We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Phi Dao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phi Dao Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Pakse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is our 6th visit Pakse and we have previously always stayed at the Sang Aroun, but have noticed a gradual decline in quality and so we decided on a change. Having read good reports of the Phi Dao hotel we decided to give it ago, and we were very impressed with the size and quality of the bedrooms, in addition the reception staff are super polite and very helpful (leaving luggage during trips away is no problem). Most nights during our various stays the 'full' notice was put up in reception, so booking ahead is highly advisable. We did not eat here as Pakse has other more interesting eating and drinking opportunities, so can not comment on the quality of the food & beverage. We had the corner room on both the 1st and 2nd floors, and found both to be very quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Phi Dao Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

After having tried several other places I finally ended up here, and I haven't regretted. The hotel is new with high, light, spacious and well-furnished rooms. Service was great without anything to complain.
The only downside is the noise from the main street. If you have trouble sleeping, avoid the rooms towards the front side x03 to x06. After one sleepless night I asked staff to find me another room.

Room Tip: Avoid noisy rooms at the front side.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianBehrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My prasies for this hotel could not go far enough. We had a split stay here with a trip booked in the middle. Still the staff couldnt do more to help, they were very welcoming and very pleased to see us return. The room was large, modern and luxurious for the price. The bathroom seems to have been recently renovated as it was pristine. There was a TV and fridge in the room and the beds were very comfortable. We had access to the large sweeping balconies and there is a roof bar (opening times variable). There is restaurant which is very reasonable price but the hotel is also a short tuktuk ride to the numerous riverside bars which are the favourate places of the locals. Pakse is very limited on activities but we had a jungle tour booked from here - Phi Dao was the best place to return to after 3 days in the jungle and the hot shower was a very welcomed treat. Whilst we stayed at the hotel we had the pleasure of joining the owner Phi in his birthday celebrations - and this night will go down as one of the most memorable nights of my travels.

Room Tip: Get a corner room as it has multiple windows with balcony access
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

As Pakse regulars we always found the hotels disappointing and way overpriced for the location (value for money on average is even better in Vientiane). That was until we stayed at the Phi Dao hotel - we will never stay at a different one again. The rooms are new and modern, ultra clean, nicely furnished and freshly renovated. The bathroom is spacious with a shower strong enough to sweep you off your feet. A rare find in Laos. The WiFi is pretty fast (for Laos) but may be patchy sometimes. A plus is that they have a router on every floor so connectivity in the rooms is no problem.
One drawback (and that has been mentioned by others) are the owners. They linger around the restaurant like mini Caesars and spoil the lovely appearance of the lobby. Another one (at least from our experience) is the staff in the restaurant. They seem to be very unmotivated and slow (no wonder with the owners always in their sight). We didn't bother ordering anything any more after the first experience and now eat elsewhere.
BUT the two lovely guys at the reception make amends for all of that. They are truly amazing and helpful, always with a smile and will literally break their backs to make you happy. They make the experience at this hotel excellent despite the drawbacks.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing road 13 are more quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Phi Dao Hotel on 3 different occasions during our time in Southern Laos.

Our first stay was perfection, the receptionist (Po?) is amazing and so helpful and sweet. Our 2nd stay unfortunately cannot be said the same for... or our 3rd through no fault of his though. Firstly, you can tell who the owners of the place are. They are young and Chinese I think and strut around the place with a face on definitely like they own the place which at some points makes you feel kind of uncomfortable.

One morning we ordered a bacon sandwich and it came with some kind of thousand island dressing in which wasn't too pleasant. I went back up and asked what the sauce was, it wasnt mentioned on the menu and could we please have one without? Very kindly! The owner came over and pretty much dismissed me with his hand said something stroppily and walked off. Poor receptionist had to come over and make up for his bosses rudeness and sort out some new sandwiches for us. We had to ask all the waitresses 3 times for anything like water or mayonnaise pretty much all the staff are slack and not helpful bar Po. For the rest of the morning whilst me and my boyfriend finished our breakfast, we were stared at by the owner and his friends at their "top table" in the restaurant and they were all speaking about us and looking over.

Not a professional or nice way to be treated by a hotel, pretty childish if you ask me and disgusting behaviour to make guests feel that uncomfortable.

Another issue is that only one staff member in the hotel speaks English (not even the owners) so, one of our stays I left something in the hotel called up to find out if they had it and he did not understand a word. I asked to speak to someone who spoke basic English, he still did not understand me so he hung up on me on 2 occasions. We asked to book a bus for the next morning one time, we asked them to book in the afternoon, called to double check in the evening and double checked again before bed and the next morning when we went to pay for our room (and bus) the bus was not on the bill we asked why and turns out they did not book as "they thought we were just checking the time" consequently we had to get a tuktuk 15km out of town to local bus station and endure a pretty terrible local bus journey when we were in a rush to get back. Po of course as always kindly paid for our tuktuk.

All of that being said, this is the owners fault. He should be helping his staff to learn English, learn English himself and get some manners most importantly. Because the hotel itself is beautiful, the town of Pakse gets a lot of tourism through it due to 4000 Islands and the semi-famous temple in town. We are not normally so fussy, but being treated that way when he had such a lovely staff member and a beautiful hotel was such a shame to see how he has tainted it.

Stay there, experience for yourself as this is by far the nicest hotel in town lets just hope you dont have to experience the treatment we did.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here as an overnight to 4000 islands. its a spotless comfortable sanctuary from Pakse's hot dry streets. Hotel can arrange transport to islands and Pnom Pehn. Lack of English is a little challenging.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Checked in due to positive tripadvisor recommendations.

Room itself (twin room for 130.000 kip and single room for 100.000 kip) were quite spacious, clean, and had a fridge and satellite tv.

Unfortunately, one of the staff members lied to us upon check-in. We bargained about the price and in the end agreed with him that the prices as above remain but we will have a breakfast included.

Next morning, nobody of the staff knew that we have free breakfast and they wanted to charge us for that. In the end, we got two eggs and a half piece of bread for free.
In the afternoon we spoke to the person from the day before. He told us that we must have misunderstood him because our ears are bad. This behavior is not acceptable, even not at this price range where someone lies to three persons and blames them the other day.

Apart from that, upon the check-in the same person told us approximately five times that there is free wifi in the hotel. After we brought our bags to the room, checked-in, drunk a coffee and asked for the wifi key, he explained to us that he can't give us the key because the wifi is not working. He already called someone in the morning but this person did not show up and will probably within two days after his call.

So,in the afternoon where we got blamed we decided to straight check out from this hotel and went to another guesthouse where we paid slightly less and had a better room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterpanda1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pakse hotels
0.2 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#7 of 15 in Pakse
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Alisa Guesthouse
Alisa Guesthouse
#5 of 50 in Pakse
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Sisouk
Residence Sisouk
#3 of 50 in Pakse
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Dao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Dao Hotel

Address: 13 Road, Pakse 1600, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Price Range: £18 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phi Dao Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Phi Dao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Dao Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing