We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still problems with the road to the park”
Review of Patagonia Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Patagonia Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The day before our arrival the previously re opened road to the nearest park entrance closed again . As other reviews have noted this means a two hour drive each morning and evening which makes for a long day .
This really is outside the hands of Patagonia Camp and the staff did really well to make up for this . We stayed for five nights and did excursions on three days choosing to walk from the camp on our rest day ( which gave the added bonus if a three course lunch at the camp that day ) the weather was kind to us with blue sky's most of the time and rain only at night .
The walk to the base of the Torres was a bit of a struggle for my wife but I wouldn't have missed it , the final view is spectacular .
The staff were all friendly and helpful , checking in flights , sorting out our independent transfers etc . Waiting staff were a bit slow but that just gave the opportunity for more conversation .
Victor , one of the drivers gets my vote for best staff member , not only did he do his best to minimise time in the vans ( 75mph on gravel roads anyone ?!!) but he was always on the lookout for animals . On the last evening he spotted a puma 50m from the road , he stopped. We all got out and walked towards where it had been sited and then Victor took it upon himself to walk forward so that it presented itself . I will never forget the sight of a wild Puma just 20m away ...............phew .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank 7777markw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review! We are very glad knowing that you had enjoyed your stay at The Camp; and good on you doing the Base of The Towers getting to the end of the trail, and also great to hear you had the best luck seeing a puma!
Regarding the road, unfortunately there was a last minute decision to close again the road for few days by the company in charge of the works due to problems they had with a product they were using, and as you know, this subject is completely out of our control, thank you for understanding.
The good news are that the road remains open today for Patagonia Camp guests.
Looking forward to welcome you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Patagonia Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I absolutely loved my stay at Patagonia Camp, and it's truly like nowhere else I've ever been. You enter the grounds and immediately feel relaxed. You are smack in the middle of nature, with nothing surrounding you except a few yurts and the other hotel guests. For as far as the eye can see, it's just mountains and glacial lakes around you. The "camp" is in every way a high end hotel - gourmet food, beautiful accommodations, incredible service. The views from the yurts and the lodge are breathtaking. We loved the excursion options, and felt there was a variety of both challenging and easy treks. The staff is also unbelievable - friendly, knowledgable and always looking to go an extra step to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I would come back here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank´s a lot for your review!

We are very glad that you had enjoyed nature as we do and that you liked our services such as The Restaurant, The excursions, and the most important our Staff. It is a pleasure to go ahead working for our guest to have a great experience.

We really llok forward to welcome you in the future!

Kind regards from Patagonia,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

As with any place you stay/visit, consider your needs and expectations before booking. Patagonia Camp was an absolutely perfect fit for us.

We stayed 5 nights over New Years 2014. Yes, some yurts have different (better/worse?) views, but the structures themselves are the highlight. This is definitely "glamping". We had no problems with hot water and the yurt was adequately cleaned everyday while we were off enjoying TDP.

Like most guests, we spent most of our non-sleeping time at PC in the main reception building with stocked bar, comfortable lounge area, restaurant, and deck where there was plenty of good food and drink on the offer. We got to know many of the other guests from all over the world this way and while on the excursions. A highlight or our trip to Chile was spending New Years Eve singing karaoke with the other guests and PC staff.

In part because we were visiting around the holidays, we were able to use the direct route to the park for each of our incredible excursions: Grey Beach Hike/Lago Toro Viewpoint, Base of the Towers, Grey Lake Navigation, and Fauna Hike. We also hiked to the Toro Waterfall onsite. It is hard to pick a favorite because they were all different experiences, but seeing the Gray Glacier up close on the Grey Lake Navigation was life-changing experience for me. This excursion is offered by a third party and subject to availability so if you are interested, let the guides know as soon as you arrive. Because PC wasn't going that way on the day we went, we ended up having to hire a private driver (which PC arranged) to make it happen. It was worth it. The PC guides and drivers were professional, friendly, and informative.

If we make it back to TDP someday (I hope!), we will stay at Patagonia Camp.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dctraveIIer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Traveler,

We are so glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay at The Camp and that you had a great time celebrating your holidays with us!
Thank you for your review about our services, we really hope to welcome you in the near future.

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We cannot speak highly enough about Patagonia Camp. We stayed for three nights in October 2013. Because we had already explored the Torres del Paine park ourselves and wanted to use our time at Patgonia Camp for relaxation only, we did not do any excursions. We did hike and explore around the camp, which was quite enjoyable.

The rooms and hotel were perfect - clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The views are amazing and it was so peaceful. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice, especially the wait staff. The meals were phenomenal; lots of breads, meats and cheeses at breakfast, cakes at tea time, and superb three course dinners. The quality and quantity of food made meals at Patagonia Camp very good in terms of value.

We would go back in a heartbeat.

One recommendation: fly into Puerto Natales and have the hotel pick you up (this is only about a 50 min drive). We drove from El Calafate in Argentina and had to mess with dirt roads, border crossing, and limited directions (few road signs!).

Room Tip: Yurt 14 was great - anything near the water is good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taxi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for your review!

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Camp, and that you liked our concept and our service; it´s so good to know that you could have a pleasant time having fun and relaxing yourself only for being in such a beautiful and quite area.

We hope you can visit us in some other occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The is one my favorite hotels of all time. I haven't experienced anything quite like it.

This is a cluster of 18 yurts on a forested hill on the edge of Lago Toro, facing north/northwest toward Torres del Paine. The yurts are connected by wooden walkways that are lit by lanterns at night. The place is cold and windy, but the yurts are cozy and welcoming. They are large enough to comfortably fit two, with a very comfortable bed and windows looking out across the lake. Each yurt has a balcony as well. The setting is just outstanding. There is also a restaurant and sofa area to lounge and read books, though this was not super comfortable. The food was good, though perhaps not quite worth the price. We did not do any of the excursions due to the problem explained below.

We had a major, major problem getting to this hotel. There is one main road that goes to this hotel; it comes up from Puerto Natales and goes on through the southern entryway into the Park. When we went, there was blasting taking place on the road between the yurts and the Park. So basically the road to the Park itself was closed, which meant you had to backtrack through many miles of open land (without gas stations) and go around a circuitous way into the park. We were not really made aware of how much travel time this would add to a visit to the park.

Then, there was getting there. We were coming from the park, and did not realize how much time the detour would add so were arriving at night. What the staff had neglected to tell me when I booked is that the road leading to the hotel was actually closed to all but hotel guests, even though the blasting was after the hotel. There was a huge barrier across the road with bright orange reflecting signs saying "road closed." We had no idea what to do, and it was dark and deep in the forest. We tried to take a side road and it ended up leading to a gentleman's homestead. He was kind enough to not shoot us and instead help us (this guy was awesome). He led us down his own private road with a gate, which he opened for us, that led to another road that came out on the other side of the barrier. That's the quick summary of what happened, anyway. Several more harrowing things happened before that happy ending. So we arrived late, and a bit freaked out, and I was told by the staff that I was supposed to move the barrier!! I was never told when I booked that my friend and I (because it was that heavy) would have to get out of our rental car and physically move a large road block out of the way to proceed to the hotel. They said "didn't you see the sign?". This was all worked out in my imperfect Spanish. To their credit, they received us in style, seeing our state. They escorted us to our yurt and gave us sandwiches, tea and wine, on the house, which to my mind, made everything even. My friend remained traumatized. This late night led to us missing the morning excursion bus and being stuck at the hotel all day. It left very early because of the detour. So, I have to say I'm extremely disappointed by the lack of communication of their booking people, who are not on site but in Puerto Natales.

There are a couple of very lovely hiking trails, should you find yourself at the hotel all day.

Overall, I'm giving 4 stars, down from 5 only because of how poorly they handled the blasting event. I will absolutely come back here- it's an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKludt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear,

Thank you for your review.

We are very happy to know that you had liked The Camp, The Yurts and our service.

Regarding to the rock blasting and the closed road when you visited us last October 2013, unfortunately there was not enough oficial information we could give to our guest; but the good new is that today everything about this issue is clear and for Patagonia Camp guests there is no problem to transit to Torres del Paine for daily excursions, so no more detours!

We really look forward to welcome you in some other occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Lovely Yurts - beautiful views - and fantastic setting. Rod (guide) and Victor(driver) were outstanding and tailored the treks to our capabilities. Some issues which make the Camp less than ideal: Hot water is of fluctuating and intermittent temperature. Staff need training in how to look after guests. Food quality and choice needs improvement - and it would help if the restaurant manager (as the only obvious member of staff on duty one meal time) looked after guests rather than using the 'guest' computer in the area - I had to knock on the kitchen door several times for assistance before he abandoned the computer. Service to the Yurts also needs attention - toiletries replenishment, cleaning, towel change etc and it is an invasion of privacy to have your belongings moved around/repacked.

Room Tip: The location is very good with excellent views - but it is a long way to the park entrance (up to 2...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review; we are glad to know that you had enjoyed the experience with our guides and drives along the excursions.
We also would like to thank you for your comments regarding our service, because every remark let us improve our service, we are always working on that in order to give our guest the best experience we can.

We hope to welcome you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Patagonia Camp along Lago Toro with an amazing view on the Paine massif. There are 18 yurts (tents) spread over the camp slope, all viewing the lake and with sufficient privacy. The yurts are very luxurious, with a wooden construction on a wooden deck, locked with a door. There is a plexiglass dome to face the stars. The bed is very comfortable and there is central heating. The well equiped bathroom is semi detached in a separate construction.
When we were there, we had a strong storm, but the yurts stood very solid.
We stayed in yurt #18 and had indeed some trouble to manage the hot water in the shower, but after all, this is supposed to be camping!

The restaurant building is at the highest point of the camp and has a beautiful view. Breakfast is great and diner as well. The owner also has a vineyard which produces the fantastic house wines.
The camp has 3 trekking guides who offer a variety of activities in small groups, inside or outside the National Park. We did the Fauna Trail, very nice with perfect views and a great picknick. We also started the Base de las Torres, but had to return halfway because of the weather.

Wifi works well, but only in the restaurant and there is no mobile connection.

Very nice camp, with great staff!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Traveler,

Thank you very much for your review!
We are glad to know that you had enjoy your stay at The Camp and that you liked The Yurts and our service. Thank you also for your comments about the restaurant and excursions.

We hope you can visit us in other occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
6.9 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
812 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
458 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
229 reviews
21.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,159 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Camp

Address: Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74 | Ruta Y-290, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: £322 - £934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Patagonia Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Shore of Toro Lake in a region of extraordinary beauty, Patagonia Camp is the first luxury camp in South America with a chic collection of glamorous Yurts. The camp's 18 impeccable and spacious Yurts are comfortable and stylishly furnished, equipped with central heating, ensuite bathrooms and even views of the stars through a central window in the roof. Activities include kayaking, fishing, scenic tours, hiking and trekking in the Torres del Paine National Park, recently named The 8th Wonder of the World, only 15 kilometers away. The restaurant offers a variety of typical Patagonian food with a gourmet touch, such as King Crab, Patagonian Lamb, Austral Salmon and more! Patagonia Camp is a unique nature experience and a truly different and new concept of accommodation in a close contact with the natural environment and with great comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Patagonia Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Camp Hotel Torres Del Paine
Patagonia Camp Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing