We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thailand and Loas Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Athena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Athena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Pakse B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thailand and Loas Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately only a over night stay so didn't get to swim in the very inviting pool but was a lovely hotel very comfortable. Managed to buy some Laos coffee across the street from the hotel tp bring home with us "so good"

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zipsterval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    50
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My family and I stayed here for one night after completing the Treetop Explorer 2 night adventure and needed a place to stay for one night before flying to Bangkok. Check-in was quick and easy, and the rooms were clean and spacious with a lovely view over the pool. Unfortunately we arrived early evening and had to leave early morning so we didn't get to use the pool but it looked like a lovely place to sit in the evening with a drink and something to eat. The breakfast was great, a nice choice of food along with coffee and juice. We needed a nice, comfortable place to stay after being in the jungle for 3 days and this suited us perfectly, a really lovely small and attractive hotel.

Room Tip: Ours was upstairs so had a lovely view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwipoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Pakse town has not much to offer, the Athena is a few minutes out from the market area. The hotel is nice, rooms and bathroom comfortable, balcony looking to the pool area. The manager was helpful arranging taxi to the places to visit. We visted the Khmer temple half day, full day to the great Maekong water fall and visiting the 4000 islands. Back to Thailand we used the VIP bus Pakse - Ubon, easy and good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Pakse is not an attractive town, but the Athena is a really classy, well-appointed hotel in a good location and has a great (but rather chilly) pool. The breakfasts are very good with a lot of choice and excellent coffee. The rooms are well-proportioned, very clean and beautifully decorated. All have a balcony or sitting area outside, most looking onto the pool and garden. The staff are helpful and friendly. The Delta Coffee House is across the road and there are two good Lao restaurants just next door. We stayed in both a double room and also had one night in a twin room, both were excellent EXCEPT for the noise at night from, perhaps, the air conditioning in an adjoining room? Not sure, but like all hotels we encountered in Laos, there is no insulation or soundproofing. Nonetheless, we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it as a base in Pakse.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs facing the pool are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenariTopeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern and clean with well appointed rooms, and only a few minutes walk to restaurants, etc. Breakfast is simple but ok. If the staff had a better attitude (all we encountered, except one young boy, were aloof and disinterested), this would be a great place to stay. If you don't care about service, it's a good option in Pakse.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braziltraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Really beautiful boutique hotel, plenty of charm, clean and spacious room. The decoration with wood, local sculptures and flowers/plants offer a peaceful view. The swimming pool is very appreciated too. The staff and receptionists are friendly and very helpful. This is far the most beautiful place of Laos !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misslux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pincher Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really liked the Athena Hotel, it was the nicest hotel we stayed in on this trip. The manager was very efficient and very accommodating. For a small charge he picked us up from the airport and then took us back a few days later. We stayed there two days, our first and last day in Pakse. In between we went on a four day river cruise to the 4000 island. The Athena Hotel is quite new and everything is very clean and in excellent shape. Some of the staff speaks English well and the manager also speaks fluently German. The breakfast is included and it was excellent. The on site restaurant also serves lunch and dinner. We had several Lao cuisine meals there and they were excellent and reasonably priced. One reason we originally chose the Athena was their good sized saltwater pool, and we were not disappointed. We can highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pakse hotels
0.5 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Sisouk
Residence Sisouk
#2 of 50 in Pakse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Jardin Hotel
Le Jardin Hotel
#1 of 50 in Pakse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Property: Athena Hotel
Address: Ban Pabad, City Centre, Pakse 1600, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing