We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views, the rooms & the location were awesome...the people were even better”
Review of Patagonia Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Patagonia Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The views, the rooms & the location were awesome...the people were even better”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I travelled to a long and beautiful Chile vacation this past March – and started off down south, deep in Chilean Patagonia moving up northwards. Landed in Santiago, took a flight to Punta Arenas and drove into Torres del Paine. I was initially looking at hotels in Puerto Natales, or other traditional hotels such as the Explora/Singular. One of the best decisions we made was to stay at Patagonia Camp instead. This was the highlight of not just our trip down in Patagonia, but the best hotel/hospitality experience during our entire trip. We stayed at a couple of other nice properties – this was the best by a fair distance.

Location: First and foremost, an awesome location. We drove into Torres del Paine on our own, and while the roads are not the smoothest drive in the world, it was part of the charm. Rugged, beautiful, and windy Patagonia. As the camp will inform you and you’ll read other places, there IS construction going on in parts of the national park, and it results in some detours and some delays – none of these the fault of the Camp, but they go out of their way to ensure they make things as comfortable as possible even with these problems. The final 1-2km road leading down to the Camp could probably be made a little better however…it has some big, nasty potholes.

Rooms: As you drive in and get a glimpse of the “Yurts”, you know you’re somewhere different. The view from pretty much all Yurts is maaaaagnificent. The lake (lago) and the mountains in the backdrop from every window of the yurt, and the small porch in front is just something that words won’t do justice to (watching the stars at night here...magical). We got yurt #12 and thought it was an awesome/perfect location…not too high up near the restaurant/reception and not right at the lake – and great views. As I mentioned the place is windy…oh boy is it windy….and the yurts are just solidly built camp like structures. So you’ll hear the wind and are hopefully comfortable with sleeping with the howling winds at times. We were ok with it, and enjoyed it for the most part. It was part of the experience.

Food: For me it was delicious and creative…for my wife, who is a vegetarian with very specific tastes, it was (never bad, but) sometimes merely acceptable sustenance for her :)…but her fault for being a vegetarian hah!! That said, the staff was always so very considerate of her diet, and there were times where they saw she had a smaller portion (like only a soup or risotto during a buffet spread) and wouldn't charge us (or partially charge us) for food without any prompting from us. Things like that stand out as special. The servers (including Maria and the other gentleman who’s name I forget)

Excursions: We only went for one of these, but they are well planned by very friendly, very knowledgeable people. We did the Fauna tour and not the base trek, as we had our own car and did some driving/trekking on our own the other days. But even though we told the excursions staff/guides we would do it stuff our own, they would come over and give us tips and show us things we could do. They kept asking if everything was OK, if we wanted to follow their excursion bus for route guidance…just in general a fabulous bunch of people. A big big BIG shout-out to Francisco (the carjacker) and Jorge, and all the other guides who were so very friendly.

Hospitality: The part that won us over truly. The people at the reception, the wait staff, the excursion guides - all seemed to be genuinely nice and helpful people looking to make your stay the very best possible. You know how you nice hotels trying to save money, and offer you as little as possible, or just as much as you've paid for…well that was the one thing that seemed so different. Sure the things still cost money here, but if you asked for something you got it without consideration for money. You ask for a glass of wine in a package lunch, you’ll get it topped up and be asked for seconds. One day we were stuck at the construction coming back for about an hour, and ran into one of the tour buses – they helped us pass time, and the first thing they asked was…hey want a drink?...we have some. We hadn't even paid for the excursion and were doing our own thing. There were many such examples…where we’d ask for something and get way beyond traditional service expectations.

Finally the ladies at the reception that we dealt with most often – Pamela and Tessa – very very friendly and always available for help. Once again they would go out of their way to call up places and make sure they were open for us, or to tell exactly where to go etc.
All in all, Patagonia Camp was a fabulous start for an awesome trip to a beautiful country. I wish we had more days there – maybe one day we’ll be back

Room Tip: I'd suggest - away from the restaurant and make sure you're not behind a tree that blocks vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bashdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review on Patagonia Camp.
We are very glad to know that you had liked our services and enjoyed the Camp experience; as you well said, the view is just stunning form every place in our complex because we have an extraordinary location facing the Paine Massif, recently named as The 8th Wonder of the World!
We really appreciate your comments about our Yurts, and make us really happy to know that found them cozy and comfortable, and also that you love the view!
Once again, we would like to thank you for all your compliments on our location, service, yurts, excursions and restaurant; we will share it with the whole team; the best price to our job is having happy and satisfied guest like you, we just love what we do!

We hope you can visit us again in the near future!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    45
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
278
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This review is quite late in coming, but I still think it important for those who are considering Patagonia Camp.

My family moved to Santiago de Chile in 2007 due to my husband's work. This provided us with a great opportunity to explore Chile and South America. We decided to visit Torres del Paine in 2008, and through an internet search discovered Patagonia Camp, which was, I believe, at that time, only about a year or two old. So, we made a reservation for me, my husband and my then 6 YO and 4YO. We were the first family with young children to stay there. At first, they thought that they were expected to provide some sort of babysitting service while my husband and I toured the area. Oh, hell no! The kids were coming with us on the excursions! Son #1 kept up with every stretch of the hikes, and son #2 benefited from the kiddie backpack worn by my husband (specially outfitted for maximum kid comfort). We'd start with a fantastic and filling breakfast, hike in the morning, have a wonderful picnic box lunch, hike in the afternoon, return for a cleanup and a bit of rest, and then enjoy an amazingly delicious gourmet dinner complete with cocktails and wine. Each day was just extraordinary. We saw a part of the world that very few people get to experience. We ate incredibly delicious and satisfying food. We slept soundly and peacefully under the stars each night as we would gaze through the skylight in the yurt. The children, to this day, remember the wonderful little treats and details that the staff provided for the children's entertainment. My children, now 12 and 10, still have their "little sheep," nephews of Calafate, the resident "sheep," who looks out for the children who stay at Patagonia Camp. It was one of the most unforgettable experiences we have ever had as a family.

I can say, without reservation, that staying at Patagonia Camp was one of the most fantastic and memorable experiences of my life. This place is wonderful for individuals, couples, and families. the yurts, food, hikes and experience will stay with you for a lifetime.

Carpe diem.

Room Tip: If you can get a yurt closer to Lago Toro, great!, But, all the the yurts are incredibly comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyMountainMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Traveler,

We could not be happier reading your review, thank you so much for taking the time to comment about us! We are very glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay at The Camp and to know that you had like our service, our yurts and that you had been delighted with our cuisine.
Our special and personalized service has allowed us to give great experiences to every different kind of traveler, and as you mentioned, we have developed a great group of guides for all needs, such as families, couples, active people, and for those who are looking for relax and romance.
We really hope you can visit us again in the near future; we have great new adventures and activities to do!

Looking forward to welcome you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were picked up at Cerro Castille and taken to the camp with a group of other travellers. On arrival we were shown our yurt which was stunning. The furnishings are tasteful and comfortable and there are 3 radiators in the yurt ensuring a warm and comfortable stay. The bed was the most comfortable one we had in our 4 week stay in South America. The views from the yurt, dining room and everywhere on the camp were wonderful. The food was good. I am a vegetarian and I was well catered for. The head waiter worked extremely hard at all times to ensure we had all we needed. The trips were excellent and tailored for different abilities. The drive to the park was somewhat long and tedious due to the road works, but hopefully for subsequent guests this issue will be resolved. Our guide, Mariano was superb, he was very sensitive to his guests needs but always put safety as a top priority. We were on a 5 night package and on the last day decided to stay at the camp. We did the two walks recommended directly from the camp. Both took a very leisurely 2 hours each. The first to the left was views all the way and the second to the right was to a very worthwhile waterfall. We had lunch at the camp and thoroughly enjoyed the day. I must mention Pamela Ponce de Leon who is the admin lady. I had several communications with her during the booking process ( I did not go through an agent) by email and at all times she was helpful and efficient. She was equally so on our arrival. Thank you to all the staff who help make this is a truly lovely place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Julia,

Thank you so much for your review! We are very glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comment about our yurts, it´s pleased us to know that you had found them comfortable and stylish; we have chosen only the best local artisans to design furniture and decorations because we want just the best for our travelers!
We appreciate all your compliments on our staff, we will share your comment with them, the best price for us is to receive good comments from happy travelers like you!
We hope you had a good and safe flight back home and we hope you can visit us again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We spent 4 nights under Patagonia Camp's all-inclusive option. The yurts, staff and excursions were first rate. The yurts had the most comfortable beds of our entire 4 week vacation. The excursions were particularly noteworthy, both for the scenery and the knowledge and professionalism of the 5 guides. My wife and I took different excursions our first day (I did the towers, she did condor cliff) - we never felt isolated and both enjoyed our respective adventures and the nice little touches like hot soup at the top of the trail, or beer or wine at the bottom. The other hikes that we did together were also excellent. We enjoyed the company of other couples at the camp, especially during pre-dinner and dinner. This is our third "glamping" experience, and we would highly recommend this approach to ecotourism.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_J361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Treveller,

Thank you very much for your review! We are really happy knowing that you had enjoyed your stay at the Camp and that you had like the yurts, the excursions and the kindness of our staff.
We are very glad that you had a great time in every excursion experience, and thank for your comments about our guides!
Is also good for us to know that you had found comfort in our cosy yurt; hopefully you can come back to visit us in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful, the yurts were well appointed - although bedside lighting could be brighter - take off the lampshade or bring your Ipad if you intend reading in bed! The calafate cocktails were dangerously tasty. Meals were well prepared and good value when wine and other drink costs were included. We took the bed and breakfast option to have freedom to tour the area at leisure but most of the guests were fully inclusive.

Only have wifi in the common areas and no cell phone signal so a real get away from it location.

Only downside was that the camp is located outside of the park and on the road to the Serrano gate. MOP - the Chilean Ministry of Public works was meant to have completed road improvements by January but are still working on the road with no end date advised. This means the road is currently closed from 10 am to 9 pm. Going to the park is not a problem but the return is a diversion of 150 km back to the camp.
We found that if you are at he Serrano gate that they will actually allow traffic through after about 6.30 but still it is a pain.

Room Tip: It seems that the higher numbered Yurts, although further from the restaurant and the common area ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. We are very glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay at Patagonia Camp! We are so agree about Calafate Sour! You will probably comeback to this land because the Calafate legend says that everyone who try Calafate will definitely comeback; we will be waiting for you to give you a great welcome!
We are very happy knowing that you had liked our services.

We hope you had a good flight back home.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The service was fantastic here, and it made a great jumping-off point for exploring Patagonia through the treks offered by the guides. Each evening I got to pick what I was going to do the next day. All food and drink were taken care of (try the calafate sour) and the yerts that you get to sleep in are so cool. Note: the wind gets loud, but you can get earplugs from the front desk. Also, if you want to do treks other than hiking (i.e. horseback riding, kayaking) you'll have to pay extra and go with another company, but they can help you arrange that.

I was the only solo traveler there at the time -- mostly it was large groups -- but I had the chance to get to know people at dinner and during treks, so it worked out great!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank jlm367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are so glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay at The Camp and that you had liked the excursions and treks you have done along this beautiful landscape. Is so good that you could meet other travelers and share your experiences, that is one of the features of The Camp, the opportunity to meet new friends!
We really hope you can visit us again in the near future; there are many more great adventures to discover!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We had a truly wonderful experience wishing we could have stayed for longer. The yurts are truly 6 star camping where you can watch the Milky Way through the dome while in the emperor sized bed. The guides were just as eager as we were to experience the Torres, like they were there for the first time too. Everything was easy, with the all inclusive price. We really felt valued and will go back if we ever get the chance.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wollemipine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patagonia C, Gerente at Patagonia Camp, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for your review!
We are very glad to know that you had enjoyed your experience at The Camp and we really hope you can visit us again in the near future, next time for longer! Torres del Paine and The Camp surroundings have a lot of new adventures to show you.
We appreciate your comment about our Yurts, is so good to know that you liked the central dome to observe the starts, it is just magical!

We look forward to welcome you again, best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
6.9 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
809 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
456 reviews
20.4 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
227 reviews
21.5 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,156 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patagonia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patagonia Camp

Property: Patagonia Camp
Address: Camino Milodon-Porteno km 74, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Patagonia Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Shore of Toro Lake in a region of extraordinary beauty, Patagonia Camp is the first luxury camp in South America with a chic collection of glamorous Yurts. The camp's 18 impeccable and spacious Yurts are comfortable and stylishly furnished, equipped with central heating, ensuite bathrooms and even views of the stars through a central window in the roof. Activities include kayaking, fishing, scenic tours, hiking and trekking in the Torres del Paine National Park, recently named The 8th Wonder of the World, only 15 kilometers away. The restaurant offers a variety of typical Patagonian food with a gourmet touch, such as King Crab, Patagonian Lamb, Austral Salmon and more! Patagonia Camp is a unique nature experience and a truly different and new concept of accommodation in a close contact with the natural environment and with great comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Patagonia Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patagonia Camp Hotel Torres Del Paine
Patagonia Camp Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing