, comfortable & fairly modern, the water pressure in the shower was great, and the A/C worked perfectly! We never had any issues getting more water, beer or pop…just had to ask. Our view was of the ocean, over a small tree'd area.

Our Housekeeper for the week was Dayami, she was always smiling & very friendly! Everyday we’d come back to towel art, and a lovely personalized note. Dayami was very efficient, and accommodating. She would ensure that everything was up to our standards, and made us feel like we were at home. We asked for extra pillows, and she stopped what she was doing & immediately grabbed the pillows! Couldn't have asked for better service!

Butler Service:
We had 2 butlers the week we were there, they worked between 8am-10pm each day. We met Alex, the morning after we arrived, we got in late & he had left for the day. He made all of our dinner reservations for us, and left the tickets up at the butlers desk in the lobby. This was the 1st & last time we interacted with Alex, as he was a tough guy to track down. Our 2nd butler was Ariel, he aided us in changing some reservation times/locations, and had a bath made up for us on our last night. I’m not sure the butler service is actually necessary, as most of what we wanted/needed we were able to obtain without much assistance.

I must give credit to Mario, we went to the front lobby & asked for a bottle of water for an excursion. He immediately jumped up, went into one of the restaurants to get one for us. While the other butlers & front desk staff ignored our question.

Senses:
Everyone raves about ‘Senses’, we found that the food was average & the service was a little slow, and lacked attentiveness. Overall, it was a nice experience. But not my favorite. Most evenings they would have dinner music performed by a duo or trio of musicians. They were very professional, and the music was a nice touch to dinner.

Eggcellence:
Had a great selection for breakfast, however I found the service a slow, and the refills of coffee & juice even slower. They always had an abundance of fresh fruit to choose from, along with meat, cheese, cereals & pastries. The breakfast menu selection was quite extensive. Roland was one of the best servers at Eggcellence for breakfast, he’d be the first to make sure you are enjoying your meal & that your coffee/water/juice was full.

The dinner at ‘Eggcellence’ was tasty, the pasta entrées were always fantastic.

Sunset:
We ate here the most frequently, as they offered breakfast, lunch & dinner. The breakfast selection is a little less than ‘Eggcellence’, but still able to enjoy a delicious a la cart meal.

When we would visit ‘Sunset’ for lunch, most of the service was quite slow, unless Octavio was working. He would always clean & reset a table as soon as he saw us, and ensured that the servers were looking after us!

But we really loved Sunset for dinner. We found the serving staff “top notch” and very attentive. Always refilling your water & wine without asking!

We also went to Sunset for a late night snacks & drinks. Yorgi always had music playing, and was the most entertaining and attentive bartender. We made sure to visit ‘Sunset’ every evening when Yorgi was working!

Food Overview:
The food was fantastic! I have a gluten allergy & made sure to bring a card that states what I can’t eat in Spanish. Every server I showed this to, took extra care & checked with the chef in the kitchen to ensure I wouldn’t get sick. Every meal we had was well prepared, and pretty tasty. There were a lot of selections on each of the menus, we never had any issues finding something to eat. And, I think we ended up eating lobster every day! No too shabby :)

Beach Bar:
We spent most of our day at the beach, and got to know the bar staff there. Most of the time you can find Yuri running up & down the beach taking drink orders. When not taking drink orders, he’s behind the bar making them! He is one of the hardest working bartenders I have ever seen…we loved chatting with Yuri, learning about his family & where he grew up. To compliment the beach bar team, there was Sandy & Roland! They are always smiling, joking and saying “Hi” as you walk by the bar. *p.s. be sure to check out the seafood tacos at the beach bar! They are delicious!

Lower Pool Bar:
On one of our first days we went to the pool bar, and met Octavio. He made an awesome Miami-vice! He is such a joker, we had a lot of laughs with him!

Café Royalton:
Every evening we would meet up & have a cocktail before dinner at the Café Royalton. The service was quick, and the drinks were excellent (and strong)! Most evenings they had a pianist playing, sometimes accompanied by a singer. This was a nice place to escape the humidity & mosquitoes before dinner. If you order the Irish coffee, they will flame it right on the bar!

Drinks Overview:
The drinks were strong, never watered down. You will see many name brands behind every bar. I found the white wine was light & easy to drink, but the red was a little acidic.

Each bartender has his/her specialty…be sure to ask what it is, and have them make it for you! You’ll be pleasantly surprised!! If you’re looking for the best mojito or margarita on the rocks, go see Yuri at the beach bar! If you’d prefer a paralyser or a Yorgi special, visit Yorgi at the Sunset bar!

Entertainment:
Every day you would find different musicians playing at each restaurant in the evening, and some sort of band in the main lobby after dinner. They were all very professional. We also ventured over to Memories to see the Grease, Horror & Michael Jackson shows. Well worth the short 5 minute trip via golf cart.

During the day there is a variety of activities from stretching, dancing lessons, volleyball, etc. One of the entertainment staff is Franco. He was always ready to play a match of beach volleyball! We had a couple of pretty competitive games! Franco was also around if you wanted to play dominoes, or darts!

Departure:
The bus to pick us up was about 15 min late, but that meant more time in Café Royalton! When we loaded the bus, all of the staff; Managers, butlers, bartenders, servers, entertainment, gardeners, bell boys, housekeeping, (pretty much 1 staff member from every department was represented) lined up on the steps of the front lobby, put their hand on their heart, bowed & waived to us as we left…total class act!

Overall, we loved our time at Royalton. We were treated like family, and ate like royalty! A big thanks to Dayami, Yorgi, Yuri, Sandy, Octavio, Roland & Franco for making our vacation extra special!
We cannot wait to come back & visit all of you soon!

Room Tip: Bungalow #6 - room 607. However Bungalow #1, 11, 5 & 6 are all centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LV2SURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

What a beautiful review and what a nice title!! "A hidden gem" thank you! It is very nice to see that you enjoyed your stay and you wrote all the names of the workers who made you stay unforgettable.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
2.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,441 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Address: 05200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton Cayo Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing