We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”
Review of Hotel del Paine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel del Paine
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Very nice cabana looking directly at the mountains. Good service with English spoken well. Very helpful - and they will sort out visits and trips if you wish. This is a fantastic park to visit and it is a must. However the prices in all the hotels are about double those of accommodation in the rest of Chile - so be prepared! We had one good evening meal in the restaurant, but one very poor one when the beefsteak was inedibly tough. Breakfasts were fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    64
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
39
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I have been searching for various hotels and end up with Cabanas del Paine which I donot regret at all. The view is amazing, one can sit down and keep looking at the view. It is a beautiful hotel with cosy room. There is no TV in the room but you wouldnot need one as there are things to do in Torres del Paine. Staffs are extremely helpful as they prolong the dinner time to wait for our late arrival, which we really appreciate as we were starving at that time. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for medium rate accomodation with same location as those expensive one (ie, Rio Serrano hotel).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Looking down on the cabins before we arrived the setting looked great but once there we could truly appreciate the stunning views. We were staying here as part of an adventure tour.
There are 4 rooms per cabin each with private entrance. We were in the cabin closest to the restaurant and reception block and our window faced out on to the view added. The cabins are rustic in style, roomy with a big bathroom and very comfortable bed. A table in the window well placed for a pre dinner glass of wine to take in the scenery. A couple of condors overhead, a red fox wandering through the site, as did a huge bull and several horses .... that is Argentina!
Breakfast was excellent, the evening meal good and we shared a packed lunch as they were very generous. The staff were helpful and friendly.
We really enjoyed our stay here and it was great to come back to after a long days walking in this incredibly beautiful National Park.

Room Tip: A cabin room with views of the lake and the Torres! Two rooms per cabin have the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EccentricExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent three nights here over Christmas 2012.
Pros:
Exquisite views.
Baffle box down comforters
Toasty cabins, each with it's own view.
Excellent to be in the park.

Cons:
Terrible food that is seriously overpriced.
Staff not very helpful. Didn't know where the gas stations were, inaccurate directions going into the park, couldn't give me driving directions from Puerto Natales (they kept saying they didn't know the name of the roads, it was just the 'main road')
Pretty expensive ($220 a night)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybell74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

The views from this hotel are unparalleled. Whilst we were staying there the weather was good and the sun was shining, but they still didn't turn the heating down in the room so it was like a sauna as there was no control in the room. We had to open the bathroom window and keep the door open. The buffet style food leaves a lot to be desired with extremely tough steaks and dodgy veg which is a shame and detracts slightly. Free, reasonably efficient wi-fi in the dining area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The staff at the Cabanas were fantastically helpful and attentive. Carolina was particularly helpful with booking activities and general advice.

The view was spectacular and the rooms very comfortable and large enough.

Fishing was really good and the location was perfect for accessing the different areas of the park each day. It is outside the park on the Rio Serrano river, just before the gate, but that means it is quicker to get there on the day you arrive. The entry pass lasts 3 days though, so that is really no problem.

The restaurant was not the best ever, though breakfast was really good. When we had buffet food it was sometimes too cold to taste good (or even to eat confidentally for fear of bacteria).
During the high season though, it´s a short walk to two other resorts (Rio Serrano and Tyndall) with restaurants, so don´t let that stop you. (Noting they are closed for winter and were not open at the end of September when we were there, which was disappointing).

I accidentally left my hat behind on the day I left and Carolina went so far as to bring it to me in Punta Arenas, which was certainly more than most hotel staff would do anywhere, let alone in Chile (where I haven´t found the service to be very good in general)

Room Tip: Wifi is available in the reception area and the first module (rooms 1-4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bubbleybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Don't kid yourself, it's a heck of a journey to get to Torres del Paine whichever way you do it, but goodness is it worth it.

We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel when we arrived - the location in a loop of the Rio Serrano is really pretty, and the view of the mountains themselves is second to none.

Initially we were allocated a room in the main building, which seemed to have a fair amount of noise from the bar area, so we asked if a cabin was free. The staff were really helpful and moved us immediately. The room was a good size with all essentials in place, and pretty clean and tidy. What made it for us was the spectacular view out of the window. Wow - it could not have been more amazing. We were lucky with the weather, so some amazing views from the chairs positioned in the large window.

The cabins are really well insulated - the wind howled for the three days we were there (although we were told this wasn't 'windy' for locals, it drove us crazy in the end!) and yet no whistling at all from inside, so very good glazing in the rooms.

We did two trips organised by the hotel - the first was along the Rio Serrano to Lago O'Higgins. Although pricey, I really recommend this trip - it really was excellent.
Our second trip didn't go quite to plan, as the excursion organiser had the day off - we waited and waited for our lift into the park to go on a hike, but no one appeared. Eventually the receptionist asked if we were okay and we explained. Well - they couldn't have been more helpful. In the end, the charming waiter was commandeered to drive us into the park. The journey was pretty long, and he spoke no English, but was super friendly and very kind about my A-level Spanish, so we learned a lot and chatted as best we could.

The hike we'd planned seemed a bit tricky without a guide, so we decided on a linear route, finishing where we started, and this worked well - so we were on time for our pick up. On the way back, he went out of his way to stop off and show us some amazing viewpoints high above the road, insisting on taking pictures of us. He really was superb.

Others have moaned about the food, and I'd agree that it wasn't gourmet, but once you've journeyed for a minimum of 2 hours along unmade roads into the park, you must realise that your dinner has to come the same way, making the options pretty limited! The wine was great and good choice, and they did an excellent pisco sour. The food was a mix, but all edible and most pretty tasty, if a bit 'cafeteria'. Let's face it, though - you don't travel to somewhere like this for gourmet food - it's all about the place, and Cabanas del Paine delivers on that front!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a cabin, rather than the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsLouloubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,154 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
21.8 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Paine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Paine

Property: Hotel del Paine
Address: Lote No17 | Sector Río Serrano, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Paine 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Paine is located near to "Serrano" River at 11 km away from Administration Point and 79 km north from "Puerto Natales". It has an excellent panoramic view of the "Paine" Range. Enjoying this scene, our hotel offers a typical gastronomy, including a variety of grilled meats, fresh vegetables, fish and Chilean wines. We have 44 rooms with private bathroom, permanent electricity, central heating and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel del Paine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Paine Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing