We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grotty Experience”
Review of B&S Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&S Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Batu Pahat
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Grotty Experience”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family 5 of us stayed at Premier Grand Deluxe (3 pax, RM148 nett) and Super Grand Deluxe (2 pax, RM148 nett) for 1 night. What a grotty experience we had, wonder how could it be ranked no.1 in tripadvisor.

Pros:

1. Central location.

2. Receptionist was helpful.

3. Toilet was clean.


Cons:

1. The rooms were obviously worn out and the wall had coffee stains, water leaking stains, paints dropped off, the designer chair and the cushion were dirty.

2. The bedsheets, pillow covers, quilt covers were no longer white, they were indeed light grey in color. These are the most important things to keep hygenic but the hotel failed to keep them new and clean.

3. The pillows were flat, I guess the hotels did not change to new ones ever since they opened 3 years ago.

4. Wifi not working. Very weak signal.

5. Lousy breakfast. Nasi Lemak, Fried noodles, sambal eggs, baked beans, thinly cut sausage, Porridge with chai poh, ikan bilis, peanuts, spring onions, shallots, bread with butter and jam. that's all. Worse was the food all not kept warm, even the coffee and the tea was not hot at all. The only highlight was the sambal egg (since no meat can be found) and it took a long time to replenish. Awful meal.

6. i requested for iron and ironing board, the iron was old and the ironing board was even worse, it couldn't even stand still.

7. Low quality shampoo and bath gel. Did not expect very good quality but this really need to be improved.

8. Sound proof was very bad. The toilet doors apparently didn't work well for each room, you have to bang the door in order to close it. This was disturbing as some other hotel guests they came back at 2 or 3am, bang the door and literally woke us up. It was very clear to hear when people walked or talked from outside or next door, my family could not sleep well at all.

Overall a very bad experience, I do not think it deserve no.1 hotel in Batu Pahat. We do not recommend it at all. Though a room cost RM150 (cheaper than PIne Tree and Katerina), we will not go back to the hotel again due to the cons above. Without quality sleep and clean beds, we were extremely tired the next day to attend relatives' wedding. Should have paid more for better hotels.

Please be reminded to request for tooth brush, wifi password etc when you check in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank slchew720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
5
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We were given free upgrade (only RM10) to a much bigger room with window view. The room is very clean and nice. Aircon is good! Flat Sony tv is good. Location is pretty centralised, walking distance to bus terminal where buses n taxi are c there to pick passengers. Surrounding is not nosey as what others commented. About 15mins walking distance from hotel to the Submit shopping mall. The cafe environment is nice, breakfast is reasonable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Parkstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I choosed this hotel after reading the review. I really love the family room, it is well designed. My son really love the room. There are ample parking behind the hotel. The staffs are very friendly. There was not very much choice of breakfast. This hotel is middle of the town, it is nearly to Batu Pahat bus station and temples. In request, they give kettle, no coffee or tea in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Frankly this is not my first choice hotel. My other primary choices were fully booked up for the day I wanted to stay, so I called up this hotel about vacancy.
Surprisingly, there are tons of rooms available. I wondered why as in the past, they sell out pretty fast on peak/holiday/festive weekends.

Reservation was taken with no deposit required.
When I arrived, reception acknowledged my prior booking. Good
The staff speak very good English and I was very impressed. Even in KL, I find very few can converse well in English.

I booked a simple (no windows) room with a queen bed. Since there are other options available, I changed to a bigger room (1 queen and 1 single) for RM30 more which also comes with additional breakfast voucher and towel + corresponding toiletries

Room was clean although it is showing its age. Simple basic with wall -mounted LCD and a mini fridge on the floor. A quick scan behind the fridge showed the house-keeping haven't touch / clean that area for ages. So, confirmed most house-keepers would only clean on area what you can see. Lighting was above average with ample lightings here and there. I could read my newspaper well. Incidentally, newspaper is provided free if you ask for it on the check in day.

Toilet was decent sized with a small partition for shower. No tub but the 'rain-shower' head was a better option to me than a tub. Standard soap + shampoo + bath gel were provided.
Water pressure was very good despite room is on 3rd floor . 4th floor is the highest

Depending on the person is a good sleeper or lite sleeper, one's can't hep ignoring traffic noises from main road. Beds being couple of years old were soft. Same went to pillows. Linen were clean and smell free
Sleep were very average due to the noise. We were awaken very early (even it was a Sunday) by loud traffic noises. My room was overseeing the junction so it could attribute more

Breakfast place was conveniently located on 3rd floor too. Fact the hotel is on 3rd floor saved for the reception area. Buffet spread was thin being simple fried rice and fried mee as main staple. Others included toast bread and cereal. Coffee and tea were standard. Cordial (orange flavored) drink replaced more traditional orange juice. No cut fresh fruits.

By the way, parking was ample behind the hotel.
There a reason the locals would avoid this hotel . PM me if you like to know

Room Tip: even it is noisy, choose a room facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kawanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is located in a building that houses offices, church and and also a massage parlor. The hotel is located on the 3rd floor sandwiched in between. They share the same lift, there is no security on hotel floor to ensure no unauthorized visitors. The room is okay in size, bed is comfortable and the shower is probably the best facility in the room. The hallway is badly lighted , my wife waited for my return on the ground floor reception before going to the room. Security is a major concern.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quds54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I booked a standard room for one night after seeing so much positive reviews on this hotel.
The hotel staff were friendly and provided us a fridge, kettle and hair dryer upon request as these were not standard items in the room.
However the rooms are worn out and the management should look at ways to keep the rooms in good condition. The shower area is partially enclosed only and when a person showers, the whole bathroom get flooded and wet. It is quite inconvenient and messy.
Also there is strong cigarette smell in the corridors and rooms and this is a major turn off for non smokers.
Since this hotel is in town center, do expect it to be noisy at all times from the surrounding areas.
Lastly this hotel is good value for money and suitable if it is a short stay. For me, I would pay a little more and get a more comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: only for short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SW T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batu Pahat hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Yes, the hotel is centrally located, shops and restaurants all walking distance. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, even for my standard room. The room is air-conditioned and has a tv, which is ok for local stuff. It's good value, nice location and decent place. The also have a massage place in the hotel. It's fine for 1-2 nights.

Room Tip: Don't choose to stay on the 3rd floor, choose 1st or 2nd floor. The function rooms are on 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougPeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batu Pahat hotels
0.6 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#3 of 14 in Batu Pahat
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinetree Hotel
Pinetree Hotel
#5 of 14 in Batu Pahat
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Katerina Hotel
The Katerina Hotel
#1 of 14 in Batu Pahat
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pintar
Hotel Pintar
#2 of 14 in Batu Pahat
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landmark Hotel
The Landmark Hotel
#8 of 14 in Batu Pahat
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#12 of 14 in Batu Pahat
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&S Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&S Boutique Hotel

Property: B&S Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Jalan Abu | Plaza Lian Hoe, Batu Pahat 83000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Batu Pahat District > Batu Pahat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Batu Pahat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&S Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are strategically located in the heart of Batu Pahat town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your B&S Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b And s Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing