We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's noisy and not even a word of apology !”
Review of Sastria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sastria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Sungai Petani B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The person in charge claimed the noise came from the water pressure pump. It makes noise ALL night long - making sleeping IMPOSSIBLE !!! Imagine a SLEEPLESS night and when a complaint was lodged , there was NOT EVEN a word of apology !!! Make sure you find out the rooms that are situated close to the pump , avoid them because it is really noisy ; less you suffer the same fate !!!

Room Tip: maybe you need to look out for the other budget hotel nearby ! that one is much better :)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 628Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Sastria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

My money been worth spending on 2 nights staying for very friendly receptionist and helpfully housekeeper. Package come with very clean and comfortable room,bed and toilet. most importantly strategic location just near the sungai petani expressway. Tasty food from hotmas restaurant located just downstairs. Very highly recommended budget hotel for 5 stars services.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Toya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Rooms were so dirty! Visible clumps of hair on the floor. Sheets look like they were not changed. Horrible. Felt so dirty sleeping in the room. Such a shame that the lobby looks nice as a first impression. But after reserving the rooms thinking that the hotel is not so bad, the rooms turned out like that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked 4 rooms and all the rooms were very dirty. There were cobwebs on the walls and ceiling. The floor was not swept. It was unfortunate that we arrived late and my children were tired and cranky so we had no choice but to past the night in this horrible hotel. It was a big family vacation (4 families) and we only booked budget Hotels while traveling in Malaysia. We never came across such a dirty hotel like this one. We complained about the condition of the rooms but there was no housekeeping at that hour. They offered us other rooms but the other rooms were just as dirty. I asked for a rebate because we didn't feel that it was fair for us to pay the full rate but we were told that they couldn't offer us any rebate but they would refund us the money if we decided not to past the night in this hotel. A Big No to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CTSY14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in a budget room. It was uncomfortable because the room was too small thus a feeling of claustrophobia. The room has no window and the water pump was humming all the night. Bed sheets were not clean and there was no room service. Non the less the room was cheap.
The pluses are - the reception is nicely renovated, airy and bright with lounge chairs, free internet facilities, free hot water for coffee and tea. This hotel is well-located near good restaurants, food stalls and shopping centers.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jae8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Value for money. Location is strategically good. Nearby Village Mall, Tesco and the new Amanjaya Mall.
Room is clean and comfortable. Only complaint is the room rate provides different services. Budget room comes with normal TV show. Medium price comes with Astro TV facilities and the high end price comes with Astro TV and kettle to boil water.
Overall, I am please with the offering and will not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dragonbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is brand new budget hotel. The room is comfortable with reasonable price. The location is too strategic, nearest to Lagenda Height Sungai Petani and it's very happening. The hotel also got a restaurant name HOTMAS that very famous in Sg Petani Kedah. The food is fantastic and delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Ahmad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sungai Petani hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
#6 of 14 in Sungai Petani
87 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
#2 of 14 in Sungai Petani
86 reviews
1.4 mi away
T Hotel Sungai Petani
T Hotel Sungai Petani
#12 of 14 in Sungai Petani
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Big Orange Hotel
Big Orange Hotel
#2 of 19 in Sungai Petani
25 reviews
1.4 mi away
K Garden Hotel
K Garden Hotel
#3 of 14 in Sungai Petani
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Lagenda Hotel
Casa Lagenda Hotel
#5 of 19 in Sungai Petani
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sastria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sastria Hotel

Address: No. 28 Jalan Pahlawan | Taman Lagenda Indah, Sungai Petani 08000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Kuala Muda District > Sungai Petani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sungai Petani
Price Range: £10 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sastria Hotel is located in Sungai Petani, Kedah, about 4 km from Cinta Sayang and Tol Sungai Petani Utara. Providing a 24-hour front desk, it also has free Wi-Fi and free parking. There is a local restaurant just next to the hotel.Simply furnished, all rooms are equipped with air conditioning and satellite TV channels for certain room. A hairdryer and pray mat is available upon request. En suite bathrooms come with hot-water showers.Sastria Hotel is 15 km from Bujang Valley/UITM Merbok and a 30-minute drive from Gunung Jerai. Alor Setar Airport and Jetty Langkawi Kuala Kedah are a 45-minute drive away.Laundry services and daily newspapers are provided at lobby only. Airport transfers can be arranged at an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sastria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sastria Hotel Sungai Petani, Kedah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing