We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Melia Cayo Santa Maria Week of February 15th”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Las Dunas
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Melia Cayo Santa Maria Week of February 15th”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week in Cayo Santa Maria with Nolitours and Air Transat. This was our 16th trip to Cuba, however our first time to Cayo Santa Maria. Probably the only area in Cuba we have not visited. We booked a standard room at the Melia Las Dunas. From reading reviews we took a chance, hoping that we could upgrade to an ocean view room upon arriving at the resort. I am glad we did......had we booked an ocean view with Nolitours it would have cost an extra $400 per person for the week. The resort charged us $35 per night for the two of us for the whole week and it only cost us $250 instead of $800. We were given a room in the adult section in building 46, right by the walkway to the beach. The room was nice and spacious with a big balcony on the second floor. The buildings are set a way back from the beach so by no means are they ocean front, but we did have a view of the ocean. The rooms are furnished fairly basic and could use a bit of an overhaul, however everything was clean, the air conditioning worked well and we even had a screen door. The resort is huge and a fair bit of walking is required. We didn’t mind but it is something to keep in mind for people with mobility issues. The resort has over 900 rooms and this was our first time going to a resort this size. We did not like it and found everything to be quite crowded. It was hard to find seating in the lobby bar and we found the buffet restaurants to be very noisy and super busy. We tended to go to the buffet Remedios, which seemed a bit less busy and smaller in size. The beer garden was great and we enjoyed the bottled Coronas.
Before booking our trip to Las Dunas we were also interested in booking the Melia Buenavista. However, by the time we booked our trip it was no longer available. After two days at Las Dunas we inquired at the front desk it was possible to upgrade to the Buenavista. We spoke with the Manager, Yulied. He was extremely accommodating and professional and managed to get us to into the Melia Buenavista. He promised us three nights there with the possibility of having to come back to Las Dunas for our last night, due to lack of availability for that night. We jumped at the offer and didn’t mind packing up and enjoying a much quieter resort. Wow, is all I can say , when we arrived at the Buenavista. It is worth every penny! The rooms are amazing, all with outdoor shower, huge Jacuzzi tub, and butler service. We thought we were in heaven!!! The grounds are amazing , with 3 separate beaches, two pools. We loved the atmosphere and the fact that it was an adults only resort with only 100 rooms. Unfortunately, the luxury was short lived. Later that afternoon the manager approached us and informed us that they had no availability as they received some last minute confirmed guests. At this point Las Dunas was also fully booked and we were offered the Melia Cayo Santa Maria. A much smaller resort with just over 300 rooms. As disappointed as we were, how could we be upset. After all, we did not book the Buenavista and being able to upgrade was just a nice bonus. We were also happy not to have to go back to Las Dunas and were content with the Melia Cayo Santa Maria. Our room was also ocean view and well equipped. Both managers felt extremely bad over the fact that things did not work out as planned and were extremely apologetic and offered us whatever services we needed.
In the end, we both loved the fact that we got to try out three resorts in one week. The Melia Cayo Santa Maria was a little more intimate and quieter then Las Dunas. The a la carte restaurants were all excellent, in particular the Japanese and French restaurant. The service was amazing at the resort. The staff was super friendly and had a great sense of humour. We also found the beach less busy, although more palapas would be great on the beach. We ended up having the priviledge of eating and drinking at both the Las Dunas and Melia Cayo Santa Maria and enjoyed the variety of all the bars and restaurants, taking full advantage of it. The grounds are well maintained and full of greenery everywhere you go.
My husband and I took advantage of the spa and enjoyed the couple’s massage, followed by sauna, steam room etc. The massage we received was a Chinese technique and quite different from what we are used to at home, but very enjoyable. We were the only ones there and we enjoyed the piece and quiet.
We would return to Cayo Santa Maria in a heartbeat, but the only resort we would chose would be the Melia Buenavista! Nothing against the other two Melia resorts, but we just enjoy a smaller resort atmosphere without millions of people on the beach. I guess that was a lesson learned for us!
I would also like to add, that from all the resorts we have been to in Cuba, this one was probably best in terms of quality of food and drinks. One has to keep in mind the limitations that Cuba has when it comes to choice and availability. The resort had no butter for example for the first four days. Some people were quite upset, seriously?? Think about what the Cubans go home to and we complain when we don’t have butter for a few days???!!!
One thing that really bothered us was the attitude, rudeness and disrespect from some French Canadians! Butting in line, being ignorant to staff and what’s with the smoking everywhere??? All I can say is that a little respect goes a long way!!
With this I want to conclude my review. Special thanks to Yudiel (Manager Las Dunas) and Yuri (Manager Melia Cayo Santa Maria and Melia Buenavista) for making our holiday special and ensuring that we had a great time, despite our frequent moves. We had a great holiday!!!

Room Tip: We had room 721 with an ocean view, right by the boardwalk to the beach. Great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PeachyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,892
    2,909
    1,328
    558
    296
See reviews for
2,681
3,184
285
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week in Cayo Santa Maria with Nolitours and Air Transat. This was our 16th trip to Cuba, however our first time to Cayo Santa Maria. Probably the only area in Cuba we have not visited. We booked a standard room at the Melia Las Dunas. From reading reviews we took a chance, hoping that we could upgrade to an ocean view room upon arriving at the resort. I am glad we did......had we booked an ocean view with Nolitours it would have cost an extra $400 per person for the week. The resort charged us $35 per night for the two of us for the whole week and it only cost us $250 instead of $800. We were given a room in the adult section in building 46, right by the walkway to the beach. The room was nice and spacious with a big balcony on the second floor. The buildings are set a way back from the beach so by no means are they ocean front, but we did have a view of the ocean. The rooms are furnished fairly basic and could use a bit of an overhaul, however everything was clean, the air conditioning worked well and we even had a screen door. The resort is huge and a fair bit of walking is required. We didn’t mind but it is something to keep in mind for people with mobility issues. The resort has over 900 rooms and this was our first time going to a resort this size. We did not like it and found everything to be quite crowded. It was hard to find seating in the lobby bar and we found the buffet restaurants to be very noisy and super busy. We tended to go to the buffet Remedios, which seemed a bit less busy and smaller in size. The beer garden was great and we enjoyed the bottled Coronas.
Before booking our trip to Las Dunas we were also interested in booking the Melia Buenavista. However, by the time we booked our trip it was no longer available. After two days at Las Dunas we inquired at the front desk it was possible to upgrade to the Buenavista. We spoke with the Manager, Yulied. He was extremely accommodating and professional and managed to get us to into the Melia Buenavista. He promised us three nights there with the possibility of having to come back to Las Dunas for our last night, due to lack of availability for that night. We jumped at the offer and didn’t mind packing up and enjoying a much quieter resort. Wow, is all I can say , when we arrived at the Buenavista. It is worth every penny! The rooms are amazing, all with outdoor shower, huge Jacuzzi tub, and butler service. We thought we were in heaven!!! The grounds are amazing , with 3 separate beaches, two pools. We loved the atmosphere and the fact that it was an adults only resort with only 100 rooms. Unfortunately, the luxury was short lived. Later that afternoon the manager approached us and informed us that they had no availability as they received some last minute confirmed guests. At this point Las Dunas was also fully booked and we were offered the Melia Cayo Santa Maria. A much smaller resort with just over 300 rooms. As disappointed as we were, how could we be upset. After all, we did not book the Buenavista and being able to upgrade was just a nice bonus. We were also happy not to have to go back to Las Dunas and were content with the Melia Cayo Santa Maria. Our room was also ocean view and well equipped. Both managers felt extremely bad over the fact that things did not work out as planned and were extremely apologetic and offered us whatever services we needed.
In the end, we both loved the fact that we got to try out three resorts in one week. The Melia Cayo Santa Maria was a little more intimate and quieter then Las Dunas. The a la carte restaurants were all excellent, in particular the Japanese and French restaurant. The service was amazing at the resort. The staff was super friendly and had a great sense of humour. We also found the beach less busy, although more palapas would be great on the beach. We ended up having the priviledge of eating and drinking at both the Las Dunas and Melia Cayo Santa Maria and enjoyed the variety of all the bars and restaurants, taking full advantage of it. The grounds are well maintained and full of greenery everywhere you go.
My husband and I took advantage of the spa and enjoyed the couple’s massage, followed by sauna, steam room etc. The massage we received was a Chinese technique and quite different from what we are used to at home, but very enjoyable. We were the only ones there and we enjoyed the piece and quiet.
We would return to Cayo Santa Maria in a heartbeat, but the only resort we would chose would be the Melia Buenavista! Nothing against the other two Melia resorts, but we just enjoy a smaller resort atmosphere without millions of people on the beach. I guess that was a lesson learned for us!
I would also like to add, that from all the resorts we have been to in Cuba, this one was probably best in terms of quality of food and drinks. One has to keep in mind the limitations that Cuba has when it comes to choice and availability. The resort had no butter for example for the first four days. Some people were quite upset, seriously?? Think about what the Cubans go home to and we complain when we don’t have butter for a few days???!!!
One thing that really bothered us was the attitude, rudeness and disrespect from some French Canadians! Butting in line, being ignorant to staff and what’s with the smoking everywhere??? All I can say is that a little respect goes a long way!!
With this I want to conclude my review. Special thanks to Yudiel (Manager Las Dunas) and Yuri (Manager Melia Cayo Santa Maria and Melia Buenavista) for making our holiday special and ensuring that we had a great time, despite our frequent moves. We had a great holiday!!!

Room Tip: We were in building 46 on the adult side, second floor with an ocean view. Very close to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeachyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto J, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear PeachyPeter:

This is an honest review and I need to say that no matter what happened we terribly sorry the situation we faced by the fact of transfer you from Melia Buenavista to Melia Cayo Santa Maria. It was a very bad situation and will be my pleasure to take into my hands your next stay if you want to come again. You will receive a sure upgrade as Yudiel promised.

But at the same time I’m happy you enjoyed your stay, certainly we did all in our hands to give you the best we could, and will be my pleasure to do it again.

Anyway, your comments are a confirmation that a holiday it is all you can do to have a good sense and enjoy every situation.

I will be at your disposal….

Best regards,
Alberto Jerez

General Manager

Melia Las Dunas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just returned from a week at Melia Las Dunas (Feb 15 to 22 -- flying from Toronto). It was a family vacation, though we're all adults -- a group of 7 ranging in age from 27 to 57. Without exception, we were all very impressed with this resort and especially impressed with Cuba itself. None of us had vacationed in Cuba before and had mainly stuck to Dominican or Mexico for previous all-inclusive vacations. We'd mainly done this because we'd heard mixed things about Cuba's resorts and the amenities they could offer. While some of these concerns proved true (food, mainly, but I'll address that in a minute) -- others were completely unfounded. We left Melia Las Dunas already planning to return there next February.

So -- negatives first -- food. If your first priority at an all-inclusive is to eat like a king, then you'll be disappointed. Selection on the buffet is somewhat restricted, though this has more to do with the political situation of the country than with the resort. Our party, however, was never underfed. There was always something available that someone could eat and enjoy. What the resort DOES have to take responsibility for, however, is its cooking and "holding" of the food. Selections on the buffet and at the a la cartes were frequently over-cooked (as though they'd been cooked well ahead of time and then held for quite a while) and -- on the buffet -- frequently cool (as though the warming trays and heat lights were doing absolutely nothing). For me, this was hardest to swallow in the mornings. Cold scrambled eggs just don't seem right...

Having said all of that -- any a la minute cooking we ate was fabulous! The pool-side snack bar, the beer garden and the grill near the beer garden (for lunch only) cooked up fantastic pizza, burgers, BBQ'd chicken and chops etc. So -- adjust your dining expections and you'll be quite happy with the food.

Everything else was, in our opinion, in keeping with Melia Las Dunas' 4 plus rating. My husband and I had purchased an upgraded Superior Room (which gives you second floor accommodation and a few extra perks) and were very happy with its spaciousness, cleanliness, comfort and view. Personally, I think it may be a waste to pay extra for Ocean View as the buildings are set back a little ways from the beach and separated from it by a necessary buffer of vegetation between the resort and the ocean. I'm not certain that any room on that side would give you a TRUE ocean view (maybe a slice?) The others in our party had standard rooms and all ended up on the first floor of their buildings. They were all mainly happy with this, with the exception of my sister-in-law whose room was very musty -- though hers was (oddly) the only one like this. Not positive about this, but from what others in our party said, my husband and I may also have had a better mattress/ pad in the Superior room. Some in our party found their beds a little hard but we had a lovely bed. Because of our ages, we booked on the "Adult" side -- and were in buildings 44-46. The resort is fairly child/ family friendly so if you're not travelling with small children (or don't care to deal with them) this is a good idea.

Pools, pool-bar, bars, alcohol selection, lobby gathering space, gardens etc. were wonderful (in keeping with 4 plus rating). The beach is probably one of the best (maybe THE best?) we've been on. And everywhere, there were friendly smiling staff to greet you and talk to you. Stop to chat with the hard-working grounds-keepers and gardeners. They will struggle with very little English but you'll still have a good talk and they are so giving and proud of the work that they do for the resort.

Our nights were generally spent in the lobby -- where there was always fabulous music and sometimes dancing -- and we'd set up a card game and play or drink and dance with the crowd. We enjoyed the lobby so much that we didn't make it to one evening show, though I heard they were very good. Later nights were spent in the beer garden enjoying talk and laughter with people we'd met through the day(s). There is a disco in the nearby "pueblo" that is, for all intents and purposes, right on the resort grounds though since it's technically independently run it's not listed as a resort amenity. You can walk to it easily (about 7 minute walk from lobby) but, again, we never made it there because we were usually happy with our margaritas and beers at the beer garden.

Extras -- our whole group paid for the catamaran excursion and had a blast! Well worth the just over 100 CUC per person for a whole day on the boat, all food and drink included, snorkelling, some small island beach time, and a dolphin interaction/ show at end. Others in our group paid 75 CUC for a trip into Santa Clara/ Remedios in order to see more historic Cuba and visit a cigar factory etc. Reports were that this day-long trip was also very gratifying.

Quick notes --

Applause to Nolitours/ Transat for being so well organized. We were given our resort bracelets, room designations etc. on the bus-ride into the resort so all we had to do on arrival was head to the bar and then to our rooms where our bags were waiting to be unpacked. Don't let the 1.5 hour bus-ride from airport to resort put you off -- it's a lot of (rowdy, drinking) fun going in and there's lots to look at going out.

Speak and treat the people at the resort and those you meet in your travels with respect. The Cuban people are hard-working and very proud of their acheivements. Treat them as your neighbours and not as your underlings and you will be treated similarly. Tip or give gifts in the spirit of gratitude to a friend -- not as though you are "donating" to someone in need. By and large, the Cuban people do not consider themselves "needy" (though in town, you'll definitely get asked for some pesos by people on the streets).

Do NOT tip in Canadian coin!!! These are useless to the people of Cuba and will force them to have to go around the hotels and airports begging for people to change loonies into bills so that the Cuban bank will exchange them. This is not a nice position for a Cuban to be in. Keep enough CUC so you can tip in CUC -- if you have extra at the end, then exchange it before leaving the airport or keep it to have for your next trip (which is what we did). If you can, help someone out by exchanging some coin into bills for them -- after all, you can always get your coin changed back in Canada.

Spend the 20 CUC per person it costs to get VIP for your Cuban airport departure. Shorter lines AND a separate (very comfortable) waiting space with drinks and food included is well worth the money!!!

Take at least a few items of clothing for cooler weather. During our trip, the temperature was down to "sweater/ light jacket" weather for about 2 of the 7 days. Some in our party were not prepared for this.

Bone up a little on your high-school french! About 50% of the other Canadians at the resort were from Quebec and you'll make some fabulous (and very fun) friends if you can struggle a little in french while they struggle a little in english.

Other than that, have a fabulous time. We did!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dewey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Melia Las Dunas. This was our 8th trip to Cuba, the second at a Melia Hotel, both of which were at Cayo Santa Maria.

Melia Cayo Santa Maria is a 90-minute drive from Santa Clara. It's actually a good opportunity to see how the Cuban people live since the bus ride takes you through the countryside and three fairly large towns. A good chunk of the drive (48km) is on a man made causeway which links Cayo Santa Maria with the mainland.

Last year we stayed at the Melia Cayo Santa Maria, which has about 350 rooms and enjoyed ourselves immensely so we decided to try the Las Dunas which is right next door but is much larger with over 900 rooms. The resort is divided into two sections - one more family friendly (1 - 36) and the other more quiet (37 - 76). The rooms were comfortable, clean and well kept up.

There were lots of chairs at all the pools as well as on the beach, but you had to reserve a seat on the beach before 7 a.m. if you wanted to get shade. The beach is the best in Cuba - white sand, warm water and just enough wave action to keep you happy.

There are five a la carte restaurants (Mexican, Asian, Italian, seafood and the Romantico). We were entitled to four so the only one we didn't try was the seafood one. All were good, though you have to lower your expectations a bit when you travel to Cuba. They are limited with what they can serve and it is not terribly imaginative, but its not for lack of trying. There is a table in the lobby where you can book your a la carte dinners. Do that early so you can get what you want whens you want.

There are two buffets and the they get a bit tired after a few visits, but there are other options including a pizza restaurant, a beer garden and snack bars by the pool. Simple fare, but good enough.

My husband is a musician and we both love Cuban music and there was no shortage of that, from wandering musicians to a band in the lobby bar and in the open area in the main concourse. You are encouraged to get up and join the dance animators and that was a hoot, even though my husband escaped during one especially exuberant "Racka Racka"!

There is a large theater off the lobby bar which presents shows every night at 9:30. I can't comment on their quality because we didn't attend any. After a day of sun and surf we retired early so we could get up at 6:30 and stake our claim on two beach chairs under a palapa.

As for communication with the outside world, there is limited cell phone or e-mail service, though we had text messaging capability on our iPhones, which is really all we needed to touch base with family at home. For diehard e-mailers, there is an internet center in the lobby which you can use by purchasing time.

There is also a bank on site which is the only way to go. Don't waste your time exchanging money at the airport since you won't need any cash immediately. If you want to tip your bus driver, Canadian money is accepted.

Tour operators also offer a variety of sightseeing tours which didn't interest us, but those are certainly an option.

Also, be kind to the folks who work at the resort. They are there to make your vacation special and they make an honest effort. We saw too many people with a sense of self-importance and entitlement causing a commotion where none was necessary. People....you are on vacation! Treat these people with the respect they deserve. A peso here and there to a waiter or bartender isn't going to put you into the poorhouse - neither will a kind word.

We always bring gifts for the housekeeping staff which we leave on the bed when we head out in the morning. Our maid now has a new apron, oven mitts, a spatula, wooden spoons, tea towels, etc., - stuff she probably couldn't buy in Cuba even with the pesos she gets in tips. My husband also brings stuff for the musicians, drum sticks, saxophone reeds, guitar and bass strings. The groundskeeper who made me a flower woven from palm fronds now has a new flashlight with an extra supply of batteries. The gratitude is part of our vacation memories.

So, by and large, our experience was enjoyable. For the first time in our eight trips to Cuba, we had two windy and mostly overcast days but that didn't take anything away from the vacation. However, if I had to choose between the two Melia hotels we have stayed at in Cayo Santa Maria, our preference would be the Melia Cayo Santa Maria, largely because of its smaller size which provided a more intimate, familiar feeling. Mind you, the Las Dunas, gave us an opportunity to walk off all of that food!

Enjoy your trip to Cuba. We are already planning our next one!!

Chris and Chris (yes...both Chrises!)

Room Tip: The best buildings are 46 and 48 since they are closest to the walkway leading to the beach on the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontrealUkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I just got back from a week long stay at Melia Las Dunas, from Feb 15th to Feb 22nd. We found the resort very nice. The food was great, there was a lot of selection. I would recommend going early for breakfast because they start to run out of things by 8 30-ish. The snack bars by the pools are great for lunch. Overall we were very happy with the resort and would definitely go back. We had a few issues, which were fairly minor but I will mention anyways:
1.The first night we got there we had no electricity in the whole building, but they had it resolved in about 30 minutes. This wouldn't have been a problem except that we arrived around midnight and couldn't settle in at all.
2. They told us they would bring the luggage immediately, and we didn't received ours for around an hour. It was just frustrating because we could have grabbed it ourselves but they told us it would be there within a few minutes so we left it. Again, it was only a real problem because we arrived so late, and we couldn't get ready for bed even after we had gone and got a drink.
3. We got poor service in the lobby bar around peak hours. I would recommend the beer gardens at night instead, the service is faster but it is a bit more quiet then the lobby bar
4. We had five geckos in our room throughout the trip. This may not bother some people, but we couldn't just let them be, so we spent a bit of time trying to remove them on all different occasions.

Again, overall a great resort and I would return. Good food, great atmosphere, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Melia Las Dunas Jan. 26 to Feb. 2 for our anniversary and we had such an amazing time! We would return in a heart beat. Yes the resort is massive but we didnt mind the walking due to all the yummy food we were eating, we enjoyed exploring the resort by foot!
Prior to departing I emailed the hotel to request a second floor room and to let them know it was our anniversary but I didnt set my expectations high that we would be accomodated. To my great surprise i received a response promptly stating that they would do their best to fulfill my request. I still wasnt expecting anything but I thought what the heck, worth a shot right. When we arrived we found that they had honored exactly what i had asked (2nd floor room on the adult side near the pool 4th block) AND had pre booked our a la carte dinners AND invited us to a very sweet "Honeymooners Cocktail Gathering". They way exceeded our expectations and I wish I could have found out who the manager was during our time there to thank him so much (so if you are reading this we want to tell you how much we appreciate the effort made to make our stay that much more enjoyable!!! Thank you so kindly!)

On to the rest:

We enjoyed 4 lovely a la carte dinners at the Mexican, Seafood, Romantico, and Japanese restaurants. Romantico being our favorite but we enjoyed them all. We never had trouble finding food we enjoyed at the buffet either. The pasta station attendant (forget his name) was so lovely and made yummy dishes for us each time as well as the seafood station with great fresh fish and a lovely gentleman working this too! Our waiters at the buffet were always serving with a smile and one even gave us a bottle of wine to enjoy back in our room (i wish i remembered his name but he was so incredibly kind and friendly!

Our room was great. No complaints at all. 4th block and in perfect distance to the beach and the pool. Our room attendant was a lovely lady who worked so hard each day so please remember to tip these ladies generously... they truly deserve it!

The bartenders at the lobby bar were awesome. We found one guy who knew how to make a B-52 shot (my bf's fave) and he was always ready to re fill our drinks when they got low lol... Lots of great servers here, really awesome guys... Harold, Rendel and 3 others (im very bad with names incase you've realized lol i apologize)

The beach is just gorgeous. Better than varadero even. We just loved being in the water! Read a lot of reviews about jelly fish before we went however it wasnt a problem for us at all.

The pool was large and spacious with many loungers (we never had a problem finding one available). We tried yoga with Randy by the pool as we practice regularly here at home, and he was a lot of fun!!

There are some cats on the resort which we really enjoyed actually (we're both animal lovers). They didnt bother anyone, there was one that would lounge under the cabana by the pool beside us all the time... Very cute!

We also did the couples massage at the spa which was something like 100 pesos for the both of us for 50 minutes. Lovely experience

Entertainment was fun. We went to the 9:30pm show every night after dinner. Pretty repetitive each night but it was still nice to watch over drinks. There is a small disco within the resort but most people hung out at the lobby bar after the show.

All in all, we have no complaints! And we hope to return to las dunas in the future most definitely! I cant recommend this resort enough.....GO! Dont hesitate, you will love it! And I cant understand why anyone would have anything to complain about here.....ITS SIMPLY PARADISE!! Thank you Melia Las Dunas for making my boyfriend and I anniversary one we will never ever forget!!!

Room Tip: 4th or 5th Block close to both beach and pool. Adult side and 2nd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacaLovr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Amazing beach !!! Very nice hotel ! Alot of entertainment.
I was there with a friend on the 5th of February, we had an amazing experience.
Bar staff very friendly and nice
Hotel room very nice and clean.
Amazing resort and wounderfull service. If you get a chance to go dont hesitate !!
It was my first time in Cuba but not my last !!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
4.3 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,911 reviews
1.2 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,003 reviews
1.9 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Dunas

Property: Melia Las Dunas
Address: Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara | Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Dunas 5*
Number of rooms: 925
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic and Legend unveils an ancient story that goes back in time to 1492, with the discovery of America. Melia Las Dunas, a 5 star resort, All Inclusive, ideal for your vacation with your Family, Reunion & Incentives, Weddings, Honeymoon Distinguished by the variety of services, the inviting atmosphere and the confort of its facilities, Melia Las Dunas offers the vacations of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Dunas Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Hotel Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing