We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family oriented Ryokan”
Review of Yumeoiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yumeoiso
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Aso
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here on a Friday night and there were lots of children, in fact the ryokan had to an extent geared itself to being child friendly - not quite what I was looking for however the rooms did offer DVD players and there was a selection of DVD's in the lobby which were relatively up to date.
One of the best experiences was actually arriving at the train station which is in a relatively secluded part of the country. It was quiet and so unlike so many places in Japan. We were picked up by the hotel coach (returned by taxi the following day at the expense of the ryokan) and driven to the Ryokan. The Public baths are actually across the road although we had one of the superior rooms overlooking the 5 volcano's . The room also had a large outside bath attached so we did not actually use the public baths.
Dinner is a Viking experience with your own little table separated by walls and curtains. The selection of food is extensive and drinks are also included. Breakfast was also served in the same location although sitting areas were not preset.
Entertainment was provided in the evening (bingo, games and karaoke competition) - not too my taste and therefore gave it a miss.
Providing the weather is fine you get good views from this ryokan particularly the 5 volcano's.

Room Tip: If travelling to see the views, ask for a room on the 5th floor that have a private bath attached an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May 2013 as a base to exploring Mt Aso and the surrounding areas. The hotel is situated in somewhat a residential area, not exciting to walk around. We had a hired car and was able to move around freely. Driving up Mt. Aso is a nice experience. We tried both the Eastern route and the Northern route. Scenery is gorgeous. There are lots of paddy fields around the hotel areas. Driving early in the morning through the paddy fields was quite interesting too.

We had a Japanese-western style room with private bath overlooking Mt Aso. The onsen is huge like a small swimming pool in a big balcony. A little pity for a design defect, the onsen water overflows on to the balcony floor making the table and chair there useless as the floor is constantly wet. The room is a bit small as compared to the balcony but good enough for rest. The bed is on a raised platform which is good for those who are not used to sleep on traditonal Japanese style bed on the floor. It also has airconditioning. Food is above average. Buffet breakfast is standard but dinner is very good. Guest staying for consecutive nights will have dinner at the dining hall for the first night and in a private room for the second night with different menu. We had a nice stay and value for money for half board stay in a room with private bath.

Room Tip: pick the new wing, rooms are in better state and with Mt. Aso view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I actually stayed here a year ago in Dec 2010 for 2 nights. This was my base for exploring the Mt Aso area and also to take a scenic drive down to Takachiho Gorge in Miyazaki.

At first, I was a tad disappointed that the hotel looked a little old and out of place. But once inside, the homely and welcoming atmosphere threw those disappointment out of the window. I never felt so at home in a hotel before. Most of the staff spoke little english but tried their best to accommodate to our every little request. A manager, i think his name is Akira-san spoke pretty good english and he was the one who settled us in. After settling us in, Akira-san told us that every night they hold a tournament in the games room and we can try different games with the coupons he passed us. We didnt manage to try as our journeys during the day completely exhausted us and all we wanted to do was have a gd quiet meal and go back for a dip in the onsen.

The front desk staff were excellent in helping us with our horse riding appointment at one of the ranches at Mt Aso. They were also great helping us book a Kirin Beer tour near Fukuoka which we were going to visit enroute back to Fukuoka. All these were done with minimal english from them and minimal japanese from me.

The hotel offers DVD rentals which were great for the nights when we had nothing to do. Altho we had our own personal onsen in our room, the hotel also offered us special private onsens to try for free. They also rent yukatas for free near the reception area and a photo will be taken for you and at the end of the trip, 2 framed pictures will be presented as a memento. I love the granny in charge of the yukata shop, she speaks no english but somehow we could understand everything she said as she was helping us get dressed up in the yukatas.

Food wise, it was reasonable, not mind blowing but definitely fresh and more than edible.

The staff of this hotel are what makes it top class. Everyone was ready to serve and their humility is beyond even the usual Japanese standard. Highly recommended and I will definitely stay here again. Mt Aso was the best stop in my Kyushu trip :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ylng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

It was a disappointment when we arrived as we found the hotel among many houses and not in an exciting location. The staff was very friendly and helpful though only 2 or 3 could speak English. The room was clean and good.but no shower in the room.there are 18 private baths and 2 public baths-men, women. free, you do not have to pay. The private baths are nicely done though not exciting and not cleaned and maintained.
There is entertainment for kids/families in the evening after dinner;karoke, bingo, darts etc. The trouble they take to entertain the kids is commendable.
Table tennis, movies, bikes are available- free.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranjithdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I've been here for a total of 3 days and it has been amazing. Even though the personnell doesn't speak much english, it was very nice to stay. Possibility to borrow dvd's for an evening. reasonable selection of titles.

The onsen in particular were a real treat. Some rooms even had their own onsen on the balcony. All seperated by high bamboo walls for optimal privacy.

Also both the normal as the deluxe rooms are perfect. They are spatious and well maintained.

I definately want to re-visit here some day soon.

Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepcage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CK_BOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aso hotels
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Plaza Hotel
Aso Plaza Hotel
#4 of 32 in Aso
82 reviews
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Gogaku Hotel
Gogaku Hotel
#27 of 32 in Aso
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Sozankyo
Sozankyo
#1 of 32 in Aso
104 reviews
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Villa Park Hotel & Spa Resort
Tsuruya
#12 of 32 in Aso
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yumeoiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yumeoiso

Address: 385-1 Uchinomaki, Aso 869-2301, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso > Asouchinomaki Onsen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Aso
Price Range: £78 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yumeoiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing