We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lake Toya Nonokaze has a great ambience and the view is exceedingly beautiful. My main reason for choosing it was that reviews for other hotels complained about non-smoking rooms which were not really just deodorised smoking rooms. I have a sensitive nose and the rooms smelt great. In fact, the rooms exceeded my expectations as it was both beautiful and well-equipped. A great range of toiletries was provided and they even provided Yukatas and pyjamas.

We opted for the Kaiseki meal and the food quality was outstanding. Unfortunately the service was a little haphazard as courses would come in erratic servings so sometimes our table would be empty and other times it would be so full of food that we had no idea what to start with.

The biggest downside of this hotel would be the language barrier. English standards of the staff were limited at best. There was confusion when making our reservation for the private onsen and our kaiseki meal consisted of single-word explanations.

What was most important was perhaps the alarming siren that rang at midnight. Hotel guests were gathered outside of their rooms in confusion and there was only 1 announcement in Japanese during the first 10 minutes. Several guests went back to their rooms while others went down the stairs. Quite alarming as we had just been to the volcano information centre that day. Hotel staff at the front desk were ill-equipped at dealing with the situation, and unable to explain what was happening in English.Thankfully it was a false fire alarm or there might have been casualties.

Despite the language difficulties, I would recommend this hotel as it really is a beautiful establishment. Just remember to hurry down when the fire alarm sounds.

Room Tip: Fireworks start 8.45pm. Get a room that's higher up for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalloHelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    190
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
280
180
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent hotel. Very beautiful views of the Lake Toya. Spacious room with big bed and sofa. Very good amenities. Welcome drinks and snacks were a nice touch. The roof top hot spring bath is like an infinity pool, if you're lucky enough, you can enjoy it all by yourself. The only thing that is not perfect is that the air-conditioning is a bit weak, and is kinda hot in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3pig-moto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel was designed in Japanese minimalist style and all rooms face the lake, so the views are fantastic! We had a hot spring bath inside our bathroom so it was tempting not to even try the public baths! But the roof top baths is quite an experience.

At 8:45pm there are fireworks on the lake (I believe they are on nightly from April to September) which you can see from your room or from the walkway in front of the hotel. If you really want to eat outside the hotel there are some local shops just outside the hotel. After dinner we took a walk along the lake shore which goes right in front of the hotel. The location of the hotel is great.

Dinner and breakfast were buffets in the hotel restaurants. It's funny if we hadn't just been to Hotel Mahoroba at Noboribetsu we would have found the buffet adequate. But after experiencing that, the buffets at Nonokaze didn't seem that good. Variety was less but also the food didn't seem as fresh. I had some steak pieces which were very tough (first time such a thing happened to me in Hokkaido). For this price you do expect the top.

Room Tip: You have to get a room above the 4th floor to get a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our favourite hotel of our stay in Hokkaido. Lobby was super impressive and our room (combined Western/Japanese club room) was absolutely huge with a sweeping view of the lake, islands and Mt Yotei beyond. Everything was spotlessly clean and had obviously been well thought out in a very Japanese way. The hot springs were absolutely amazing especially the rooftop infinity onsen "Tenqoo". Our only complaint really was the lack of good meeting and dining options in the hotel. We were keen for pre-dinner drinks with friends who were also staying at the hotel but having a different dinner option to us (kaiseki vs buffet), but there wasn't a bar or cafe to do so. Our only option was to sit awkwardly in the lobby chairs with no drinks service. Also, the kaiseki restaurant was lacking in personality and felt more like an underground dungeon - not sure why this couldn't have been set up with a nice view of the lake for example, as we had to rush our dinner to get out in time for fireworks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel gave us a room on the 8th floor, since it's almost summer time here, we on the air conditioning, but it is not working properly, we complain and they can only give us a fan, front desk informed us that only the lower floor can enjoy air conditioning. So, should I consider this a five star resort if they can not provide the basic air condition during summer time. We paid 42k yen for the room here. Food is good, but nothing to rave about. Rooms has lake view, free transpo from Sapporo Station. I only enjoy the outdoor onsen here and the view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricci2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

From the start when we just arrived, the appearance of the hotel is already much better comparing to the other hotel. It is newly furnished.

The lobby is very big and beautiful. The staff is very friendly and caring. They speak very good English too.

We lived in a western style room with full lake view. It is amazing ! We even can sit down and watch the firework from the window at night. The room is big and modern.

The private bath at the 9/f is excellent !!! We can enjoy the lake view while enjoying the hot spring ! It only costs around 3200yen for 50 mins which is a very good deal!

The dinner buffet is excellent too!! They have a great variety of food , and of coz you can dine with the lake view too!

We enjoyed so much in this stay!! If we will visit toya again, we will definitely choose this hotel !!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank khkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The resort has excellent lake view. I recommend to visit the onsen on the rooftop, where you can watch the splendid lake view whiling enjoying the onsen.

We take the hotel free shuttle bus which departed from JR Station at 1:30pm. Since the travelling hour is 2.5 hour, we arrived at the resort at 4pm. Hence we dont have have much time to tour around lake toya.. I will suggest the resort to offer another departure time firm JR Station earlier in the morning.

The resort is very spacious and modern. We stayed at western style room, which is huge. We have dinner buffet and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. There is a wide variety of food and tasty. I like the white rice and freshly squeezed apple juice.

Besides Nonokaze Resort, we also stayed Mori No Uta in this trip (separate comment has been posted on tripadvisor). I cannot help to compare both resort. I will give Nonokaze a higher rating because:
(1) nonkaze has a wider variety of onsen and better view (2) more spacious guest room and the overall resort (3) nonkaze food is overall better, while Mori no Uta is good at dessert.

I will recommend Nonokaze to my friends and will come back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwf1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toyako-cho
Toyako Onsen
The Windsor Hotel Toya
The Windsor Hotel Toya
#2 of 16 in Toyako-cho
530 reviews
Toyako Onsen
Kohantei
Kohantei
#5 of 16 in Toyako-cho
322 reviews
Toyako Onsen
Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toyako Onsen
Toya Kanko Hotel
Toya Kanko Hotel
#6 of 16 in Toyako-cho
181 reviews
Daiwa Ryokan Annex
#4 of 16 in Toyako-cho
54 reviews
Toya Sunpalace
#1 of 7 in Sobetsu-cho
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort

Property: The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
Address: 29-1 Toyako Onsen, Abuta-gun, Toyako-cho 049-5721, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Toyako-cho > Toyako Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Toyako-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort Toyako-Cho, Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing