We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out immediately. Avoid at all cost!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Champa Residence Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Reviewed 3 April 2012

After reading the mostly good reviews, my partner and I booked this hotel for our 5 night stay in Pakse. It seemed to be one of the cheaper options- about $32 a night for a double. This turned out to be very expensive compared to the many options in the town centre.

Although we usually don't mind a walk, this hotel is located roughly over a kilometre out of town, and the walk is along a dusty main road with little to see.

Upon check in we were shown to our room by the barely polite staff.

Immediately the dingy room smelt unpleasant. There were lots of mosquitoes in the room, accompanied by many squashed on the dirty walls which hadn't been cleaned. The bedding had various stains. The floor was dirty and dusty around the edges.

The bathroom was covered in mould, along with the filthy shower curtain. The shelf above the sink was encrusted with soap scum and grime.

Despite the fact that we had booked with Agoda and were consequently locked in to paying for all 5 nights in full, we promptly left and booked a nice CLEAN simple room in town for about $17.

When we told the man at the desk we wanted to leave because it was dirty, he didn't understand. He said we had to pay for the first night because the room had to be cleaned (!) from us briefly walking in and out. Then he called the manager and said we had to pay for everything in full.

That said, we can't really complain because these were the terms stated by Agoda. Despite the cost we felt we really couldn't stand staying here.

Avoid at ALL COST there are much cheaper, cleaner, better located options in the town centre.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 42phnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Champa Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

The staff try their best to be helpful however their lack of basic English skills make is a little difficult. There was one lady however, we assumed she was the manager, who was able to sort out most of our issues. The rooms were basic but clean. At least a 30 minute walk into town and the recommended restaurants. On one occasion we returned to the hotel at night to find the receptionist sound asleep on the seat at the front door and he did not even wake when we retrieved our own room key from behind the counter. The breakfast was good and the one meal we had at the restaurant was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estaban57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Mosquitos were every where, especially in the rooms. No mosquito nets. The walls were dirty. The light in my room did not work. The food was expensive and plain. It gave me severe gastro. Severe. Stay away. You have been warned.

Room Tip: They charge $10 for airport transfer - that is such bad value! The airport is minutes away. The mana...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Hotel was old and needs some maintenance. Shower was good but room was clean but just old. Curtain railings were coming off. Lots of mozzies! It is good that they light a mosquito coil below your table during dinner. The dining terrace could be brighter. It was too dimly lit. Wifi signal strength was weak.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carplaneshiptrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

If you don't mind taking some tuk-tuks the Champa Residence Hotel is ideal for you. Situated a little outside the center of Pakse this was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our 5-weel Thailand-Laos-Cambodia trip. Superfriendly staff, good breakfast and great rooms all for a very decent price. So don't doubt and stay in the Champa Residence Hotel!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BramB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is full of character.

I stayed for two nights and had a comfy room.

its not in the centre but as I was exploring each day that did not matter.

Its nice to stay in a hotel which is not a tower block

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomzoomboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Checked in around 21:00 at night. Old style lobby. Lots of antiques and photos. Indiana Jones would approve! Rooms were big and bed was comfy. AC was cold and nice. They had fridge with assorted beers, sodas and water.. Bathroom was clean though a bit run down and old. Shower was hot and the pressure almost nailed me to the wall ! Lizards line the outside of the rooms to keep mosquito population to a minimum. A memorable night !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianCarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
2.3 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
1.8 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#7 of 15 in Pakse
190 reviews
13.9 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champa Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champa Residence Hotel

Address: No 13 Road | Phonsaoat Villag, Pakse 1600, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range: £20 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Champa Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Champa Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champa Residence Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing