We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have drinks on the rooftop terrace at sunset. So romantic ...”
Review of Pakse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pakse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pakse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2010

After a night at the Faulty Towers of Pakse (Hotel Sala Champa) we were relieved to be in Jerome's care at the lovely Pakse Hotel. Drinks on the rooftop terrace with 360 degree view of the city was superb at sunset and not to be missed. The food was lovely and the manager is a real character. We were lamenting that our guide/driver for an early morning pre-flight dash to the Laos equivalent of Ankor Wat (Wat Phou) had fallen through, when the kind young waiter heard and offered to take us as he had a day off. We had a lovely morning with him and hope he did too. The hotel even arranged for our breakfast to be 'take away' as we left at 6 am before the restaurant opened. We joked that it would be perfect if we had cups of Lao coffee handed to us as we were leaving ... and that was what we got. Our room was an ordinary one (ie inexpensive) with no outside window. The window opened onto the corridor. This was absolutely fine as we had not booked ahead, and were only there to sleep, and it looked like any other window from the inside with curtains etc. The aircon worked and the room was nice and quiet. All in all the Hotel Pakse was a highlight of our Pakse journey.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleLaurie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2010

I am on a round the world trip for one year. I have been travelling 4 mths, thru India, Nepal, Tibet, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos....and this is the rudest staff I have met on my travels. I had ordered a taxi from airport. It never showed. I got my own taxi and was told, what' did it matter, i got there, and it was the same price as the hotel would charge !! Then i asked about trips, but when a French guest asked a question, i was ignored and the receptionist walked away. She seemed like the owner, or someone in authority. Very rude.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TREZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Very welcoming, efficient and clean. Excellent value. Good location. Rooms good.

The rooftop provides for dinner with a view and the restaurant manager should be on television - a real character.

The breakfast buffet is wonderful. Eggs fried in front of you. Meats, bread, fruit and so forth. Who needs lunch?!

I am not convinced by the tours offered which seemed more costly than equivalents available via the various travel agents in town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilledVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

The rooms with windows are ok and to an acceptable price. The service is really fantastic.
Dining at the rooftop is a must. The food is western and asian, very good!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank changlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Very comfortable hotel in the middle of town - all the facilities you need. Friendly staff and Jerome the manager speaks English and French and is incredibly helpful .
I highly recommend doing Sabaidy 2 Tour of the Bolaven Plateau while you are there- Jerome recommended it and it is brilliant.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I spent 7 nights at Pakse Hotel ~ in part on my own while my husband was trekking ~ and felt extremely safe in Pakse and happy to be at this beautiful hotel. My room was spotlessly clean and well decorated, and the rooftop restaurant was definitely the place to be in the evening. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

This hotel is in the heart of Pakse, just a stone's throw from the market. Our room was quite spacious and had a nice bathroom with a large tub. If you want to retire early, I would suggest not requesting a room on the top floor; we did and the restaurant on the roof was noisy with a party until they cut the music off at 11. The second night there was a large sound system set up on the street in front of the building next door that played unbearably loud music also until 11.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldLadyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
1.3 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 14 in Pakse
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
14.8 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 3 in Champasak Town
523 reviews
0 mi away
Saylomyen Hotel
Saylomyen Hotel
#7 of 14 in Pakse
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakse Hotel

Address: Street No. 5, Ban Wat Luang | Champasak, Pakse 1600, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range: £19 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pakse Hotel & Restaurant is ideally located in the historical heart of the city. Pakse is your gateway to southern Laos. French colonial buildings, evening- and day markets, shops and services (banks, airlines, money exchange, ...), as well as Mekong and Sedon rivers are just around the corner from us. Built in the early 60's by the last Prince of Champassak, Chao Boun Oum, completely renovated in 2003 it now reaches International standards whilst the traditional colonial influence/feel is preserved. The panoramic restaurant atop the hotel has become meeting hub of the city, serving traditional Lao, Western and fusion food, complimented by great wines, cold beers and fancy cocktails. The restaurant is set in a wonderful open-air green environment, away from mosquitoes, air-conditioners and traffic annoyances. The view of the city and the Mekong from here is all but stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Pakse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakse Hotel Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing