We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, honest burgers thou a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Broken

Broken
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Are
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
227 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good, honest burgers thou a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is the place to go in Åre if you want to sit down and have a burger according to your desire. You will have to communicate to the personal if you want it cooked to anything else then medium.

The menu has a wide choice of different burgers to decent Swedish prices. Starters arrive sometimes as the main course. Our table of 7 ordered 6 different burgers and several of them with extra that and none of that and all burgers arrived at the same time as ordered, thou it took the kitchen a good 30 minutes to prepare them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    107
    35
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mostly good, not always”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Short review here. Little mixed feelings about this place.

It is a great place for relaxed afterski, drinking, hang out with friends. Please try changing the movie on the tele once in a while cause watching ski videos in Åre is rather amuzing, but gets almost annoying when its always the same.

Great music, lively place.

The food is american style. Great burgers, not 5/5 but they are really good. Not so much luck with the other food. Spicy wings is ok, but tastes pretty acidic and a little dry.

Last experience there was a really bad enchilada. There been tasted so sour we thought they were spoiled, at the point we wanted to ask which we almost never ever do. We asked, and after some time got the answer, NO it is not spoiled. Well, ok then we REALLY did not like them i said cause it actually makes us sick. No one came to taste it with us or said sorry. Felt like leaving and we got 20% of that dish, but it ruined the whole meal for both and a good time.

For me that is bad service, at least when we been there so much that week that they even knew us when arriving and got us "our" table. Which is good service. I will put this on the account on inexperienced season based staff, but it left us with a bad feeling. Have not been back there yet. Not that we dislike it so much, but that memory is not nice.

All in all average to poor for food, great for athmosphere and drinking. There are many better places to eat in åre, but Broken appears as a focus point downtown so more consistant quality would be better for the whole town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oistein73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiruna
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“American Style!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

A group of Bikers visited the Restaurant at Kungsgatan Stockholm. Crowdy but friendly! Beer, hamburgers, starters, yes everything tasted good. The staff was really helpful and serviceminded.
I can relly recommend this place for a good party! We will visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirunaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Love this place! Nice staff and the honey mustard chicken is great with the coleslaw.
Mega hamburger were kind mediocre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
471 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Worth the extra money on a tasty burger! Good atmosphere for a beer as well - roughly London prices(£5 for a beer).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beas006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broken also viewed

Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County
Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County
 

Been to Broken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing