We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation in Pakse”
Review of Athena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Athena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Pakse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My family and I stayed here for one night after completing the Treetop Explorer 2 night adventure and needed a place to stay for one night before flying to Bangkok. Check-in was quick and easy, and the rooms were clean and spacious with a lovely view over the pool. Unfortunately we arrived early evening and had to leave early morning so we didn't get to use the pool but it looked like a lovely place to sit in the evening with a drink and something to eat. The breakfast was great, a nice choice of food along with coffee and juice. We needed a nice, comfortable place to stay after being in the jungle for 3 days and this suited us perfectly, a really lovely small and attractive hotel.

Room Tip: Ours was upstairs so had a lovely view of the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwipoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Athena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Pakse town has not much to offer, the Athena is a few minutes out from the market area. The hotel is nice, rooms and bathroom comfortable, balcony looking to the pool area. The manager was helpful arranging taxi to the places to visit. We visted the Khmer temple half day, full day to the great Maekong water fall and visiting the 4000 islands. Back to Thailand we used the VIP bus Pakse - Ubon, easy and good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Pakse is not an attractive town, but the Athena is a really classy, well-appointed hotel in a good location and has a great (but rather chilly) pool. The breakfasts are very good with a lot of choice and excellent coffee. The rooms are well-proportioned, very clean and beautifully decorated. All have a balcony or sitting area outside, most looking onto the pool and garden. The staff are helpful and friendly. The Delta Coffee House is across the road and there are two good Lao restaurants just next door. We stayed in both a double room and also had one night in a twin room, both were excellent EXCEPT for the noise at night from, perhaps, the air conditioning in an adjoining room? Not sure, but like all hotels we encountered in Laos, there is no insulation or soundproofing. Nonetheless, we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it as a base in Pakse.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs facing the pool are very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenariTopeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern and clean with well appointed rooms, and only a few minutes walk to restaurants, etc. Breakfast is simple but ok. If the staff had a better attitude (all we encountered, except one young boy, were aloof and disinterested), this would be a great place to stay. If you don't care about service, it's a good option in Pakse.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braziltraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful boutique hotel, plenty of charm, clean and spacious room. The decoration with wood, local sculptures and flowers/plants offer a peaceful view. The swimming pool is very appreciated too. The staff and receptionists are friendly and very helpful. This is far the most beautiful place of Laos !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misslux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really liked the Athena Hotel, it was the nicest hotel we stayed in on this trip. The manager was very efficient and very accommodating. For a small charge he picked us up from the airport and then took us back a few days later. We stayed there two days, our first and last day in Pakse. In between we went on a four day river cruise to the 4000 island. The Athena Hotel is quite new and everything is very clean and in excellent shape. Some of the staff speaks English well and the manager also speaks fluently German. The breakfast is included and it was excellent. The on site restaurant also serves lunch and dinner. We had several Lao cuisine meals there and they were excellent and reasonably priced. One reason we originally chose the Athena was their good sized saltwater pool, and we were not disappointed. We can highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is only about a year old and certainly a little more expensive than other places around the main strip. However, it delivers better than most. It has a truly beautiful pool in the centre, gorgeous wood floors, an inner courtyard (look for rooms here as the street is busy), great air con and excellent free wifi. It was $60 for a king room standard and it was brand new and spotless with really a nice and generous bathroom, large shower with tons of hot water, all new and clean towels and sheets, full tv coverage and a walk out double doors to the pool area.

While people we were with opted for something around $40 down the street, our room included breakfast of coffee, orange juice, eggs with bacon and ham, fresh bread and fruit (and not buffet style but in a lovely dining room) and when we needed to go to the airport, a complimentary hotel car took us there (again, not a hotel shuttle but the hotel car). In the end, Athena was the perfect spot. When we left, four hotel staff we waving goodbye in the outfits to us and we thought - this was a gem find. Excellent value, great location, new and fresh, all the amenities and a big infinity style pool - hard to beat in the hustle and bustle of dusty Pakse. If you can splurge - and lets acknowledge that this still remarkable inexpensive - you will be thoroughly impressed. It's like a high end boutique hotel Lao style.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the courtyard rather than the street..... Pakse is a very busy place start...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
0.4 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
593 reviews
1.1 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
14.9 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
1.5 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Sisouk
Residence Sisouk
#4 of 50 in Pakse
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Address: Ban Pabad, City Centre, Pakse 1600, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing