We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in the middle of a caldera!”
Review of Aso Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aso Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Aso
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What’s good?
(a) Spacious room. I get a huge room (by Japanese standard) with a balcony thrown in. No complaints!
(b) Excellent view. There was unobstructed view of the caldera rim in the distance and of the remaining volcanoes. Each morning, as I woke up, I was reminded that I was staying in the middle of the caldera. What a thought!
Note: One can also go to the 7th floor’s onsen to take in the full caldera view.

What could be better?
There is little to quibble about here except that I thought some of the seafood (served during one of the dinners) was not so fresh. Generally, my recollection of the dinners served (I was there for five nights) was that there was quantity but lacked quality. Perhaps the management will like to consider tweaking the menu.

Room Tip: Just ensure that the room faces the caldera. I think all rooms do but I cannot be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamQingfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Our party of four (adults and teens) stayed here recently for one night. It was our first stay at a ryokan. We were disappointed at first to find out it was a "modern" ryokan, but that soon passed as we were amazed by our experience.
We were particularly impressed by the service level accorded. We booked the hotel through a travel agent and had asked for a pick up service from Aso station at 3 pm. Sure enough, the driver was there punctually. Later that night as we were dining I dropped one chopstick. Next thing I knew one of the wait staff was standing next to me with a new pair of chopsticks for me!
We checked out the next morning but as we were planning to visit Mt Aso, we asked if the hotel could hold our luggage until we could collect it. My wife went further and perhaps in jest asked if he could send our suitcases to the railway station. To our amazement and delight he agreed! And sure enough at the appointed time the driver was there with our luggage, in good time for us to catch the train back to Kumamoto.
This is a ryokan and the rooms are furnished the traditional way with tatami mats and futons rolled away in the cupboards. There are modern conveniences such as a TV (Japanese channels only ) and kettle for boiling water. It has its own onsen but apart from that there are no other facilities of note.
Food was good, and the staff seeing we were tourists tried to explain to us what we were eating although English was a limitation. Still, the effort was much appreciated.
All in we had a pleasant stay. I would recommend this to someone looking for a ryokan experience. However do note that the hotel is about 10 min drive from the railway station. There doesn't appear to be anything of interest within walking vicinity of the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Wanderer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Review slightly biased as we were privileged to be upgraded to a palacial suite. Sensational Ryokan room probably 15 mats in size. Plus TV sitting room spare room.
The lovliest onsens, both inside & out (magnificent garden setting), plus a rooftop one to view smouldering Mt Aso.
Well presented banquet dinner with helpful hostess (little English, but willing to help).
You need a car to use this large, but friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Good points:

beautiful onsen and rotenburo.
Welcoming staff and friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Excellent food - evening meal was very very well presented.
Beautiful well-kept garden.
Easy parking and access.
The staff attempted to communicate in English, although I speak Japanese, but my parents dont.

Bad points:

Rooms are old and in need of refurbishment. Pillows and towels are really worn. The tatami in the dining rooms looked like it should have been changed a long time ago - with stains everywhere. Generally this hotel is a bit shabby and is in need of a re-fit. This is such a shame because it is a beautiful building with a treasure trove of interesting well presented artefacts scattered around and it also has a lot of character.

Additional note about the room - be careful...
Despite booking a large room we were given a standard twin for three people and at first the staff were reluctant to change it saying we could just put out an extra futon from the cupboard (in a 8 tatami room with a large table stood on end against the wall!). They didnt really apologise and expected us to make up the extra bed?! This was supposed to be a special treat for my parents and I was embarassed to have to complain because of a mistake on the hotel's part. They could have dealt with the issue much more efficiently. Eventually they admitted their mistake and let me have an additional room, however the point of booking the larger room was to stay together. The manager seemed annoyed that I had complained - even though I did so very politely in Japanese, however the general manager was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gaijinlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank 雅琪陳2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 珮筠
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank mco6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aso hotels
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Yumeoiso
Yumeoiso
#8 of 32 in Aso
80 reviews
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Villa Park Hotel & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Sozankyo
Sozankyo
#1 of 32 in Aso
104 reviews
Aso No Shiki
#3 of 32 in Aso
44 reviews
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Shinwaen
Shinwaen
#2 of 32 in Aso
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aso Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aso Plaza Hotel

Address: 1287 Uchinomaki, Aso 869-2301, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso > Asouchinomaki Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Aso
Price Range: £92 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aso Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aso Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing