We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likeable hotel with comments”
Review of Hotel Aregarden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aregarden
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Are
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Likeable hotel with comments”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Charming hotel with very good hotel facilities but only OK rooms. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were surprisingly good. Very nice lobby area with tables and bar and cheerful and big living room. In the basement quite a big and decent discotheque. Also in the basement a spa and ski storage room. The rooms were average, with typical no frills scandinavian modern furniture and decoration. A very simple, though spacious bath room. Most annoying was that the rom temperature is way too hot and that it is not possible to adjust the room temperature other than by opening or closing your window. I saw a pulldown wall-mounted bed but that will turn your room in to a wall-to-wall 4 person bed, very cramped. WiFi is free, but when you are on the first floor, near the elevator at the far end the signal was limited. For single or couples that do not plan to spend any time in their room other than for sleeping and showering I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    27
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
35
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Best location in Åre! Nice bar/lounge to hang around for post skiing drinks.

The room (double with extra fold down bed) had a large and comfortable bed. Room is quite cramped, especially with the fold down bed in use. Some wear and tear. No individual temperature control in the room - we found it way to hot and had to sleep with the window open which made it a tad to cold early in the morning.

Service is adequate and friendly but with a certain lack of enthusiasm.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Good rooms and nicely clean. The rooms are, at least 401, a bit dated and somewhat not suffcielty insulated against noice from the noice outside.
The room is however perfect if you travel with kids. Breakfast is good, not fantastic. Location is the best in Åre, steps from the old lift and in the hart of the restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevan-cjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Diplomat Hotel in Are during the summer, and it was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. The hotel looked completely charming and welcoming as we were walking up to it, fulfilling every fantasy of a cute and cozy cottage in the mountains. We found the same warm and welcoming ambiance in every aspect of the hotel, from the extremely friendly and helpful desk staff during check-in, to the well-appointed but charmingly rustic room, to the cozy lobby and front sun room that invited us to relax and watch the activity along the street in front of the hotel.

The best part of our stay at the Diplomat was the fact that it almost felt like we were honored guests at the stately home of very good friends. During the four days of our stay, we were on a first-name basis with several of the staff members, who not only provided impeccable professional service, but also offered tips on what to see and do in Are and even told us about what life was like in Are during the high and low seasons. Granted, we stayed there right at the beginning of the summer season, when both the hotel and the city were not very busy--but the fact that the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home really made our stay special.

The location of the Diplomat could not be better, right on the main street of the town (although you don't need to worry--the "main street" of Are is far from a major thoroughfare). You can walk from the hotel to all of the good restaurants and shops in town, as well as the ski lifts. (I should mention that you can use the ski lifts in the summer to ride to the top of the hills for the views and for some great hiking.)

As I said, the room had an appealing rustic mountain decor, but with very high-end linens and toiletries which made it more of a luxury experience. The room was large and airy, with a spectacular view of both the mountains and valley.

I should also note that although Are is known as one of the premier ski destinations in Sweden, it is a lovely place for a summer retreat. The temperature is cool and pleasant and the hiking is spectacular. One thing we weren't prepared for is the number of mountain bikers. In case you weren't aware, Are seems to be the mountain biking capital of Sweden. No need to worry, however--they don't seem to stay at the Diplomat!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed for 1 week skiing (booked with Nielson) in this Hotel. Rooms vere good size, clean and quiet, large drying cabinett, tea and coffee facilities were in the room.
Very nice breakfast room, good selection for breakfast. Everyone speaks excellent English, and most staff is very helpfull. The spa facilities were small but very clean as everything and adaequate, with Dry Sauna (male and female seperated, so no family sauna) and a swimming pool.My husband has arranged for massae which was very good and I used the spa as well and was very happy with the treatment. The only downside was the dinner arrangements. We have booked half board, and were told dinner was served only between 7 and 8 pm. There was no choice, it was a 2 course set dinner, good quality and very tasty, but no salad bar or bread which seemed to be quite strange for the class of hotel. We managed to get dinner later on some days by prior arrangement, as we wanted to go for some other afternoon - early evening events, which made it impossible to attend dinner at the prescibed time. Although the staff was helpfull and tried to accommodate it felt very uncomfortable as it was asking them doing us a favour we were not entiteled to. But knowing this now, we would probably go back but choose B&B only.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kast1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed there for one night with our dog. The rooms allowed for animals are by all understanding not the most fashionable ones. We were however very pleased with warm welcome and the cozy furnished room with lovely beds. I was particularly happy about the big bathtub as the outdoor temperature was below -25. The common areas offers an open stove and soft couches to chill out in after a long day in the slopes. The breakfast buffet is rather small but very nice with some locally produced food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our 3rd consecutive trip to the resort of Åre and the Diplomat, so that must say something about the quality of them both. Skiing and staying in Sweden is so different to other European resorts. The people are very warm and friendly, speak excellent English, the instruction is fantastic, the resort is well organised and the selection of shops and bars fantastic. Åre isn't too cheap, its about the same price as London, but the quality is AMAZING!

Now to the Diplomat. This is a hotel that when you walk through the doors you get a warm feeling. The lounge and bar is a combination of old and cosy, with a funky vibe. The rooms are well equipped and very pleasant. They have warming cupboards to dry all your ski gear. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hotel, and there is cable tv and free wifi. Ski Storages is in the basement and the hotel is ideally located for the Bergbana lift as well as the efficient ski-bus to other ski areas. There is a small but quiet pool in the basement, with a small spa and sauna facilities that are free to use. Massages and other therapy are also available.

The breakfast is served in the very pleasant Mattsall in the basement, which is light and spacious with great selection of cereals, meats, cheese, bread and hot food such as egg and bacon. There is also a very relaxed library room with soft sofas, books and games - great to sprawl in at the end of the day.

The downside to the Diplomat in 2011 and 2012 has been the evening meal arrangements for Neilson customers. In our 1st trip in 2010, we were treated very well, with wonderful meals served in the Skafferi restaurants attached to the hotel. While the menus were set, we enjoyed Swedish food imaginatively prepared and beautifully served. In 2011, the location was changed to a quaint room off the main lounge. This wasn't too bad, our tables were reserved and set up for us and the food was still good. In 2012, we were served in the same room, but a couple of table mats were and some cutlery were casually thrown on the table when we arrived to eat. No bread was offered with our meals this year, and the menu was less imaginative. This may sound harsh but when you are paying over 2k each year for the accommodation I do feel that this issue needs to be tackled by Neilson and the Hotel. Also, as we were the only Neilson guests in week 5, we ate our meals on our own. We would have preferred to have been seated with all the Swedes in the Mattsall for our evening meals. I have raised this issue with the hotel in the questionnaire this year and last, but have not had any contact. Oh, and if the piped music they insist on playing in the hotel gets on your nerves, do as them to turn it down. The staff seem to dislike it as much as we did!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michduncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Are hotels
3.2 mi away
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Fjallgarden Hotel
Fjallgarden Hotel
#4 of 9 in Are
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Are
Holiday Club Are
#3 of 9 in Are
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Granen Hotel
Granen Hotel
#6 of 9 in Are
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tott Hotel Are
Tott Hotel Are
#2 of 9 in Are
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Are Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aregarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aregarden

Property: Hotel Aregarden
Address: 81 Aarevaegen, Are 830 13, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Are
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aregarden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and exclusive mountain hotel dating from 1895, in the heart of Are. It has 54 rooms, 3 apartment suites, a lobby bar, two restaurants and a nightclub. The hotel has extensive views across Lake Åresjön and the mountains, while its unique location means that it is just a stone's throw from slopes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aregarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing