We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience - overall”
Review of Muar Traders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muar Traders Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Muar
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good experience - overall”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have promised to write a review for the hotel. So here we are!

We have checked in rather late. Being a walk in customer, we have asked for a special rate even though it was a weekend - fortunately for us, they gave in to our request.

Overall, the front desk people were excellent and courteous! Way to go people. The breakfast..what can we say...for RM12 net, we agreed that we would drove from Malacca just to enjoy the food. They have more then 30 items on the table. Well done. Would gladly come back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zarratravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazhahmad, Website Room Reservation at Muar Traders Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your valuable review on our hotel, we sincerely appreciate and thank you again for your support.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and find our team members friendly. Hope to see you next time.

Hope you will continue to support us.
Thank you.

Warmest Regards,

The Management
Muar Traders Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    25
    40
    11
    13
See reviews for
31
13
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

good location. stayed here for 1 nite in june 2013 and found it ok for 1 nite but cant imagine staying here for many nites as there are cheaper newer hotels around. previously found it a value but there are newer hotels which are better maintained at the moment so traders does need to buck up in that aspect. having said that customer service in the front desk is good.

Room Tip: many ants in room and i suspect bed bugs as well. best to check room before taking it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krish9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazhahmad, Website Room Reservation at Muar Traders Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Mr Krish,

Thank your for your comment.

We will take note of your comment. As for the room problem, we are truly sorry about it and we will take note to improve it.

Hope you will continue to support us.
Thank you.

Warmest Regards,

The Management
Muar Traders Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muar hotels

kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Im a regular cust of muar traders...since 2008....5 or 6 times but on this my last visit make me very dissapointed bcoz deluxe room at d 2nd floor is not comfortable...leaking bathroom to the bedroom, small cupboard and i had surcharged fees for check in on saturday...not worth it ..deluxe room more expensive than the standard room but the facilities and condition worst ....better to hv standard room...spacious n more comfortable...theres one time my children was scolded by the staff n receptionist at the computer to sit properly....but i think this is the last visit...move to another hotel...classic hotel maybe! ?.........roy santa maria

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room on top floors or higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazhahmad, Front Office Manager at Muar Traders Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank your for your comment.

We will take note of your comment. As for the room problem, we are truly sorry about it and we will take note to improve it.

Hope you will continue to support us.
Thank you.

Warmest Regards,

The Management
Muar Traders Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The room was smelly, lacked wardrobe and mini fridge. The curtain and bed had stains and there were iron marks on the carpet. The walls were dirty and there were holes in the ceiling. The walls were thin and we could hear everything that was going on in the next room. In addition, the toilet lacked a shower door. As such, water would spray all over the toilet whenever someone was taking a shower. The TV has a poor selection of channels and the AC was extremely weak. Overall the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bella5599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazhahmad, Website Room Reservation at Muar Traders Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank your for your comment.

We will take note of your comment. As for the room problem, we are truly sorry about it and we will take note to improve it.

Hope you will continue to support us.
Thank you.

Warmest Regards,

The Management
Muar Traders Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

'Deluxe' room was comfortable and had great view of Muar River. Good breakfast, friendly staff. Let down by poor maintenance (cigarette burn on chair, sliding door to balcony broken). Central location, and next to public park for strolling.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazhahmad, Website Room Reservation at Muar Traders Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your valuable review on our hotel, we sincerely appreciate and thank you again for your support.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and find our team members friendly. As for the room problem, we are truly sorry about it and we will take note to improve it.

Hope you will continue to support us.
Thank you.

Warmest Regards,

The Management
Muar Traders Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

My room on the second floor was quite spacious but floors were tiled not carpeted. AC TV and fridge were functioning. Toilet had a flimsy door and was more like closet doors. Certainly not sound proof when doing business!!! Ironing was only at a common room. Pillows were flat like a roti canai and there were no selection of pillows as alluded to an advert pasted in its lift "Mummy which pillow will you choose?" Gross misrepresentation. Food served for breakfast buffet was okay. Location was excellent - walking distance to shops and food stalls in town. I'll trade in this hotel anyday for a better 3 star hotel...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyan ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazhahmad, Website Room Reservation at Muar Traders Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank your for your comment.

We will take note of your comment. As for the room problem, we are truly sorry about it and we will take note to improve it.

Hope you will continue to support us.
Thank you.

Warmest Regards,

The Management
Muar Traders Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

me and my family checked in on a very nice Saturday afternoon. we did not have reservation made since it was not a planned staying at Muar. the reception gave the rate of RM188.00++. it was ok for me since this is 2nd largest hotel in Muar (i believe Classic Hotel is the largest). but the scary part started when we reach our room. it was a small room with smelly and dirty carpet. the aircond was noisy and warm. there is no way to make the temperature cooler.

the service was just so-so. the reception seems not friendly. i shows when i asked question, they are not interested to answer. they asked for RM 5 for each additional towel and pillow.

i will update with some photos taken. the only good thing was the view from top floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amatasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muar
0.2 mi away
Muo Boutique Hotels
Muo Boutique Hotels
#1 of 13 in Muar
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tropicana Boutique Hotel
22.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#32 of 166 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 166 in Melaka
487 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muar Traders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muar Traders Hotel

Property: Muar Traders Hotel
Address: No 16 Jalan Petrie, Muar 84000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Muar District > Muar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Muar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Muar Traders Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Muar Traders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing