We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming hotel of our trip in Laos”
Review of Residence Sisouk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Sisouk
Ranked #2 of 50 Pakse B&B and Inns
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The most charming hotel of our trip in Laos”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Decoration is really well done, the welcoming of the owner is incredible, breakfast is sophisticate and excellent. The complete building is looking great.
I was disappointed not to be able to stay for more nights.
Location is good and it is very quite. Air conditioning
and fan are available for our comfort

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadok2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    82
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
22
149
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A very stylish hotel, with a great little café (Sinouk) attached to it. We tried to book for two nights, but it was fully booked for the second. You may need to book early to secure your room, but it'll be worth it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aitchtee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Very tastefully decorated boutique hotel. We stayed in a room on the fourth floor with a balcony and a view of the river. Comfortable bed, spotless bathroom.

Staff were very helpful. They lent us an umbrella when we were going out in the rain and when we mentioned we were leaving early and wouldn't be having breakfast they very kindly packed juice, crackers and fruit for us as a breakfast to-go.

I would definitely stay here if I came to Pakse again. My only complaint would be the weak wifi.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here in May 2014. Residence Sisouk is small and charming. Gorgeous hardwood floors and staircases, tastefully decorated big rooms, modern bathrooms and balconies with views to the water. Air conditioning, a small bar fridge, a valuables safe and free wifi. Breakfast each morning was fantastic. The coffee was really good and the bread fresh and authentic. The roof top bar was great for unwinding at the end of the day. Lovely hospitality from the owner and staff.

Room Tip: Request the third or fourth floor. Better views were worth the extra stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilytas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After five days working in Pakse, I left with a strong feeling that I would very much love to return only to stay at this very, very nice little hotel. The room was great, very clean and tidy in a tasteful, classic design. The staff with the lovely lady managing the hotel, was so very cooperative and spoilt me with supernice breakfasts and dinners. The location couldn't be better close to the Mekong River and in the middle of the town and finally the additional café on ground floor made the whole stay just as good as it could get - highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaa380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for two days at Lao New Year and had a lovely stay, and it was one of the few places open and still providing excellent service during this week of holidays for the local people. We had an excellent room with balcony at the front of the hotel, and even though there was a huge concert and lots of traffic because of the new year celebrations, we found the room to be quiet and comfortable and a good viewing spot for the watery fun of the local people. The hotel's owner was very keen to maintain standards for tourists and even offered us a lift to Champasak when travel arrangements were difficult due to everything else being closed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are bigger and have a great balcony for street viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyK2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are very satisfied with our stay in Residence Sisouk. The great service started with the airport pick-up, not really cheap but very comfortable and a great opener to a pleasant time in Pakse. Mouk, the very professional lady from the front desk, had everything perfectly organised despite of two changes in our schedule, thanks again for your help.
The place itself is a great combination of old fashioned atmosphere and modern comfort. Our deluxe twin room with river view and balcony was very comfy and stylish with a beautiful wooden floor, the bathroom was very well equipped with everything you would expect in a western upper-class hotel.
Something very special is the old elevator. Do not use it if you suffer from claustrophobia, otherwise it is great fun without being dangerous, even if it stops somewhere on the way, within a few moments somebody comes to get it going again.
Breakfast is perfect, you even get a real cappucino! It is served on the roof top with a great view of the city, unfortunately not open air but you can open the windows instead.
The cafe on the ground floor offers great coffee as well and a nice atmosphere on the terrace where even local people like to come for a drink.
The owners, a Lao couple, treat their guests wtih a lot of hospitality and obviously care very well for their staff. All employees seem to be happy with their jobs which contributes to the nice atmosphere of the hotel. One of them even put our rented scooter in the yard overnight without being asked to do so - another great service.
When going to Residence Sisouk you have to have in mind that it is an old house with an old plumbing system that you will smell from time to time. But this is not a major problem if you keep the bathroom door closed. We recommend to do without the hotels laundry service, it is on the more expensive side.
Talking about Pakse itself we are very happy that most tourists don't like it. Therefore there is a chance that it might stay as it is, just a normal Lao city with very friendly and relaxed people, with its interesting vietnamese and thai communities and without touristic "attractions".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erdtopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pakse hotels
0.1 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
583 reviews
1.4 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 15 in Pakse
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Dao Hotel
Phi Dao Hotel
#4 of 50 in Pakse
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Sisouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Sisouk

Property: Residence Sisouk
Address: Ban Lakmuang, Pakse LAO PDR, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Sisouk 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Sisouk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Sisouk Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing