We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
2
10
5
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
10
5
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the ground floor nightly fireworks futon onsen lake view
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we are no onsen fans and we won't spend much time in the room and the price was right.

However, it turned out to be a really bad experience.

We have never stayed in a hotel as filthy as this one.

Most 2-3 stars Japanese hotels are basic but reasonably clean.

This one is an exception.
Worn out and dirty.

We stayed for dinner which was included in the package and my wife got a bad diaherrea.

I think it could be caused by the salad with the milky dressing.

The food came in a dinner box and I suspected food turned nasty after being kept in the box in a kitchen without air-con.

The hotel has no chef and everything comes from the sister hotel nearby.

So, be careful.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We were greeted warmly by the staff. The ryokan (Japanese style) room was small and not well kept. There were stains on the curtains and walls. Not much amenities provided and there is no conditioner. The tap had to be adjusted if you need hot water - not very convenient.

Our room had a balcony and we were able to see Lake Toya.

There is a charge if you require staff to make your futon (Japanese style bed). But we opted that out as it is quite easy to make the futon yourself.

The hotel itself do not have an onsen. However they do have a small public bath on the lobby level. You may visit their sister hotel which is much bigger just across the street for their indoor and outdoor onsen. No charges is applicable. The onsen was great and well equipped with amenities. The outdoor onsen had a great view if the skies are clear. You’ll be able to see Lake Toya while soaking in the hot tub.

Overall I’d still recommend this hotel as it is a much cheaper option than their sister hotel which is opposite. You can still use their onsen without a charge which is great!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank celestayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Our Japanese style room was not big, just enough for two persons, we put our luggage at the entrance of our room to save same space for our room. It's good to have private bathroom and toilet. But our children room was a spacious room even sleep with 3 persons. The toilet plate was not heated. There were just street view from the room.
The lacation of the hotel was good, near to the lake and shop.
The dinner was delicious japanese set menu, the rice was available for refill. Buffet Breakfast was good even not many choices.
There were separate small onsen for men and women on the ground floor, which look nice. We chose to go to the Lake View Onsen with indoor and outdoor pools at the sister 4 stars hotel next door, which men and women onsen exchange every day, and it was free for Toya Gokirakutei Guests. The view from this onsen was beautiful.
Overall, we were satisfied with our stay.

Room tip: For a quieter room, avoid room near the road. Ask for corner room which with balcony, it is bigger and has better view.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

It's a basic and no frills hotel with Japanese style room so don't get your expectations too high. Building looks old but with comfortable room. Traditional check in via paperwork and strictly cash only as they are not computerized. . Run by only 1 or 2 staff who does the reception, room service and breakfast. Limited English but polite and so willing to help. The cheapest buffet breakfast in Hokkaido for 400yen!! Onsen on the ground floor and you can also use the one across at kohontei hotel. If you make your own futon you get 160yen off per person per day. Located just a block away from the lake and it's a shame it is blocked by another hotel in the room. 3 awesome restaurants round the hotel and got to try it. Fresh n cheap. Nightly fireworks is a bonus in lake toya.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bibsterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The hotel is old and run down. Although it is quite near to the lake, the view is blocked by newer hotels built in front of this older establishment. The room was spacious but dusty and comforter was stained. Staff was friendly but obviously overwhelmed, having to man the reception counter as well as serve meals and wash dishes. Dining tables were not cleaned up way after guests have left.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyeoh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews