We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service will blow you away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yumeoiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yumeoiso
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Aso
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The service will blow you away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I actually stayed here a year ago in Dec 2010 for 2 nights. This was my base for exploring the Mt Aso area and also to take a scenic drive down to Takachiho Gorge in Miyazaki.

At first, I was a tad disappointed that the hotel looked a little old and out of place. But once inside, the homely and welcoming atmosphere threw those disappointment out of the window. I never felt so at home in a hotel before. Most of the staff spoke little english but tried their best to accommodate to our every little request. A manager, i think his name is Akira-san spoke pretty good english and he was the one who settled us in. After settling us in, Akira-san told us that every night they hold a tournament in the games room and we can try different games with the coupons he passed us. We didnt manage to try as our journeys during the day completely exhausted us and all we wanted to do was have a gd quiet meal and go back for a dip in the onsen.

The front desk staff were excellent in helping us with our horse riding appointment at one of the ranches at Mt Aso. They were also great helping us book a Kirin Beer tour near Fukuoka which we were going to visit enroute back to Fukuoka. All these were done with minimal english from them and minimal japanese from me.

The hotel offers DVD rentals which were great for the nights when we had nothing to do. Altho we had our own personal onsen in our room, the hotel also offered us special private onsens to try for free. They also rent yukatas for free near the reception area and a photo will be taken for you and at the end of the trip, 2 framed pictures will be presented as a memento. I love the granny in charge of the yukata shop, she speaks no english but somehow we could understand everything she said as she was helping us get dressed up in the yukatas.

Food wise, it was reasonable, not mind blowing but definitely fresh and more than edible.

The staff of this hotel are what makes it top class. Everyone was ready to serve and their humility is beyond even the usual Japanese standard. Highly recommended and I will definitely stay here again. Mt Aso was the best stop in my Kyushu trip :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ylng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
33
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

It was a disappointment when we arrived as we found the hotel among many houses and not in an exciting location. The staff was very friendly and helpful though only 2 or 3 could speak English. The room was clean and good.but no shower in the room.there are 18 private baths and 2 public baths-men, women. free, you do not have to pay. The private baths are nicely done though not exciting and not cleaned and maintained.
There is entertainment for kids/families in the evening after dinner;karoke, bingo, darts etc. The trouble they take to entertain the kids is commendable.
Table tennis, movies, bikes are available- free.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranjithdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

I've been here for a total of 3 days and it has been amazing. Even though the personnell doesn't speak much english, it was very nice to stay. Possibility to borrow dvd's for an evening. reasonable selection of titles.

The onsen in particular were a real treat. Some rooms even had their own onsen on the balcony. All seperated by high bamboo walls for optimal privacy.

Also both the normal as the deluxe rooms are perfect. They are spatious and well maintained.

I definately want to re-visit here some day soon.

Thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepcage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aso hotels
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Plaza Hotel
Aso Plaza Hotel
#3 of 28 in Aso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Sozankyo
Sozankyo
#1 of 28 in Aso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Villa Park Hotel & Spa Resort
Tsuruya
#13 of 28 in Aso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Shinwaen
Shinwaen
#2 of 28 in Aso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yumeoiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yumeoiso

Property: Yumeoiso
Address: 385-1 Uchinomaki, Aso 869-2301, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso > Asouchinomaki Onsen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Aso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Yumeoiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing