We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Athena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Athena Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Pakse B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very happy here”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before and after a trip with Green Discoveries. Two families. The pool a hit with the kids after a long day in the car. Very relaxing, standard rooms are lovely, staff very accommodating, walking distance from a number of restaurants. No complaints at all.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chadda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    50
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
55
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

If you like to stay in comfortable and clean place - stay in Athena hotel. It's clean nice looking hotel. Woody and green. Little problem with hot water - they have hot water but water pressure is small. English speaking personal (not excellent). Smoking friendly!!!!!! Good location, quiet place. Wonderful balcony with pool view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We liked this hotel. Stayed in a second floor room toward the back. Spacious, well appointed room, nice porch overlooking the pool. Comfortable bed with nice linens. Good size bathroom with big shower. Large flat screen TV with many channels (some in English). Good food at the restaurant. Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful salt water pool and patio area. One of the nicer hotels in Laos we've stayed in.

Unfortunately, there were a couple of glaring downsides for us that were not necessarily reflective on the overall quality of the hotel. There is extensive road work outside (mid March 2014) that made everything dusty, Also, we had a big problem with mosquitoes in our room. We asked them to spray the first day and they did, but the mosquitoes were back in force before too long. Fortunately, only got a few bites, but definitely a nuisance. Strange for dry season.

I'd stay here again when the road work is completed.

Room Tip: A ground level room has direct access to the pool. If you don't like to climb stairs ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onomataho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
288 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We booked one night in February, in a standard twin room (303) one day before on booking.com for $70 USD and were very pleased with the room and facilities, especially at the price.
The room was on the first floor (not the ground floor next to the pool) and this meant climbing a number of stairs, which wasn't a problem, but could be if you had mobility issues.

The room was spacious with opening glass doors onto a balcony that had two nice cane chairs and a small table, a lovely place to sit for a drink, that overlooked the pool.
Having a pool was lovely, and provided a focus for the hotel (there are no other views).

The shower was very spacious, but did have a small electric water heater, that while providing good hot water, was not enough water if two people wanted showers straight after one another.
The room has good tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, but no safe. I was told that safes will be installed in the rooms in the coming months.

Breakfast was a small buffet offering scrambled and fried eggs, bacon, pancakes and crepes, juice, good coffee, toast and cereal, in a sunny pleasant room at the front of the hotel.

However, currently there are road works occurring on the road outside the hotel, which made things dusty through and outside the hotel. The location of the hotel is not as central as other hotels and it's a bit further to walk to restaurants like Jasmin or Nazim's for dinner (say another ten minutes). In the dark, the road works also make walking to dinner difficult, although I'm sure if you had found your way in daylight already, it would not be so daunting. Delta coffee is across the road from the hotel and it serves good coffee and both Thai and International dishes, if you don't want to walk the road works at night.

Overall, I think I would stay at Athena Hotel again as I saw nowhere I liked more and it was great value for money, despite the dust and road works.

If you do stay in Pakse, I can really recommend a visit to Talat Dao Heung market (the huge local market near the Japanese bridge). It is amazing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

With the exception of one staff member who did the best he could, service has been unfriendly and unprofessionnal, even rude for one of them.
The rooms are ok, however be aware that the balcony is not private as you could assume according the pics on their website, it is a common long balcony and there are only flowerpots between the areas in front of the rooms. Useless to book deluxe rooms as they are on the side of the - dusty and noisy - road which seems like an error in the concept. Wifi works rather fine but is sometimes weak, noise isolation is weak in all rooms but it has not been an issue for us.
All standard rooms open to the inner court where the pool is. The water is rather to quite cold and there is no sun in the afternoon after 4pm, which can be a point if you plan to rest at the pool when you come back from some day trips.
Whereas the breakfast menu is ok, service seems not able to bear with more than 10-12 guests at the same time (which is annoying if you want to go on a day trip with a schedule).
I would not go back to this hotel as Paksé has a much better choice with Residence Sisouk.

Room Tip: Avoid deluxe rooms, they are on the road side which is noise, awful and dusty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cvxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed at the Athena for 2 nights. The rooms are very nice and also the layout of the hotel with the swimming pool in the middle is very nice! Bed an very comfortable and nice bathroom. Staff are friendly and are happy to help in any way. Breakfast is good with one day having a buffet and the other ordering from a menu. Only thing I can say bad about the hotel is that the price of a night is a bit high. Would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Nice hotel for a honeymoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at Athena for 1 night. Good location in Pakse. Great pool. Really nice room, stayed in 309. Athena happy to store luggage while we explore Bolaven Plateau. Breakfast basic but good. Will happily stay here again after Bolaven Plateau motorbike trip. Cleanliness top notch. Hot shower. Comfortable bed with cold air con. Friendly and helpful staff, going so far as to loan us personal iphone charger overnight. Look fwd to a return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pakse hotels
0.5 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Residence Sisouk
Residence Sisouk
#2 of 50 in Pakse
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Jardin Hotel
Le Jardin Hotel
#1 of 50 in Pakse
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Property: Athena Hotel
Address: Ban Pabad, City Centre, Pakse 1600, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing