We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentosa Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentosa Villa
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

a wonderful place to escape the hustle and bustle of city life.
The rooms are excellent. There are few designs to choose from pending on the numbers of people in your group. Stayed in the family villa and it was great. From the balcony, you could just sit and relax, enjoying a cupof coffee, surrounded by nature. There is a stream near the resort n you could actually take a dip in the refreshing cool water. Kids enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carintly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    44
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
32
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

we found this place at the foot of maxwell hill as excellent for the price you pay. the staff was hospitable and friendly. though breakfast was simple but then taiping is a food heaven. one can find all sorts of different foods for their liking. the people are generally friendly and the environment surrounding the villa is just fabulous. the greenery has been well maintained and the natural pools made are just fantastice to swim in. with the natural riverine running alonfg the property, you will really enjoy the nature in one spot. fantastic for taking a laid back holiday from the hustle and bustle from a typical hotel in town. one must also not take a miss for the cendol and rojak in ansari shop. mouth watering cendol and good service. but can get pretty crowded by lunch hour.....overall, this sentosa villa is a thumb up for us

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narinder69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed a nite in Sentosa Villa.
The view is nice which surrounded by green.
Will plan to bring family here & recommend to Frens.
Nice Deluxe Villa where we were told its the best view among all.
Overall are good but the bed itself is a concern. Management should improve quality of bed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. Beautiful setting, room very comfortable. Staff helpful friendly especially Nabila in reception who was a gem. We got to Taiping late at night after taking the train from Johor Bahru. A wonderfu taxi driver called Kamal took us to the hotel at a very reasonable rate and whilst we stayed in Taiping he took us where ever we wanted. He didn't rip us off, was there on time and was a throughly nice taxi driver. Would stay at Sentosa again if we are lucky to go back.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room which wasd a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 893Valathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penang
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here for a night. The resort is located at the foot of Maxwell hill. Its located in the midst of a housing area. Taiping is already known for the closeness to nature and the cooling weather. The resort was moulded badly to blend in with the nature. I hope not much of the natural landscape was destroyed to build this resort. Judging from the pond colour, milk tea like, there must be erosions taking place around there.

Since I stayed in the standard room, I cant really comment on the overall service. As far as the standard room goes, it is overrated.

Never tried the food there at all. The hotel is placed away from any hawker centre. If you have no vehicle, then you have to eat only the resort food. The zoo, the lake gardens are not really walking distance, it takes about 20 minutes walk. SInce rain is very frequent here, unless you dont mind getting wet, not advisable to walk.

Overall, this is a good place for a getaway if you dont mind the overrated standard room, with a vehicle and want to be close to a nature that is available readily in Taiping.

Room Tip: Suggest to buy some quick to cook food like maggi mee, in case if you want to munch in the odd hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
934 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We booked here using booking.com for one night in Jan 2013. The rate including breakfast for Room 1, Honeymoon Suite was ~$73 USD. The reason why I used booking.com was because twice no-one replied to my emails from the website. We were checked in by 3 young people but none of them could be bothered to walk us to the villa or even show us where to park the car; they just pointed a lot. It is an individual villa with quite generous floor space and certainly does have some charm and character; it’s actually labelled Zeus for some reason – nothing to do with Honeymoon, not that we were on one! It has a small gated front patio and a large rear deck overlooking several ponds, a river and then into the forest. It has a nice double bed with good linen and 2 pillows and mosquito net. There was one night table (with hair dryer), 2 chairs and a small table, a low shelf unit or TV stand, mini fridge and clothes hanging rack. There were windows and/or sliding doors on three sides (actually 4 – we found another window behind the bed headboard curtain in the morning!) with decent curtains. It had nice wood floors, some exposed brick and high ceiling with fan and air/con. The bathroom is somewhat small and mostly gets wet with showering - however shower slippers are provided which is nice. Water pressure and hot and cold water supply are good. There is a kettle with coffee and tea; 2 small bottles water provided. Outside there is a cacophony of critters – a flock of white ducks, 3 geese, chickens and at least one rooster; also a tortoise garden and ponds of fish. In the evening the frogs/toads were so loud we thought it was dogs barking in the distance; not unpleasant noises and as dawn is quite late here this time of year we still had a good lie in. Breakfast is served in the open air cafe at the end of the trail past the other villas – there was only tea/coffee, weak juice and white toast bread with butter & jam. When I asked if this was ALL the attending young man replied – ‘now that you are here we will start cooking, maybe 15 minutes’ - so we had a coffee and waited. Eventually we each received a nice freshly cooked plate of Mee Goreng - fried noodles, tofu, chicken & vegetables, with fresh cucumber, tomato and melon slices and a fried egg. It was good but it would only have taken a second for him to ask if we wanted that or only 2 fried eggs and fruit. After breakfast we noticed they were setting up for a wedding (it was Friday morning) so we were glad to be leaving given the comments of other reviewers there during a wedding. I can’t imagine the grounds around the villas would be very private with a wedding going on. The grounds are quite pretty and the ponds are interesting but the overuse of concrete makes some charmless (like the ones we could see from our balcony). I was worried about mosquitoes but there are so many hungry fish in those ponds I don’t think larvae could survive. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and the villa we had was clean and great. I think whoever owns this place should educate their staff more on customer service and stop pouring concrete. Given a need for an overnight stop in Taiping I would stay here again, and would recommend it for the same.

Room Tip: The honeymoon villa (or Zeus) is very charming and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitiawan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed in this resort as a group of 14 persons in November 2012. I read great reviews of this resort and also saw the photos advertised, so decided to book a bungalow plus 2 other rooms to house the 14 of us.

During the booking period, there was a helpful staff - Miss Tan, who showed us around the resort and gave suggestions on how to house us and how to make our group outing memorable. We were very grateful to her for her help and friendliness. However, things changed when she unexpectedly left a few weeks later. We found out that the room promised to us could not be procured as it would not be ready by the time we wanted. We had a lot of problems trying to email the management as their replies were very slow and unfriendly. In the end, a few of us had to stay outside the resort.

Coming to our experience in the resort itself. The resort grounds are beautiful. It is actually very green, and it is relaxing to walk around there. However, the beauty of the resort was slightly marred by the poor service of the staff and poorly-maintained facilities.

The day we checked in, there was a huge wedding dinner going on at the resort. Hence, during our check in time at 3pm, the staff was very rude. They kept making excuses that they were very busy with the wedding and could not prepare our accomodation in time. The extra mattresses and toiletries only came at night around 8pm (after we had bathed using our own towels and toiletries). We also couldn't park our cars inside the resort and had to park outside at some risk (because all parking were reserved for the wedding dinner guests).

The resort facilities were also poorly maintained. Our bungalow fan wouldn't work, one of the bathroom doors had no latch, and the rooms in the bungalow had vents with no mosquito netting hence allowing a lot of mosquitoes into the rooms at night. One of the doors in the junior suite also could not auto-lock properly.

In conclusion, this resort idea was great but the management and poor maintenance leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jcmenglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taiping hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taiping hotels
1.1 mi away
Flemington Hotel
Flemington Hotel
#3 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tune Hotel Taiping
Tune Hotel Taiping
#2 of 14 in Taiping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#1 of 14 in Taiping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Taiping Perdana
Hotel Taiping Perdana
#9 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beverly Hotel
Beverly Hotel
#5 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Legend Inn
Legend Inn
#6 of 14 in Taiping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentosa Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentosa Villa

Property: Sentosa Villa
Address: Jalan 8, Taman Sentosa,, Taiping 34000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Taiping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sentosa Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please be informed that there is no wifi in individual room and room rate are not inclusive breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sentosa Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentosa Villa Hotel Taiping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing