We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean enough!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ammon Garden

Ammon Garden
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ammon Garden
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Pefkohori
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not clean enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a room overlooking the pool. The room was good, except that the cleaners did not clean our room for the 6 days we stayed there. They only care about the rubbish and changing the towels, nothing else. By our last day, the bathroom and the balcony were in disgusting condition and dust all over the room.

They must pay more attention in regards to the water in the pool. So dirty!!!

Good service in the bar area.

We did not have a breakfast. You have plenty of bakery shops around and the walking distance is 3 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London1977UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Well what can I say that I didn't say after last year's trip? Last year just myself and my wife stayed here, but this year I booked two family rooms and my son and his family came with us as well. Altogether 4 adults and 4 children ages 2, 4, 5, 10.

We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in Greece, we stayed in the rooms to change and to sleep and the rest of the time we were out and about at the local beaches. We bought our own food for breakfast, cereals and fruit for the kids, and fresh Greek yoghurt and sandwiches. For the adults from the local bakery on the high street, c.5minutes walk away.

This year instead of driving all around Kassandra to visit their wonderful and varied beaches the whole week, we spent the last 4 days visiting the local beach on foot, which takes 2 minutes, but maybe maximum 10 minutes to the place we chose down at Akrotiri beach bar and restaurant which also has a kid's play area and is right next to the Watersports centre. (When looking out to sea, it's on the right side of the promenade near to Yalla-beach bar).

I can recommend the Akrotiri Watersports centre as well, excellent jet skis and the Crazy Shark was great fun for the 4, 5 and 10 year olds. I paid for 2 jet skis and one go on the Crazy Shark and proposed a 'family deal' to the owner and got about 15% discount.

Another recommendation for Bakalis. Again we tried other restaurants and kept going back to Bakalis, which has the best service (but have some patience as it does get very busy at peak time around 8pm), best food and best free desserts consisting fresh melon, grapes, oranges and a selection of cakes, icecream and yoghurt.

When we go to Turkey or Egypt we stay in 5 star ultra all inclusive and we expect to have the best of everything when paying top prices for the best resorts. We booked independent for Ammon Gardens and it's something like £350 for the family room for 7 nights! Please tell me what you really expect for this money anywhere? Who cares if not all the cups and plates don't match? Doh, book somewhere else at a much higher price if you want your English tea served in matching china cups!

Our rooms were the two on 1st floor looking over the pool and these were perfect. Considering I booked direct about 4 months in advance, and asked for rooms next to or close to each other, the owners accommodated our request and our rooms were next but one to each other which was fine. We didn't have any problems with the hot water or the pressure which can happen at peak times.

One word of warning, bring mosquito repellant, especially for going out at night as there seemed to be a lot more of them this year, and the cream we bought at a local shop must have been fake as it seemed to attract them even more!!!

The kids loved the pool in the late afternoons, and on the first day we didn't arrive until 8pm after an 11 hour drive, and they kept the pool open for us as the kids were desperate to get in the water, which was very good of them as it wasn't exactly their fault we were late!

For those who complained last year about all the Eastern Europeans, I can say that most of my friends from Bucharest drove to Thassos this year, and the empty rooms were taken up mostly by Serbians, who are much better behaved than most Brit's abroad! There also seems to be fewer Brits here simply because U.K. tour agencies aren't promoting it as much as they used to, which is a pity as there's a lot to see and do in this area if you want to explore further than just the beaches.

So there you go, you get what you pay for, a nice little hotel, unpretentious and with a nice price!

Oh yes, and they serve ice cold draft beer in chilled pint glasses, worth having on the terrace of an evening while waiting for the ladies to get ready!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are great if you've got kids so you can still see them from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a few friends for a week in July. Great little hotel. Brilliant location, just a few mins walk to the beach. Rooms were nice and clean with very comfy bed, had a great nights sleep every night! The pool is lovely to unwind after a day at the beach. Great little bar where we always ended our day with "Debbie" laughing about what we'd been up to that day over a beer and cocktails. Debbie was always a great help as she knows the area well and had information about the activities we wanted to do. Nothing was ever a problem for the staff here which makes a huge difference. Definitely a little Gem and will be going back there again sometime in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank caribbeanloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Booked the Ammon Garden Hotel completely by chance as a cheap get away for myself and 3 friends. Had a fantastic time, the hotel was lovely! Very welcoming staff, clean rooms, great location and a nice pool to chill at after a tiring day at the beach. Would happily stay here again and Debbie was fantastic, anything you needed or wanted to know she was there to help.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had the top room,awful, no cupboards, hanging space with about 6 hangers, all different, tiny kitchenette, cracked crockery, mis-matched cutlery, dirty overall,appalling bathroom, hardly a bathroom, wash room, tiny square shower with curtain, hardly any light, worse experience ever. Changed rooms to downstairs, bigger with wardrobe, however plumbing problems galore, toilet wouldn't flush, had to lift lid to flush, basin in bathroom blocked, at one stage we came back after a meal to a flooded bathroom!
Debbie was accommodating, not the friendliest of staff there.
No safe in rooms, cost 20 euros to save your personal items in the safe boxes at the reception.
Towels are dreadful, rough and perfect for ex foliating!!!
The outside is however very pleasant, lovely garden, small swimming pool, adequate to cool off in,,however, sun loungers literally on top of each other!
Don't be deceived by the photo's of the rooms, very mis-leading!
We went self catering, and thought breakfast was part of our package so on the first day we went for breakfast...don't bother going half-board! breakfast consists of filtered coffee, slices of cheese, ham, bread, some biscuits and watermelon,and they have the nerve to charge £5.00 for this banquet of a no breakfast!
Yes they say you get what you pay for, paying for this experience has taught us a lesson! Never again! I like my shower to be a shower, my towels to be clean and fluffy, my sun lounger more apart from others, and a kitchenette with matching crockery/cutlery, and hangers that match, about a dozen for a couple...we had to go out and buy more hangers!!! VERY DISAPPOINTED! I am just saying it as it is, if you are happy with BASIC then go ahead, give them your well earned money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pellah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pefkohori hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We was in a room on top floor. It was clean and spacious but it didnt had any closet so you had to keep your things in cases, on beds and chairs.
It was only 3 of us so we menaged to sort out our things, but i cannot imagine how 5 people could do that since it was a 5 bed room.
Bathroom is very small.
Kitchen is only for making tea/coffey and maby warm up some meal.

Maby there are normal rooms but ours wasnt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nebojsa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekaterinburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for three wonderful days 12-15 june. We enjoyed every moment. Nice and quiet little place with a small swimming pool. We had a room on the first floor overlooking this pool. The room was really clean and was cleaned every day at a convenient time. Debbie and other people in the hotel made us really comfortable. Tiny kitchenette was really helpful. The beach is very close and the water was extremely clean. If you like to eat a lot for breakfast probably you wouldn't like the morning meal here but it was enough for us and the coffee was superb! There was a great library in the lobby and I read two books in three days. The books were in English and Swedish. There are a lot of restaurants and shops. It's impossible to stay hungry. It was a very nice break and we loved every moment of our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are great and wi-fi is everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ludinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pefkohori hotels
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#1 of 19 in Pefkohori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aeollos
Hotel Aeollos
#7 of 19 in Pefkohori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Flegra Palace
Hotel Flegra Palace
#2 of 19 in Pefkohori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pilalidis Apartments
Pilalidis Apartments
#16 of 19 in Pefkohori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atrium
Hotel Atrium
#5 of 19 in Pefkohori
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alia Palace Hotel
Alia Palace Hotel
#3 of 19 in Pefkohori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammon Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammon Garden

Property: Ammon Garden
Address: Pefkohori, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Pefkohori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Pefkohori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ammon Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Ammon Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammon Garden Hotel Pefkohori
Ammon Garden Pefkohori, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing