We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Phi Dao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phi Dao Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Pakse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2013

After a fellow traveler mentioned TripAdvisorʻs review I checked in for a 2-nite stay.

As others can attest, rooms are and bathrooms are new, clean and roomy considering the price. Centrally located, the hotel is only a block away from GreenDiscovery Travel office offering popular zip line tours. Satellite TV reception can be erratic. Restaurantʻs fruit/yoghurt smoothies are great; didnʻt see this combo offered at other Pakse eateries.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamaaina96822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

What can I say... Its new, clean, modern, reasonably priced, friendly staff and the double room is perfectly spacious, also the shower is great and the location of the hotel is perfect. Simply an Excellent place to stay. (Have the pineapple shake) :-)

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have not stayed in this hotel but the day we discovered the restaurant we ate all our meals so the food is good and cheap. One of the owner speaks french, and is very friendly and you can enjoy the traffic in the main street if you want for there is a terrace too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fullford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very clean, very new, very spacious, great value. Not the typ of hotel you'ld like to spend your holiday, but you probably wouldn't want to do this in Pakse anyhow. Just the right hotel for a short stop n the way. And the noodle soup for breakfast (not included) was very good too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonAlfonso01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This brand new, comfortable hotel is centrally located on what can be considered the town's main street (directions below), a five minute walk from where the bus from the 4000 islands drops off its passengers, and also a five minute walk from the bus station.

For a choice of twin rooms, we were shown a large room with windows overlooking the street (I believe the price was 160.000 kip) and a smaller room at the back, without windows (130.000 kip). Since the cheaper room had natural light coming in through glass building blocks higher up in the bathroom wall and was quieter than the street-side room, the choice was easy.

The room was comfortably equipped with good beds and duvets, air-con, flat screen tv with satellite channels and fridge. Everything was new and spotless. Wifi was available and reasonably fast.

Downstairs, the restaurant offers seating inside and outside; the terrace is noisy but comfortable. Large choice of great Lao and Western food, coffee is excellent.

A few doors from the hotel is the friendly and professional Miss Noy, who rents well-maintained motorcycles and is an excellent source of information about the Bolaven plateau loops.

After riding around the Bolaven plateau for a week, coming back to Phi Dao hotel with its comfortable beds, hot shower, food, coffee etc. etc. was like coming home...

Directions: Phi Dao hotel is on road no.13, which is the main north-south highway that traverses Pakse (although it runs east-west in the centre of town). This may sound bad, but this particular section of the road is actually the town's main street where many hotels and restaurants are located, as well as all kinds of tourist services. Whether you arrive in Pakse from the north or from the south, you're likely to be dropped off just after turning off road no.13, so just walk back to it. Phi Dao will be close to where you've been dropped off, between two sets of traffic lights and close to a narrow bridge across the Xe Don river, which joins the Mekong in Pakse.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here one night in transit (on our way from Si Phan Don to Luang Prabang)
The hotel was very new and very clean! The rooms are spacious with a good sized TV, great air-con and a very comfy bed. The wifi was quite strong even on the higher levels which is often hard to find. The reception staff were very friendly and allowed us to store our bags there the next day while waiting for our overnight bus.
Definitely recommend heading there now while it's new and relatively untouched!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phoebe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carina_Basti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pakse hotels
0 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 14 in Pakse
621 reviews
0 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
0 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 14 in Pakse
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0 mi away
Sala Champa Hotel
Sala Champa Hotel
#9 of 14 in Pakse
81 reviews
0 mi away
Alisa Guesthouse
Alisa Guesthouse
#5 of 50 in Pakse
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Dao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Dao Hotel

Address: 13 Road, Pakse 1600, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Price Range: £17 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phi Dao Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Phi Dao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Dao Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing