We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan your day”
Review of Daikanbo

Daikanbo
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Aso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daikanbo is located on the northern rim of the crater.You can see the breathtaking view from this look out. To go there take a bus named Yamabikogo from JR Kumamoto station and get off at JR Aso station.From Aso station there are two tour buses going to Daikanbo at 10:15 and 14:00. The operation of these tour buses is until January 31,2017.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
459 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Plan your day”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We came here when it was raining, so the clouds and rain essentially obscured most of the view. However, we were still in the same area after several hours (went to an onsen), and were thus able to get a nice view of the mountain range (albeit from a lower vantage point) when the clouds cleared up. A stunning view of the caldera, nonetheless. Be sure to check the weather forecasts before coming all the way up here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    160
    40
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It was a bit of a hike for a detour bathroom break (around 15 minutes) but worth it once you reach the top!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
754 reviews
490 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,205 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery but Logistical Nightmare”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Daikanbo is a lookout on one of the mountains above Aso-town, offering panoramic views of the town and caldera below and is a photographers dream. My partner and I elected to come here after the top of Aso mountain became snowed out. The logistics for someone without a car were a nightmare. There is a bus service which left from the JR station at Aso but I recall the price being quite exorbitant (??25 dollars each return) and the times quite limited (about a 40 minute journey to the top of the mountain). There is a large parking lot and building selling food and souveniers, etc around 300m from the lookout itself and a trail that leads towards. It is quite touristy but definitely worth the trek, I would just encourage people to consider logistics of this as I am sure there is a better and cheaper way to get here than the bus service we used. Any troubles will be quickly remedied with the stunning photo's you will get from the lookout.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredible panorama of the Aso Caldera”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

From this lookout point, you are treated to a sweeping view of the vast caldera, with age-old mountains surrounding you and nutrient-rich fields below, where people continue to live in harmony with (yet also respectful fear for) the still active volcano. On clear days, you can see quite far off into the distance, even beyond the other end of the caldera. What I enjoyed the most was seeing the five volcanic mountains in the center - which, curiously, together form the figure of a "Nehanzou", or sleeping Buddha. There were also many paragliders when we visited, but they are all independent and experienced people who bring their own equipment. All in all, the scenery is simply gorgeous. If we'd had more time, I would have loved to just sit there longer and soak in the view!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

What a unique view. The view is enjoyable wherever you look from, if you look ahead you'd see the beautiful calderas, if you look behind you'd see the impressive mountain view, and to your right, a handful of picturesque para gliders. Just being able to see the caldera which formed millions of years ago as a result of a volcanic explosion makes me realize how incredible nature is, and the power it holds to change an entire city's landscape. Definitely a spot worth visiting, and should be a must see on every tourist's list.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daikanbo also viewed

Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
 
Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
 

Been to Daikanbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing