We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST TRIP TO DATE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BEST TRIP TO DATE”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed from Jul 8, 2014 to Jul 16, 2014.

This was by far the best trip of our lives. We were treated like royalty – literally! Gorgeous resort, spectacular beach + rooms, delicious and beautifully presented gourmet food, lobster/seafood galore, live music at every meal, incredible staff – the list goes on! We spent my husband’s 52nd birthday at this resort and couldn’t be happier with our choice. Upon informing the staff that it was my husband’s birthday, they immediately took it upon themselves to make the day special, especially our dinner at senses restaurant. I mean, what a show! You have to experience it to know what I’m talking about. You will be pleasantly surprised.

I would like to give a special shout out to Dayami, our “camarera”. She is just one of those people that goes above and beyond. She made us feel welcome and is a major reason our stay was so special. I was excited to go back to my room each day to see the beautiful personal touches that she took the time to add to our room. We developed a beautiful friendship in our short stay. She is simply spectacular at what she does.

Also would like to give a shout out to our butlers, Lionel and Lester. Always greeted us with friendly smiles, took care of daily reservations, and on occasion, would surprise us with luxuriously decorated bubble baths + champagne!

Yurien and Osvaldo, from the beach bar, were also wonderful. They too went above and beyond. They made sure we were always taken care of - always made sure our drinks were topped off, even if it meant running to the 24 hour snack bar to get me a coffee refill! We shared stories and had great laughs together. Spectacular staff.

Honestly, the staff make this place what it is – 5 star. I cant wait to go back!
Grace + Manuel Amorim

P.S to the guy who wrote the bad review re screaming kids and no free chairs by the pool - you have the wrong resort! This is an adults only resort that holds max 250 guests. Therefore, very peaceful and quiet (we thought we were the only guests at the hotel at one point), no screaming kids, plenty of free chairs by the pool, etc. You should take down your review.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Bungalow 5 and 6 - the best views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Catia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very grateful for all kind words you write about our staff and your stay at Hotel Royalton Cayo Santa María: “BEST TRIP TO DATE”, "This was by far the best trip of our lives. We were treated like royalty – literally! Gorgeous resort, spectacular beach + rooms, delicious and beautifully presented gourmet food, live music at every meal, incredible staff – the list goes on! (...)"
We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Thank you again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,302
    470
    165
    39
    14
See reviews for
203
2,248
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at the Royalton from July 19th to July 26th, and it was fantastic! From the moment you enter the resort, your are treated like royalty. We were welcome with a delicious mimosa (even at 1am arrival), and check in was very fast! The next day Armando, the Sunwing representative gave us an orientation with all the information needed about the hotel, excursions and other questions.

The beach - I have been to a few beaches, but this is like nothing i have ever seen before! Crystal blue water, white sand and very clean. There are always chairs available, and the bartenders work so hard to keep the drinks coming.

The pools - the main pool was closed for most of our stay. However, we didn't even care as the infinity pool is out of this world. It is the ultimate relaxation spot. Near the pool, there is a bar where we had the most nicest and hard working bar tenders! Also, there is a nice seating area, where there is BBQ cooked EVERYDAY.

The main pool reopened on our last day, which was AMAZING. They had a celebration where all management was present, and made a special toast to the guests. At both pools, getting a chair was never a problem.

The food - I am very picky and a little nervous when eating on vacation. However, the food was delicious! Senses was my favourite! Also, Sunset snack bar is where we went everyday for lunch. Amazing food and great selection - fried calamari, steak burger, enchiladas, pasta, tuna salad and more!

The staff - AMAZING! The managers are always available and walking around daily, and constantly making sure our stay is good. All bartenders are amazing, and make EXTRA good drinks, that were never watered down! Yum! I enjoyed the champagne the most! A SPECIAL THANKS to Lester and Ana, our butlers. They were always near our room making sure we had everything we needed, and always accommodated us with dinner reservations to our convenience. I am always a little anxious and nervous when traveling, but they made me feel safe! There was one incident where a crabito entered our room, but only because the maids change your beach towels at night, and must have left the door opened. Ana was readily available outside our room when it happened (at night) and she helped us get it out! Lol crabs are not a problem, but you might see one crawling around at night. Lol

Also, one thing I must mention is the COFFEE in Cuba. It is the BEST! You must try the cappuccinos at the Cafe Royalton, which are available all day and everyday!! YUMMY!

I love this resort so much, and cannot wait to return! The only downside was the cats, and only because i am a little afraid. But on the positive, they do keep the mice away!

And for the mosquitos, put some bug spray on and you'll be fine!!

THANK YOU ROYALTON!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am writing this review having just returned from a stay there from the 17th of July to the 24th. I would like to warn you not to choose this resort if you want a wild night life, screaming children all day, bland buffet food, a fight for lounge chairs around the pool or a terrible beach. You WON'T find any of these here. Instead you'll find a very quiet and well run resort catering to your every need. The whole staff from servers to maids to butlers and even assistant manager were very courteous and eager to please. Yes the main pool was closed for maintenance during our stay, but we were informed about this before our trip and were given a $150 / person discount for the inconvenience. The only downside of our trip was the slow process at the arrival customs and the 1 hr and 40 min bus ride to get to the resort. If you do get tired of the peace and quiet and ala-carte dining then you are allowed to take a golf cart ride to the sister resort (Memories) next door to try their pool and buffet. They have over 1000 rooms compared to the 102 at the Royalton so you can imagine the difference you'll find. We have been to different resorts in Cuba 9 times over the last 15 years and I must say that this one is by far the best value for the money. SPECIAL THANKS TO: ANA: LESTER: ROLANDO AND OF COURSE MATEUSZ ( The best and hardest working Polish Assistant Manager at the Royalton)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week at the royalton.They have a staff that have a smile on there faces from the early morning till the time there shift ends.They give 100 percent to make your time there a pleasant one.Thank you to our butlers Mario,Noelvis,and janett.To the royalton cafe a good job to Andy and Edwardo,On the beach the waiter/sorry forgot his name and the chef dont stop/.To the front desk thank you to the ladies who our very helpful to make your stay there the best, and to the room manager thanks for all your help..Looking forward to next year ..keep up the great work..

Petrit and eleni Ontario

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Petrit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Petrit M,

Thank you for sharing your 5 star experience with other travellers on the internet and thank you for choosing our hotel in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We thank you for your beautiful comments and we would like to see you here again,

Kind Regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed in a large hotel in Veradero which was very nice but too large for us. We found the Royalton while researching smaller hotels in Cuba and were intrigued by the idea of the 48 km. causeway and the isolation of the island. What a find. From the moment we arrived we knew that Royalton was not an ordinary resort. Miguel, the manager and Arturo, the assistant manager were always visible and always concerned about our well-being. Our Butlers, Orestes and Janet, were not only professional and extremely competent at their jobs but also had wonderful, warm personalities.
I would be remiss if I did not mention Yulier who works in the Royalton Café and makes the best lattes and capuccino's I have tasted. What a great way to start our morning sitting in the lobby overlooking the water with our morning java.
Lisandra, our room maid was so pleasant and accommodating that it was easy to see how much she enjoyed working with people.
We were so impressed and happy with our trip to Royalton that we are going back again after Christmas and have actually convinced two couples to join us.
Thank-you to all the staff at Royalton for a memorable and relaxing holiday.
John and Jill
Picton, Ontario

Room Tip: The garden suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H4356UAjohnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear John P,

We thank you for sharing your 5 star experience with other travellers on the internet and we are very happy reading that you found that our staff make the resort giving you a memorable and relaxing holidays.

Regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Could not ask for more here.Private butler lurks in bushes to attend to anything you may require! Infinity pool, hammocks, plenty of lovely places to eat.We liked all the restaurants.Loved that at the beach someone brushed any sand off your lounger before laying towel down for you.Included boat trip to sail along the bay as often as you wish.All inclusive with al a carte was amazing, mohitos whenever you wish, champagne on beach or for breakfast really was all included.Beach bar delivered to your lounger and if you weren't ordering something just arrived for you to try.Did a great trip to swim with dolphins too was amazing. Went with husband and 3 teenage children 16 to 19 one had her 20 th there. Only thing I would say is many honeymoon and older couples so if you want to meet other people on holiday may not suit for us was fantastic.We toured Cuba first and Guide kept saying we would be in paradise , he was right.Beach clear and very warm see, white sand.Bathrooms even open up to give views, beds huge, service attentive.Not too big either accommodation in smallish groups of 2 storeys only.Overall top marks want to go again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms just in smallish 2 storey pretty buildings so no need to choose all near beach and pools w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 384ClareB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Clare,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with other travellers on the internet.

We are very happy reading that you called us a paradise and you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will share your comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I found what I was looking for:quietness,relaxation and a beautiful environment.
The service was excellent:I always got what asked for.
I definitely will go back for my next holidays...
Marcelo.Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maidsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Marcelo,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
2.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,445 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Address: 05200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton Cayo Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing