We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tott Hotel Are

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tott Hotel Are
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Are
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a great hotel that serves a fantastic breakfast. The location is good as it's a short walk to town and ski in/ski out is a bit dicey, no pathway after the bridge so it's very slippery! The t-bar that accesses the mountain is great and there are hardly any lines. The hotel has a ski rental shop which saves you heading into to town and also aprez, drinner and a club! The only downside is the nightclub going on until 2am! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    105
    49
    26
    13
See reviews for
142
67
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having read many average views for this Hotel we were delighted to find that it was actually fabulous. A mini suite was plenty of room for 2 adults and children with very good kitchen facilities. The room was crisp, clean, good comfortable beds & linen with a refreshing Scandi style -no unnecessary frills. Plenty of storage even for all our skis & boots. The breakfast is quite special, fresh healthy food (but bring coffee if you like a kick to it -cafetiere provided in kitchen). B&B deal was good and enabled us to eat out /in Tott/ self cater) v good lunch and supper deals for children. Ski in /out with a ski hire shop in the Hotel makes life very easy indeed. The spa was ideal & includes a cold plunge pool, 3 saunas,2 jaczzis and a good sized pool with a bar at hand - children are very welcome and the Swedes were very sociable. If you want the spa to yourself with fewer families just avoid the busy 5-7pm period. The walk down into Are square is a swift 5-10 min walk and the hill is nowhere near as bad as previous reviewers make out - anybody who is ski fit will think nothing of it. The night skiing is quite special but unfortunately the bus link system to get to V8 (the area for night skiing) is rubbish! we walked the half mile in our boots with skis (kids aged 5 & 8) in the end and had to get a taxi back to Tott (about 12 pounds), if the links were better we would have done this a few times more as the lighting is magical. The apres ski is unlike the Alps in many ways (no wild drunk Brits to be found) but still fun, the Fjiallgarden is well located to enable you to ski back down to Tott. In terms of skiing we put the kids into Swedish ski school in Rodkullen, we missed our 11am lesson on the first Day as we couldn't make it in time (quite a few lifts/runs away and our kids had done 2 weeks skiing previously) however the ski school were extremely accommodating and fitted them in for the 3pm lesson instead and then continued on day 2 at 11am. They were the only non Swedes in the lessons but the instructors made them feel at home and they were keen to go back on subsequent days. Amazing that a 90 min lesson seem to get equal results to a 3 hour session in France. The variety of skiing was great for us - lots of long blues and reds through the woods with very wide pistes and lots of 'off piste' detours through the woods. If you are into black moguls at every turn you will be disappointed but there are plenty of steep reds and there are of course some blacks. There are however lots of made man made jumping parks - with AMAZING feats being performed by boarders and skiers alike in terms of acrobatic jumping so I think this made up for the lack of black runs in terms of adrenaline rushes. Was it expensive? NO more than Switzerland or the high French Alps. Would we go back -definitely YES!! We visited the Copperhill Hotel also -it was beautiful but a little bit out of the way, and the so we'd go back to Tott in preference.

Room Tip: get a room with a lake view - it is v v special, the sunset was magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tryunderthethatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We went to Åre for a Kick-Off with managment team. While the Suite that we shared was and the view were truly great the service could have been better. First of all bathrobes were not incl. in a suite which I consider bad. Also, during the stay they never cleaned our rooms!!! Which is actually unbelievabel. Third, our roomkeys expired every day even though we had booked a 4 day stay - this meant we had to go every day back to the reception and had to get them fixed.
However, breakfast was simple but very nice. And it has its own lift directly at a skiing piste!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TottHotell, Hotelldirektör at Tott Hotel Are, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Google Translation
Hej Anna,

Tråkigt att er vistelse på Tott Hotell inte uppfyllde era förväntningar, jag beklagar verkligen detta.
Självklart ska hotellrummen städas varje dag, nycklarna ska funka men vi vet av erfarenhet att de avmagnetiseras om man har nyckel när telefon etc. Badrockar på rummen har vi tyvärr inte som standard men det går att ordna om man kontaktar receptionen.
Kontakta mig gärna om du vill så kan jag få veta var ni bodde och kan på så sätt ta reda på hur det kommer sig att städningen uteblev under er vistelse.

Bästa hälsningar,
Andréa Abrahamsson / Hotellchef & HR-ansvarig
Tott Hotell Åre - Visby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had a good stay there, good value for money, but I think they could do a bit better. The location and view is great, the breakfast is very good, but the facilities seem to be run a little bit half-hearted. In my room, there was no soap and there were no towels to start with. One of the two elevators was broken and over a period of 4 days it wasn't fixed - this isn't a small hotel and it's facilities stretch over 6 floors - imagine the traffic jam in full ski gear, families, bags, not fun. The Spa/pool/sauna has some great features, but was crammed and one has to bring one's own towels from the room. Overall, a good stay and good fun, but don't expect perfection.

Room Tip: Choose the southern wing, the parts of the hotel towards the lake. 4th floor rooms facing Are have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel15667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Tott Hotel commands a superb view over the picturesque village of Åre. The location is amazingly convenient for skiing (there is a bridge from the fourth floor of the hotel to a ski-lift). It is also convenient for the village, which is a steep 5 minute walk away.

We stayed for a few days around New Year's Eve. The overall hotel scene was very cosy and the staff are very friendly and helpful, but you just get the feeling everything could be a good bit better. The overall service is fairly average to be honest. The New Year's Dinner package ended up being very over-priced (£90 / 900 SKR per head) for pretty awful, luke-warm food with a band that got delayed due to power problems, but struggled a bit on the singing front anyway. There was a discount at check-out due to the problems, but no actual apology or acknowledgement that there was any problem or for the disappointment.

The room was modern, clean and functional. The shower curtain was missing when we arrived and never got replaced. There is no heating control (or at least not anything that works). We turned the radiators off but the place was still too hot. Of the four nights we stayed, the room was serviced just once. At the end of your stay, you are asked to empty your rubbish and take it to the garbage room in the hotel basement - seriously!!! One of the two lobby elevators was out of order the whole time we stayed. Our friends arrived to find a trunk freezer in their bedroom! There was a note to say 'please don't turn off'. It hummed all night and took up most of the space in the small bedroom. When they asked about it at reception, the response was simply 'how odd, I wonder why that is there?'. Hilarious!

BUT…

Great location. Clean. Great views from restaurant. On-site Ski Hire / Shop from Skistar. Friendly staff. Reasonable vlaue. Rooms modern and well appointed. It's a great 3 star hotel in reality, but could easily be a 4* plus if there was a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotEnoughHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Are, Sweden is a beautiful village and the Tott affords an amazing view over the lake with ski in/ski out access to the mountain. As others have said, the breakfast is really good. The ski rental shop is right on the premises and the town is a five minute walk away (very slippery though!) Also, the beds are comfortable with good mattresses. That said, the rooms are tiny and austere and the service is spotty. Not a photo on the wall, dull white paint throughout, tiny windows, no in-room safe or minibar, no temperature control, extra charge for pool towels, (towels are crunchy not soft), cleaning services totally inconsistent - some days they come and some days they don't, elevator not working our entire stay, phone in the room not working and no bell hops at all. These things didn't ruin our vacation. We had a lovely time. Just don't expect anything close to posh. This is a Holiday Inn on a good day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelover41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel was very good value compared to other hotels in Åre. Our room was really really tiny (double compact), so if you want to have some space, it might be worth booking something bigger. Breakfast was great, and the spa area was really good. A perfect way to relax after a few hours on the slopes!

Room Tip: Don't choose a compact room if you need some space, because there's not much of it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Håkan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Are hotels
3.1 mi away
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Holiday Club Are
Holiday Club Are
#4 of 9 in Are
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fjallgarden Hotel
Fjallgarden Hotel
#3 of 9 in Are
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aregarden
Hotel Aregarden
#5 of 9 in Are
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Granen Hotel
Granen Hotel
#6 of 9 in Are
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Are Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tott Hotel Are? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tott Hotel Are

Property: Tott Hotel Are
Address: Tottvagen 111, Are 830 14, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Are
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tott Hotel Are 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tott Hotel Åre - The skiers choise in Åre! Welcome to Tott Hotel Åre! Tott Hotel is situated in one of Åres prime locations with magnificent views over the mountains, Åresjön (the lake) and Åre village. At Tott you live next door to the slopes aswell as the village, ideal if you want to experience an active holiday and live close to everything! In the restaurant you can enjoy grilled and smoked dishes from the swedish kitchen with local roots in Jämtland. Gym and Spa, with a large indoor pool, bubble pool, treatment room and sauna, are always included at Tott Hotell Åre. You will always find the best rates online on our site. Book a room, studio or a suite and experience Tott Hotel Åre this winter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tott Hotel Are reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn Are

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing