We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Hotel”
Review of B&S Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&S Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Batu Pahat
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Value Hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for its location. Smack in the middle of town. Plenty of food to choose from during the day. By nightfall, there's practically nothing to eat as the town shuts down for the night.
Batu Pahat feels like a ghost town as you drive around at night. The hotel offers top value for your money. It's a no-frills hotel yet providing modern amenities to satisfy your stay. Good shower, no plumbing problems, modern decor, tiled floors for hygiene, 12 TV channels, solid security doors and a nice firm mattress. White linen is used which is good and there's plenty of shelf space for baggage. I had no problems with reception. They speak English too. Wifi is also good.

Room Tip: There's no need to choose a room. Every room looks out onto the roads. The hotel is surrounded b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ric_L123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
5
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Rooms are well maintained and clean. Breakfast selection are limited, amenities provided are basic (towels and soap only). Quite noisy during the night since I could hear people drumming- I thinks because there was a karaoke or entertainment nearby to the hotel. I was travelling alone so I didnt mind much lol. Simply love the 'Nasi goreng kampung' ordered from the Menu as it was the most missed part from the hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room which is near to the water filter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Breakfast food selection is very limited.
Hotel amenities provided are very basic - no extra items like toothbrush & combs. Kettle looks old, heating rod looks brown. Very limited channels. Noise outside can be heard easily. Renovation seems nice but overall experience is less than satisfactory. Price paid is considered high for this basic hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penguinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family 5 of us stayed at Premier Grand Deluxe (3 pax, RM148 nett) and Super Grand Deluxe (2 pax, RM148 nett) for 1 night. What a grotty experience we had, wonder how could it be ranked no.1 in tripadvisor.

Pros:

1. Central location.

2. Receptionist was helpful.

3. Toilet was clean.


Cons:

1. The rooms were obviously worn out and the wall had coffee stains, water leaking stains, paints dropped off, the designer chair and the cushion were dirty.

2. The bedsheets, pillow covers, quilt covers were no longer white, they were indeed light grey in color. These are the most important things to keep hygenic but the hotel failed to keep them new and clean.

3. The pillows were flat, I guess the hotels did not change to new ones ever since they opened 3 years ago.

4. Wifi not working. Very weak signal.

5. Lousy breakfast. Nasi Lemak, Fried noodles, sambal eggs, baked beans, thinly cut sausage, Porridge with chai poh, ikan bilis, peanuts, spring onions, shallots, bread with butter and jam. that's all. Worse was the food all not kept warm, even the coffee and the tea was not hot at all. The only highlight was the sambal egg (since no meat can be found) and it took a long time to replenish. Awful meal.

6. i requested for iron and ironing board, the iron was old and the ironing board was even worse, it couldn't even stand still.

7. Low quality shampoo and bath gel. Did not expect very good quality but this really need to be improved.

8. Sound proof was very bad. The toilet doors apparently didn't work well for each room, you have to bang the door in order to close it. This was disturbing as some other hotel guests they came back at 2 or 3am, bang the door and literally woke us up. It was very clear to hear when people walked or talked from outside or next door, my family could not sleep well at all.

Overall a very bad experience, I do not think it deserve no.1 hotel in Batu Pahat. We do not recommend it at all. Though a room cost RM150 (cheaper than PIne Tree and Katerina), we will not go back to the hotel again due to the cons above. Without quality sleep and clean beds, we were extremely tired the next day to attend relatives' wedding. Should have paid more for better hotels.

Please be reminded to request for tooth brush, wifi password etc when you check in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank slchew720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Batu Pahat hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We were given free upgrade (only RM10) to a much bigger room with window view. The room is very clean and nice. Aircon is good! Flat Sony tv is good. Location is pretty centralised, walking distance to bus terminal where buses n taxi are c there to pick passengers. Surrounding is not nosey as what others commented. About 15mins walking distance from hotel to the Submit shopping mall. The cafe environment is nice, breakfast is reasonable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Parkstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I choosed this hotel after reading the review. I really love the family room, it is well designed. My son really love the room. There are ample parking behind the hotel. The staffs are very friendly. There was not very much choice of breakfast. This hotel is middle of the town, it is nearly to Batu Pahat bus station and temples. In request, they give kettle, no coffee or tea in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Frankly this is not my first choice hotel. My other primary choices were fully booked up for the day I wanted to stay, so I called up this hotel about vacancy.
Surprisingly, there are tons of rooms available. I wondered why as in the past, they sell out pretty fast on peak/holiday/festive weekends.

Reservation was taken with no deposit required.
When I arrived, reception acknowledged my prior booking. Good
The staff speak very good English and I was very impressed. Even in KL, I find very few can converse well in English.

I booked a simple (no windows) room with a queen bed. Since there are other options available, I changed to a bigger room (1 queen and 1 single) for RM30 more which also comes with additional breakfast voucher and towel + corresponding toiletries

Room was clean although it is showing its age. Simple basic with wall -mounted LCD and a mini fridge on the floor. A quick scan behind the fridge showed the house-keeping haven't touch / clean that area for ages. So, confirmed most house-keepers would only clean on area what you can see. Lighting was above average with ample lightings here and there. I could read my newspaper well. Incidentally, newspaper is provided free if you ask for it on the check in day.

Toilet was decent sized with a small partition for shower. No tub but the 'rain-shower' head was a better option to me than a tub. Standard soap + shampoo + bath gel were provided.
Water pressure was very good despite room is on 3rd floor . 4th floor is the highest

Depending on the person is a good sleeper or lite sleeper, one's can't hep ignoring traffic noises from main road. Beds being couple of years old were soft. Same went to pillows. Linen were clean and smell free
Sleep were very average due to the noise. We were awaken very early (even it was a Sunday) by loud traffic noises. My room was overseeing the junction so it could attribute more

Breakfast place was conveniently located on 3rd floor too. Fact the hotel is on 3rd floor saved for the reception area. Buffet spread was thin being simple fried rice and fried mee as main staple. Others included toast bread and cereal. Coffee and tea were standard. Cordial (orange flavored) drink replaced more traditional orange juice. No cut fresh fruits.

By the way, parking was ample behind the hotel.
There a reason the locals would avoid this hotel . PM me if you like to know

Room Tip: even it is noisy, choose a room facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kawanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batu Pahat hotels
0.6 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#3 of 14 in Batu Pahat
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Katerina Hotel
The Katerina Hotel
#1 of 14 in Batu Pahat
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinetree Hotel
Pinetree Hotel
#4 of 14 in Batu Pahat
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pintar
Hotel Pintar
#2 of 14 in Batu Pahat
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Landmark Hotel
The Landmark Hotel
#8 of 14 in Batu Pahat
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#11 of 14 in Batu Pahat
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&S Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&S Boutique Hotel

Property: B&S Boutique Hotel
Address: 8 Jalan Abu | Plaza Lian Hoe, Batu Pahat 83000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Batu Pahat District > Batu Pahat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Batu Pahat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&S Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are strategically located in the heart of Batu Pahat town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your B&S Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b And s Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing