We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Batu Pahat
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Acceptable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel in June 2014 for 2 nights. The room that I booked was Super Deluxe Room. My comments are as follows:

Pros:
1) The location of the hotel is not bad as it is just located next to "The Store".
2) Staffs are very friendly, especially receptionists and those who served the breakfast
3) Staffs are very responsive too. I requested for additional pillows, and they are sent to my room immediately.
4) The cleanliness of the room is still acceptable
5) The room is spacious. It has a fridge and TV reception is not bad.
6) The design of the room is not bad (as shown in the photos taken). Although the chairs are not practical to use but they looked nice
7) There is a restaurant inside the hotel. The price of the food is considered reasonable and more importantly, they taste good
8) Newspaper is given freely daily. You can choose either Sin Chew or New Straits Times

Cons:
1) Parking lot is limited and parking slots are quite small. If you are driving big cars, you will be facing problem parking your cars.
2) The cleanliness of the room is still acceptable but towels and pillow cases looked old and yellowish.
3) No mineral water bottles were provided in the room. Luckily I brought my own bottles.
4) The design of the bathroom is quite a let down. You have no choice but to take shower in a bathtub with dirt stains. And every time after shower, the floor gets wet.
5) The buffet breakfast has limited choices but the taste is still acceptable.
6) Guests have no control over the temperature of the air conditioning system. They can either switch on or switch off the Air Cond only.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    24
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
6
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Having a business trip at Batu Pahat and we decided to stay at this hotel. The room is find, not much special, the air condition was a bit old system, the ceiling was spoiled and all come out. The price for this hotel also not expensive. Breakfast is good, got a lot of choice, the home made blueberry (don't know is blueberry or not) but it is delicious with the bread. Everyday have difference choice of food; fried mee, nasi lemak and so on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuatSiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Staying at the deluxe room at reasonable price as compared to other hotel available. Room is clean & spacious. I think they have just renovated the room. Too bad i was given a smoking room, so the smell is there. However, the sound proof system is poor, so u can hear the all the noises from your next-door. Breakfast choice is just nice for people with normal appetite. All in all, i am satisfied with this hotel for the price i paid, would recommend for business traveller

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheahNee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Again another regular place to stay for the night. Always book this place when I have to attend meetings in Batu Pahat. Can't expect much from the service but then why should I complain. As far as I am concern, this place is value for money and I can see that they are putting in the effort to upgrade and make it more comfortable for their guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCheng01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Checked into this hotel for a business trip. Basic room with no fridge or safe deposit box, but they do offer deposit boxes at their reception counter.

Bed is a bit on the hard side which I personally prefer. Bed sheets were clean. Toilet is soso, bathtub i guess is a bit old as it has little scratch marks on them. Hot water is available outside the room in a common area. Wifi speed is ok for general browsing.

The Summit mall is just at the back of the hotel, so it's about 3mins walk. Batu Pahat Mall, which is newer and bigger, is also close, about 10mins' drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed in Deluxe Room couple of times for business trip. The room is new, bright and clean, just like the photo posted in their website. Hotel provide utensils and coffee, you can get hot water from water dispenser on the same floor. No fridge provided. The hotel is easy to locate as it is just beside the main road. Limited car park but there isn't a problem as you can always park at The Store car park (just next to Crystal Inn). Just make sure that you in/out during The Store business hours. Breakfast provided, consider quite varienty of choice for the price you pay. Overall it is good enough as a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Try not to choose room 0-4 for every floor (near to lift) else you may be distrupted by mid night mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stef_nsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at Crystal Inn for a night for the BP Downmall Race. Nobody stayed in the Standard Rooms which had no window as they are surrounded by other rooms. Some of us stayed in Deluxe Rooms which had a bathtub. One group stayed in a Super Deluxe which allowed an extra bed, or 02 mattresses, making it 03 or 04 people occupancy.

The Deluxe Room had a Queen Bed and our room was peaceful as it was at the back of the hotel building, opposite another building, in the rows of X13-X17. X can be the floor: 1, 2, 3 or 4. Room 115 had a small flat screen TV whereas some other rooms still had small box TVs. Wifi worked well in the rooms. The ironing board, bathtub and shower curtain certainly looked like they were well overused and in need of retirement. The bed was comfortable and there were many lighting switches. Rooms X13-X17 also had windows which could be opened up for smokers. Friends staying in Rooms X18-X20 area complained of the noise as they were located closer to the main road.

The Summit Mall was nearby (5 minutes walking) and we had a nice dinner at a restaurant further down from the mall (10-15 minutes walking) called After Taste 99. The restaurant also offered free wifi. The assam fish was super yummy, and a large cup of fruit juice (about a litre) cost only RM5 (pure juice). Very nice place for a meal indeed.

Still on food... the breakfast at Crystal Inn was fine. We were there 10 minutes before closing and of course, most food was wiped out. The porridge was delicious though... Help yourselves to the toppings. However, if you were to order scrambled eggs or omelette, be prepared to be charged RM5.90 each. We ordered 2 but didn't even finish 1, and we were also not informed of the charges until we left the restaurant and were later approached upon our return.

Overall, it's a good value-for-money stay.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms X13-X17 which are away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank immerz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batu Pahat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Katerina Hotel
The Katerina Hotel
#1 of 15 in Batu Pahat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pinetree Hotel
Pinetree Hotel
#7 of 15 in Batu Pahat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pintar
Hotel Pintar
#2 of 15 in Batu Pahat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&S Boutique Hotel
B&S Boutique Hotel
#9 of 15 in Batu Pahat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Landmark Hotel
The Landmark Hotel
#5 of 15 in Batu Pahat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#11 of 15 in Batu Pahat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn

Property: Crystal Inn
Address: Crystal Inn Jalan Zabedah | Off Jalan Tengkat Tong Shin, Batu Pahat 83000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Batu Pahat District > Batu Pahat
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Batu Pahat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Batu Pahat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing