We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was out of season still very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fjallgarden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fjallgarden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Are
Certificate of Excellence
malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it was out of season still very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were travelling with some sweedish friends and wanted to stop for the night so we got on the GPS to find us an affordable place. When we arrived and seen the place from outside we were going to leave as we thought it is going to be expensive but because it was in September and out of season we were given a very good rate. The rooms were a little bit small but after all you are only in the room to sleep. A lot was put in the design of the furnishing. We made it a point that on our way back we stop for another night.Definately would recomened the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjeMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    29
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
28
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Ok, the hotel has a very good view and the lobby looks very nice, but the rooms were extremely tiny. And just to make it even smaller they left the the extra bed in out the room.

The restaurant was only open from 6-8 pm (ok, it's summer, we might have the accept that), but when we asked (before we arrived to the hotel) what to do then the answer from the person in the reception was a snorky "well, then you would have to eat before you arrive". I would have expected something more like a help to find a place to eat in Åre (of which there were some places we found out on our own).

Breakfast ok in the morning.

Well, good standard of the hotel (except for the small rooms) but some receptionists that might need some extra classes on hospitality. Worth mentioning was that the guy checking us in seemed all right (can't blame all of the staff). If you are going to have a hotel, please try to get customers by being helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

It was like going back in time. A lovely comfortable hotel at the end of the Piste Food good and very comfortable. Room sl small but great stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnwj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We visited here with our babygirl and grandmom and will do it again next time.

Though the downside was that transforming from a after-ski place to a fine dine dinner place takes time and you had to wait some 15-20 mins before the cleaning (vacuuming, etc) was done.

Food was really good and service was nice, but since it wasn't yet really a season (late January) some minor things were forgotten (table was made for 2, but we were 3) as we had to ask for the additional cutlery etc.

Room Tip: No idea since we only visited the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtnalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

This was our first visit to Fjallgarden but it will definitely not be our last! It is absolutely the best ski-in, ski-out hotel in Sweden. The location is great for skiing, you literally step out the door next to the groundfloor skishop and onto the slopes.The double room that we had booked, however, was quite small but a very nice receptionist helped us to upgrade. The decor was cozy and rustic and reminiscent of a chalet in Aspen with the Swedish touch. The after ski was enjoyable - and the restaurant one of the best in Are. It is also easy to take the mountain railway down to the village (5-10 min) for some party. The one thing that I thought let this place down was that they did not have the outdoor pool open during the winter. Or, it would have been magnificent with one of those hot tubs... next time maybe?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bergkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djursholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Recommend the hotel but be aware of that it´s responsive and that it´s a 3-star hotel. Recommend a room on topfloor so you get a good night´s sleep, which we didn´t get for one week because of toddlers family above our deluxe room.
Very nice food, even if it was a bit monotonous.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swe-connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Are hotels
3.1 mi away
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
0.7 mi away
Holiday Club Are
Holiday Club Are
#4 of 9 in Are
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tott Hotel Are
Tott Hotel Are
#2 of 9 in Are
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aregarden
Hotel Aregarden
#5 of 9 in Are
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Granen Hotel
Granen Hotel
#6 of 9 in Are
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
STF Hotel Are Torg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fjallgarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fjallgarden Hotel

Property: Fjallgarden Hotel
Address: 35 Fjaellgaardsvaegen | Box 15, Are 830 13, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Are
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fjallgarden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the slope - all year round Hotel Fjallgarden enjoys a unique location right in the middle of the slope - and in the middle of all the action. There's no need to lug your ski equipment around with you - just click into your skis and off you go. By using the funicular railway, hopping on a bike or simply hoofing it, you'll be down in Are Square in just a few minutes. We're pretty sure that we have the best location in Are - all the year round. Facts about Hotel Fjallgarden • In the middle of the slope with ski-in/ski-out access • Funicular railway to/from Are Square • 85km from Are Ostersund airport • 64 rooms with 150 beds • Refurbished restaurant & bar • Conference rooms for up to 80 people • Large lounge area with an open fire and a library • Sun terrace with a champagne bar • Apres-ski (winter) • Spa area with saunas and treatments • Hot tubs • Outdoor swimming pool (summer) • Ski rental (winter) • Free wi-fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fjallgarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing