We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Windsor Hotel Toya
Nearby Hotels
Petit Hotel Koizumi(Toyako-cho)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
US$198
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kohantei(Toyako-cho)
US$181
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yutorelo Toyako(Toyako-cho)
US$136
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Toya Kanko Hotel(Toyako-cho)
US$194
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cocoa(Toyako-cho)
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Hokkai Hotel(Toyako-cho)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
277
191
73
34
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
191
73
34
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichel brasfrench restaurantski resortsnow activitieslake toyacable caroutdoor onsenmountain overlookinghotel lobbyoff peak seasonsurrounding mountainsspectacular locationhorseback ridingsnowing heavilyimpressive hotelservice levelpastry
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

From arriving to leaving the hotel, I never felt disappointed. The room was brilliant and well-equipped. Seeing view of Toya lake was the highlight. So stunning.All staffs was very professional and attentive. Food was very delicious. I did a spa every day, very relaxed. Staying at this hotel was a real heaven. It fullfilled my energy.

Room Tip: Wake up early to watch the sunset Try a spa in the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TokkoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I only stayed 1 night in this hotel. We thought it was a little pricy when we booked it but the moment we entered the hotel, we didn't want to leave. The hotel lobby is definitely the most grand I have seen, with a stunning view of the Toya lake. After the valet parking, the staff let us sit in sofas by the window of the lobby, served us drinks and checked us in while we were seated (so not traditional way of checking in). The check-in staff even asked us for our plans of the night and the next day just to make sure they can make appropriate arrangements for us if necessary. We chose a lake view room. It overlooks the whole Toya Lake. I couldn't think of a better place to see the lake. We tried the onsen and swimming pool too, which are really great too. The staff are very polite. The highlight of the stay was really the breakfast. We had the choice of Japanese and French style breakfast and we chose French. It was indeed the best breakfast served. Services were very good too. The only thing, if I have to pick one, is their staff's English language skills. Some of them are quite good (like the guy who checked us in), but not everyone. This was particularly a problem when we tried to order something on the phone.

Room Tip: The lake view room is very good, and do include the breakfast. It's a little expensive but totally worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BridgetteYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good reception when arriving at the hotel. We booked a double room high floor (JPY51,000) with wonderful lake view. The room was small, bed and pillows comfy, old style furnishings and bathroom fitting did not impress.
The curtains did not provide effective blackout and we were awoken by intense sun around 5am.
Hotel facilites excellent, hot spa good although outdoor ladies section was closed for maintenance.
Dined in the Kitcho restaurant Arashiyama course which was good, though the Kyoto Kitcho experience was much better.
Breakfast in Gilligans was pleasant but refusal of waiter to provide poached eggs or toast was not appreciated.
Would we go back - to stay NO, to dine - YES.

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nisekolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent a night at this hotel on our whirlwind tour of norther Japan recently and were truly impressed with the establishment. In addition to the traditional Japanese hospitality we found almost in every hotel we stayed at, this one stands out with even more meticulous service and attention to details. As soon as we walked in the hotel, our jaws dropped at the expanse of the lobby and the view. We were greated and sat down in the lobby. We were offered hot drinks while they checked us in. We had a junior suite facing the lake. Amazing view. We got up at 5:30 am to watch the sunrise from our bed. Incredible experience. Amenities in the room were 5 star quality and no less. We were at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The food was amazing. The waiter took the time to explain the ingredients used in preparation of our meal! Just the simple rice was not overlooked. We were told it was made from a blend of 3 selected varieties of rice. We used the hotel minivan shuttle on a few occasions. The driver would get out of the car, and put a stool on the pavement to let us off the bus. What more can I say about this hotel! Truly amazing experience.

Room Tip: Get the lake view room if you do not mind the higher price.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yimco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We traveled with family on a package tour that included a two night stay at the Windsor. Checking the normal prices, this would've been out of our budget, but if you time your travel right (off-season and non-winter) you can certainly pamper yourself on this mountaintop resort.

Service is top-notch. The staff and management's attention to detail even down to a comfortable crib and matching bathrobe for our 9 month old really gave us a taste of what it must've been like being a guest there during the G8 summit.

Dining there is pricey, with plenty of high-end dining options, including a michelin-starred restaurant to choose from. Personally, I'd skip lunch and dinner there and wander into the nearby towns for more approachable local meals.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whoisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews