We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regency Hotel Seri Warisan
Ranked #2 of 13 Taiping B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Check in went smoothly with polite, helpful reception staff who were able to give accurate directions to places of interest.
-Room was bigger than expected with clean sheets and nice firm bed
-Bathroom looked a bit old but otherwise comfortable. Not a fan of the way their towels were rolled up and kept by the sink, didn't seem very hygienic. And the hot water shower took a bit of getting used to, but otherwise passable.
-Wifi decent signal
-Breakfast selection is adequate, I had breakfast early so didn't have any issues with the space but I could imagine it getting quite cramped when more than 4 families/groups go for breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotraveller1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Solotraveller1986,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and review on our Hotel. We are pleased to know that our service and accommodation were to your liking. We have noted the issue of the towels and will relook and find the best solution for the matter.

Pertaining the Restaurant area, we are indeed in the midst of planning to widen and expand the restaurant to accommodate a bigger sitting arrangement. We thank you for your feedback on the matter. On behalf of The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see and serve you soon in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Due to its location and the sizable room, i choose this hotel. However , It is definately not my first choice in Taiping. The breakfast area is quite cramp, probably because of the table shape & the arrangement. The selection is quite limited too.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with the even numbers. The will face the room top of other shops. Not a good sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear SASh7678,

Thank you for your visit and choosing to stay with us at The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. We have taken note of your comments and feedback and shall rectify the necessary immediately.

As per our restaurant, we shall look into the matter of further expansion for better guest comfort. The issue of the shop houses / lots is beyond our control and power, however we will seek and refer to the relevant authorities on how to overcome the matter.

We apologise for the shortcomings of our Hotel. We will rectify and improve our services to ensure ultimate guest satisfaction. We hope to see and serve you again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I arrived at the hotel on the 14th Dec 2013 at about 0300hrs after a long drive from Singapore.
In spite of a 2 weeks booking and a reminder a week later the registration went wrong. The family room that I have booked was not available.
I was referred via phone to the hotel manager. This gentleman somehow resolved the matter amicably. Barely twenty minutes later, my family and I was sound asleep in the room.
The room is clean and spacious. All staff was courteous and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and relatives and would come back if I visit Taiping again.

Khir (Pasir Ris, Singapore)

Room Tip: For advance booking(any hotel) please confirm and confirm again after a few days for type of room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Greetings Khir,

First and foremost may we extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your reservation was indeed noted however there was just a minor hiccup on the timing of your arrival. Nonetheless, we apologise for the mishap.

We are please to know that you are satisfied with our rooms and service. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and please, do come and visit us again whenever you are in Taiping.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a church function nearby and decided to give this hotel a try. It is indeed spacious and had a cosy feeling. Although the breakfast spread could have a little bit more variety, and room, we have no complaints.

Room Tip: Please request for room away from the 'swiftlets centre'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedlammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Bedlammers,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. We are pleased that you are satisfied with our accommodation and services. We do acknowledge your comments as all guest feedback is very important to us.

Pertaining your comments on the breakfast, we will investigate and revise the spread to ensure that there is more variety. We aim to provide the best for all our guests. Once again, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see and serve you again in the near future. Do drop by and visit us again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I will never stay at Hotel Seri Warisan (by The Regency) in Taiping ever again. Why? Because a hotel is a hospitality service and I expected excellent service.
Disappointment # 1: I was given a room that faced a swiflet hotel that broadcast a recording of a thousand chirping birds day and night. My mother and I didn’t sleep soundly for three nights. It was an infringement on our right for a noise-free environment.
Disappointment # 2: The ramp for disabled people is almost halfway round the building – why not at the front door, or even at the restaurant next door? Why do people like my mother who uses a cane and finds it difficult to go up steps have to endure this kind of insensitivity?
Disappointment # 3: The receptionist told me at check-in they had the ASTRO News, Discovery, ESPN, RIA, Chinese and HBO channels, but only after repeated complaints was I able to watch the BBC news. On day three, I was surprised to see the NST lying outside some guestrooms when one receptionist had told me they don’t subscribe to the English paper. A different receptionist said I should have been asked at check-in if I wanted the Malay or English newspaper. I complained to the manager and got the NST on the last day of my stay.
Disappointment # 4: With all of the above, the hotel had the cheek to ask for a RM600 deposit when the actual bill was less than that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalaysianTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear MalaysianTraveller13,

First and foremost thank you for staying with us at The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. With regards to your comments and feedback, we take all criticism constructively and positively. We shall act accordingly to rectify your issues raised.

As per the matter raised pertaining the noise caused by the swifllets, we have already raised this issue to the owner of the shoplots and relevant authorities many times. However, no action has been taken. We will proceed again until this matter is resolved.

With regards to the ramp, it is located at the front of the building (facing the main road). Unfortunately, the Hotel was built and designed in such manner. Nonetheless, we understand the inconvenience it causes and will liaise to the owners on such matter.

Regarding the TV channels, all channels were operating smoothly as mentioned by the service provider technician except the BBC channel whereby the decoder was faulty. It was immediately rectified the following day. Nonetheless, we utterly regret and apologize for the inconvenience caused. Also, we had just recently signed up with NST which was implemented and provided to all guest on the 1st of November 2013 which was a day after your arrival. It is also an industry practice and policy for most Hotels to collect deposit upfront prior check-in.

Nonetheless, we sincerely and deeply apologize for all inconveniences caused during your stay. We understand your concerns and issues raised as we seek to offer ultimate guest satisfaction. We will rectify and act accordingly to ensure these issues do not happen again. Once again, on behalf of the entire Hotel staff, sincere apologies. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Was in Taiping for a Business visit. Heard about this newly opened Hotel and decided to give it a go. When I first arrived, the lobby was a bit small but it was practical and perhaps it gives it the cozy feel. Decor and furnishings was alright.

Stayed in the Deluxe (Single) room which was pleasantly big and spacious indeed. Rooms felt fresh and new. Even the toilet was spacious. Overall, the stay was nice and the price was reasonable. The breakfast spread was also decent. Overall a good stay in Taiping.

Room Tip: The Deluxe (Single) is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abukoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyTaiping, Manager at Regency Hotel Seri Warisan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Abukoster,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and response pertaining our Hotel. We appreciate and acknowledge your review and we hope to further improve our services to ensure only the best possible experience for all guests.

We have noted your comments. We thank you once again for staying with us at The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. We hope to see and serve you soon in the near future. Thank you

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
Thank Azrul Izet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taiping hotels
0.4 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#2 of 16 in Taiping
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Taiping Perak
Novotel Taiping Perak
#1 of 16 in Taiping
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legend Inn
Legend Inn
#6 of 16 in Taiping
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sentosa Villa
Sentosa Villa
#8 of 16 in Taiping
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flemington Hotel
Flemington Hotel
#4 of 16 in Taiping
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama Taiping
Hotel Panorama Taiping
#10 of 16 in Taiping
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel Seri Warisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Seri Warisan

Address: 2453 Jalan Convent, Taiping 34000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Taiping
Price Range: £22 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency Hotel Seri Warisan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in what was once the capital city of Perak sits The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan. Strategically located in the centre of the historical township of Taiping, The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan offers discerning guests and business travelers alike comfortable and accommodating hospitality as well as the proximity to various significant sites and business districts that are literally meters away from your doorstep. The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan offers a range of excellent services and amenities whilst providing utmost comfort and convenience to guests whether for leisure or business activities.The Regency Hotel Seri Warisan has been designed to cater for banquets as well as classroom, theatre and boardroom functions. The Long Jaafar ballroom accommodates up to 334 guests in banquet style . Located on the highest level of the building, The Long Jaafar ballroom offers a breathtaking view of the city. All seminar rooms and ballroom are fitted with audio, visual and presentation capabilities which are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regency Hotel Seri Warisan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing